We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than anticipated”

Sunflower Caffe Espresso & Wine
Ranked #1 of 123 Restaurants in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: If you've sought out a great latte, breakfast, lunch or been on the Historical Plaza, we hope you visited us at the Sunflower Caffe. Established in 2007, Set in California's Historic Landmark #501 "Salvador Vallejo's Home" the Sunflower Caffe is the perfect place to start the morning or enjoy lunch on our beautiful garden patio out back or at a table out front and watch the world go by. Using local purveyors, sustainable, organic ingredients whenever possible! Order up front at the counter from our friendly staff! We offer our guests WIFI. Try us at the tail end of our day at our Daily happy hour 3-4 p.M. Featuring many local wines. We look forward to serving you in our relaxed atmosphere.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had lunch at the Sunflower Caffe. It was recommended by the massage therapists we had just seen. We were pleasantly surprised by the ambiance of the back patio. Our sandwiches were fabulous. I allowed myself to eat a croissant and it was SO worth it. Highly recommended for a casual lunching experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    278
    59
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose California USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What's so good?”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Had the white sangria....Very bitter needed 2 packs of sugar. Southwestern Cobb salad was crisp but bland. Cheese plate mostly 3 large pieces of bread. Staff friendly. Not worth the $55 for two.

Helpful?
1 Thank KLM-Assoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First there are many places to choose on the square, I am just glad we chose this one. For the first time we both had the same thing. A roasted duck sandwich, with caramelized onions. Absolutely incredible, not tasting gamy or dried out. The salad was delicious, so fresh and light. I washed mine down with their Sangria and you need to have that. Good price for a great meal. Be sure to eat outside around the back, although sitting on the front and facing the square you can see what is going by the courtyard is a space that would leave you almost wanting to forget that you need to get back in the van to finish the wine tour. Food service a little slow. We were there in the midst of lunch time. Good to note that locals eat there, always a good sign.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant stop for a snack”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stopped at the Sunflower for a cheese plate and cool drinks upon arrival in Sonoma, our last stop before heading home. It was a pleasant outdoor cafe, out of the glorious, albeit hot sun! The cheese tray was a perfect pick-me-up, in lieu of lunch. Just the right size for two people. Perfect.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AndorraGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fresh food on the plaza”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I was really impressed with the freshness of the food at this cafe. The salad dressing was delicious and unique with its hints of cilantro. Even though it was in the 90, I tried their tomato soup, and I was not disappointed. There is not a lot of indoor seating, but the cafe does have some additional tables outside. The cafe does have a line at lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Seiderjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunflower Caffe Espresso & Wine also viewed

 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sunflower Caffe Espresso & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing