We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underground creek; books add much fun to visit”

Legends Books, Antiques & Old Fashioned Soda Fountain
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Sonora
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Underground creek; books add much fun to visit”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have only been to Legends by myself, but I think kids would really enjoy the experience. I bought a fun antique child's book. It took a while for the dampness to dissipate, so this is not a place to buy collectibles. But it was so fun to experience the creek in the basement and imagine the gold miners panning for gold.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quiche55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visiting Sonora? Stop in here.”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Great old fashioned ice cream parlor with a twist. Books and old relics and the last open underground - undertown tunnel! A step back in time and worth a few minutes of your day to stop here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smalley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Antiques, books, and ice cream? AWESOME!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We went in to beat the heat on a hot afternoon and had a grand time browsing the store. Antiques are laid out upstairs, often grouped by color, interspersed with many interesting old books. Downstairs in the back is a sort of underground waterfall, and many books. It did smell a little damp and musty; I was going to purchase an old book from down there but I could smell that odor on it. It's a lovely concept, and we came back upstairs to have an ice cream soda. The fountain clerk was friendly and helpful in helping us choose our treats, and in recommending some local restaurants for dinner later that evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream and Spooky Cellar”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Sonora is such a great town to visit, so much history and all kinds of little shops and lots of antiques. Legends has the most beautiful old bar and the Ice Cream was delicious.

Make sure you go into the cellar to see the old mining tunnel, while doing some photography down there I got the feeling, I was not alone.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shedonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OMG love this place”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I love the books and antiques along with the old school soda fountain! Very Very Awesome! Plus the like scenic things through out the building make it super way cool

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dessasmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legends Books, Antiques & Old Fashioned Soda Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Legends Books, Antiques & Old Fashioned Soda Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing