We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic suite”
Reviewed 11 October 2008

We stayed in room 321 for two nights. We had the nicest suite I remember ever staying in (including roms for three times this price of GBP£112 including tax - about US$180 I think).

The suite was very spacious, clean and pleasantly decorated. The room had a good lounge area with coffee maker, fire place, tv, fridge and sink. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable and there was another TV which you could also watch from the (big jacuzzi) bath if you wanted! The shower room had two shower heads (very cosy) and there were two his 'n' hers sinks in front of a huge mirror.

There was an outdoor balcony with chair and sun lounger, although we didn't use this area as the view wasn't great and we don't smoke.

The breakfast was delivered to our room but wasn't great. You could choose one drink (coffee, tea, apple juice, orange juice), one pastry/cereal (muffin or cereal), a piece of fruit (apple, orange or banana) and a boiled egg. I gave my breakfast to my husband as it just wasn't enough for him and on the second day we went out and had a second breakfast as we were still hungry!

There is wi-fi in the room (free i think) and also one computer with free internet access in the reception for quick queries.

The inn is very close to the main square, only a 5 minute walk and the room was quiet. There are plenty of nice places to eat nearby. We particularly enjoyed the Meritage Oyster Bar & Grill, although it wasn't particularly cheap.

The breakfast was a minor point and I would definitely stay here again in the same type of room.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BananaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    438
    150
    53
    32
See reviews for
212
577
36
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We found the Sonoma Valley Inn on Tripadvisor, and as usual were not disappointed. It is centrall located for the Sonoma restaurants just off the main plaza. Our room was very big and really comfortable. It felt more like a suite than room. The pool and jacuzzi were great. Having bike hire on site as also a plus - and a great way to see the wineries. The only comment I'd make (as I think others have) is that the complimentary breakfast isn't up to much (polestyrene cups... need I say more!). That's not a real down side, however, given that there are loads of very good breakfast places within 2 minutes walk.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable rooms in a central location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lorna1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

My boyfriend and I (both in our early 40s) stayed two nights during a recent road trip vacation from Seattle to southern California! The Valley Inn was perfect us! The rooms were clean and spacious. We also enjoyed the location of being within walking distance to the plaza.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAIN2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

This place is nicer than one would expect for a Best Western - it's still a motor hotel type accommodation, but you can tell they've tried to upgrade here and there.

Probably one of the nicest features is it's location. It's right across the not very busy street to a shopping center with a Whole Foods and other convenient type stores. Also, the town square is just a block or so away. So you can walk to both convenient and necessary shopping, and also the restaurants and nice shops in the square area. Also, several tasting rooms are around the square. Sonoma is pretty low key, so it's not like you're in an urban setting. Also, it felt pretty safe. You can also rent bikes right at the hotel and head out for a ride on quiet streets, bike trails and go wine tasting. The bike riding in the Sonoma town area seems like it was way safer than out in the country with the busy, narrow and twisting roads.

The rooms would be a bit cramped for a family - not alot of dresser or closet space. First floor rooms have direct walkout access to the very nice courtyard area - nicely land and hard-scaped with a small pool. But if you're more of a late sleeper, you run the risk of all the stomping around on the second floor - so request which floor you want based on these issues.

The price was obscene - we paid $300 for a Friday and Saturday night - should have paid more like $150. The morning "breakfast" is free, and appropriately priced.

If you go wine tasting, don't forget to stop by the front desk for promotions - they'll set you up with discounts or 2-4-1 tastings.

Don't underestimate how bad the traffic can be, although Napa is much worse than Sonoma. If you stay in Sonoma, there's not much need to go very far. It's beautiful and you'll probably love the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Too Expensive
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2008

When I made my reservation, I was skeptical because of the low rate, but I decided to rely on the past reviews and give Sonoma Valley Inn a try. This place is a wonderful value for the money. It is walking distance to the best restaurants in Sonoma and you could even walk to a couple of old wineries in Sonoma. Although our reservation was for a regular room, we were upgraded to a suite in the back of the property which was wonderful. The suite had a separate sitting area and a Jacuzzi tub which we enjoyed. The rooms are a bit dated, but very clean and we found the staff extremely helpful and welcoming. We were given many coupons for free wine tastings in the area and given great suggestions for places to eat and things to do. My only regret is that we only had 2 nights at Sonoma Valley Inn.

  • Liked — Value, Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tali28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

This was the nicest Best Western I've ever seen, so much so that I figured it must have been a more upscale hotel before it became a BW (it was not). Rooms were huge, clean, and ours had a fireplace. Most had terraces overlooking the very nicely landscaped pool and hottub area in the courtyard. Also a firepit and tables and chairs out there that some guests used for reading, enjoying a glass of wine, etc. Breakfast was your basic continental style, but you call the night before and they deliver to your room in the morning at no charge, which I thought was a nice touch.

My biggest concern in booking a room in wine country was being close enough to restaurants so I could enjoy my dinner and be able to walk home, and the BW is two short blocks from Sonoma's plaza, where there are a number of restaurants and bars. This was a perfect location and a great hotel! You can't beat it for about $140 a night. I did a search for "Best Western Coupons" on google and got a code for 20% off. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Location, size of rooms, lush courtyard/ pool area
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

While there is little for families in Wine Country, this hotel was a nice surprise. The overall feeling was kind of upscale downscale if that makes sense. In other words, they did their best to give a Best Western a spa vibe. The room was very nice, albeit tight for a family of 4. The pool was small, but adequate. The concierge was very limited in his knowledge of local activities for kids and made me feel like I was the only person who ever asked for this. I had to do my own digging. Luckily, I had done my Trip Advisor homework and knew of the Castello de Amorosa (excellent, by the way) and Safari West (also excellent.)

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank bostonpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Property: Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#6 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing