We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem, a very nice relaxing stay, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I stayed here while we did some wine tasting. It was so good we booked up for an extra couple of nights. Granted it wasn't posh, but the most basic thing about it was the breakfast, which was cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, croissants, juice, coffee, tea, fruit etc. This suited me though.
The rooms were great, decent power shower, good a/c, open fire, TV, good comfy bed, coffee maker etc
The rooms are 'motel' style in the sense that access is via external walkways. Don't let that put you off.
There is a very small exercise room (and I mean small) but there is a very handy (free) washer and dryer (4 of each, industrial size) for guest's use: handy if your trip is long.
The pool, steam room and hot tub are magic, and open till 10. Outside gas fire is a nice touch. Parking is free, as is the wi-fi, and the tea and coffee in reception. The reception staff cannot do enough, and often give out discount vouchers for wine tasting events, along with good advice on what to do there. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2010

We spent two nights at this lovely small hotel. We have a small dog and they accept pets. The room is elegantly decorated and fully appointed including log burning fireplace. Moveable make-up mirror attached to the wall above the sink. In-room safe if needed. Beautiful courtyard and gardens in the center and pool with jacuzzi under a gazebo. Almost downtown Sonoma and within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and sight seeing. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

The pictures online are not what the property actually looked like. The rooms had a musty smell, the carpet was stained and we saw spiders in the corners as if no one had cleaned the rooms in weeks! The property is very outdated and needs renovation. Definitely not a relaxing place! This was our 5th trip to Sonoma. There's too many other nicer places to stay in Sonoma in a similar price range. Breakfast was nothing to write home about either and in another building. Don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sp1upstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Loved this place! Not your typical best western! The staff is great, and very helpful with restaurant recommendations and giving us wine coupons and such. Big spacious rooms, very clean. Just a few blocks off of the square. Breakfast was a little lacking. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ens982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Having just left a Best Western in Monterey that was very disappointing I was concerned about staying here - that concern was totally unnecessary!

Greeted by excellent reception staff, who checked us in whilst we used the restrooms!!!!

Room was lovely. Clean, spacious, great view over pool and exceptionally comfortable beds.

Continental brekkie is included. Great process. Call a answer machine and leave your order! Delivered to your door!!!!!

Location is superb! Value for money - perfect.

Two minor things - pool could be warmer and a fridge in room would be helpful! there's even space for one.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cantersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Stayed in a suite which is in a separate building (above the conference centre) well away from the rest of the hotel (across a car park so not great if you want to use the pool). The room was a reasonably big space with two balconies. You can also sit in the jacuzzi bath and watch TV though shutters which open out onto the main room. Good fun and very social. Slightly worn carpet and furnishings but great bed.
The location is the real winner here. From our building it was just two blocks to the main square. Try and visit the Farmers Market which is once a week in the square.
Overall we had a great time in Sonoma and there are lots of good reasons to base yourself in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barneybear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The Sonoma Valley Inn is a bit expensive for what you get, but this is made up by the wonderful location which is just a few minutes walk from the main square in Sonoma. Whole Foods and lots of other shops are located just across the street.

The room was a little dated (older furnishings, a little dark, and old tv), but still clean and very decent- we were only in town for one night and so it was fine. The lobby has free coffee, iced tea, etc., which is a nice perk. There's a nice pool and spa on the grounds. The hotel is also one of the few in the area that allows dogs for a $35 fee.

Breakfast was pretty mediocre- you order it by phone the night before, and in the morning you get a tray of cold cereal, or a bagel, hard boiled, egg, etc.

Still, this is one of the cheapest hotels in Sonoma proper and the location can't be beat. Overall, we had a great time here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cintagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
212 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.2 mi away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sonoma
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: £78 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing