We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too close for comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
INNS of California-Sonora
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Too close for comfort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Date of our visit: 17th September 2012. As a stop-over on a Cosmos Western Wonders Coach Tour
Our room was barely adequate for our overnight stop-over. The room we were allocated (on the third level was nothing like the lovely rooms displayed in the ‘Official Hotel Photos’ on Tripadvisor). Was the room small? I swear, there was not enough floor room to lay down and open up two suitcases. The bathroom was OK, at least it was big enough to move around, which is more than can be said for the bedroom..
Décor/fabrics/colours in our bedroom were dated. I’ve never stayed at a small town motel lodge before, so maybe, I expected too much. Perhaps the Tour Company budget dictated the quality of hotel stop-overs.
Free use of the hotel internet was useful to catch up on messages. A complimentary ‘Rudimentary’ breakfast was given by management. Although it was a bit of a scramble to get to the pre-wrapped offerings and coffee, which then had to be carried back to our room and eaten at our mini table). All in all, this kindness was appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarloBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    53
    84
    33
    25
See reviews for
68
87
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The hotel is on the main street in Sonora, so easy to find.
The swimmingpool is small but functional.
The check-in was efficient and the lady who helped us changed our room from 2 double beds to a king, with no questions.
The room was comfortable with a fridge and a microwave. Bathroom was big enough too.
We could park right outside our room, which was great. Bed was very comfortable - great pillows too. Airco was a bit noisy, but we wore earplugs.
Breakfast in the morning wasn't much to our UK taste, but the toast was fine.
The real treat was the restaurant we found here with the locals we chatted to all night.
It is a good 2 hours drive from the good part of Yosemite NP, so just be prepared.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the back if traffic noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_rosbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALINAS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I chose this hotel because it was near the caverns. The hotel was nice. The room was large and so was the bathroom. The staff was extremely friendly. A fair selection of continental-breakfast items were offered. It is within walking distance to several restaurants. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFlores111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

POSITIVES:
They had a vacancy, when other places were booked full.
The young lady at the front desk was very friendly.
NEGATIVES:
The stairs and balcony walkways were filthy and littered. I would have asked for a refund before I even looked in the room if I could have found a vacancy elsewhere.
The room I stayed in faced the street and traffic noise was loud late into the night.
The exterior facade looked good from a distance, but opening the door to our room was an unpleasant experience.
The room smelled of some type of strong, unpleasant and unidentifiable chemical.
All of the furnishings looked old and outdated.
Even though the place looked somewhat clean, it didn't feel clean.
I paid about $100 for a $30 dollar room.
My wife was right. The room felt "Icky". Enough said.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNSofCalifornia, Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
From the information you provided, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with the friendly service provided by our staff. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the grounds and the room provided. I wish that you would’ve brought your concerns to our staff; maybe a change of rooms would’ve provided you with a better experience. It is our policy to do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here one night after being in LA Disneyland, visiting friends in Modesto. Wanted to revisit the area as we always enjoy this area..spur of the moment decision to stay overnight on a Friday. Got a room here as my girlfriend had stayed here many years ago with family.
Place is older two story motel consisting of two buildings adjacent, but not close. Parking was adequate.
Room was spacious with TV, microwave, coffee pot, small fridge. It was orderly, but really needed some updating and elbow grease with lots 'o soap, if you know what I mean. Had it been longer than one night it wouldnt have worked for us...half of the rooms front the main street in Sonora and unless you run the air conditioner all night to drown out the traffic and late night parking lot barkers , you aint gonna sleep!
Check in was fast, easy but this place is no value. For your $$ you can find better accomodations in the Sonora area. Wasnt interested in partaking of the "continental breakfast" so cannot comment on it.

Room Tip: On the backside of the hotel and upstairs, not facing the street, if you want some peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hook026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Location - we chose the town of Sonora as our key destination was Yosemite. It was about a 90 min drive to get to Yosemite. The motel is on the main street, Washington. The hotel actually has 2 buildings which are not right beside each other. We were lucky to be connected to the main building (where the check-in is and breakfast, as well as the pool is). We had a room that faced the back so it was not noisy at all.
Room - it actually looks better than in the pictures. They've updated the bedspreads! The room was dimly lit but appeared quite clean. The beds were fairly comfortable. The air conditioning set on low was still quite noisy though. The TV is an old 16". The bathroom was large but only has a shower, not bathtub, but that didn't matter to our family but may be an issue for families with small children.
Breakfast - mediocre continental fare, all individually wrapped. Good enough. Awful coffee though.
Value - had blindly bid on Priceline but only got $10 off (about 10% off) which is the worst deal I've ever received using Priceline. I usually get 40% - 70% off! So I don't think it was worth prepaying with no refund for just $10 off. I wasn't expecting much when I found out I ended up with Inns of California and saw the pictures on their website so I had warned my husband and 12 year daughter. When we checked in, my daughter said "it's not too bad."
Pool - small pool which we got to enjoy after a hot day of hiking in Yosemite. We had it to ourselves. It seemed to have a lot of chlorine in it.
To be fair, the neighbouring motels in the area all looked of similar quality, that is, a little worn and rundown. This motel seemed fine in comparison.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facin the back and in the main building, not thenother building down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stopped by for one night on our way through Sonora. The next door Gunn Hotel requires 2 night stays, so if you're in Sonora for more than 1 night I'd recommend that instead (nicer rooms, more space, superior breakfast). It was a hot day and we had a quick dip in the pool which was small but fun. The place is old, the AC units noisy but in general "tolerable" sums it up. Folks were very polite and helpful, rooms clean, and the kids liked the breakfast (danish, cereal, juices).

Room Tip: Walls thin so request a room away from the main street and the stairways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nieroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
0.2 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn Sonora
Country Inn Sonora
#5 of 5 in Jamestown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INNS of California-Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INNS of California-Sonora

Property: INNS of California-Sonora
Address: 350 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5020
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — INNS of California-Sonora 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Sonora, you will be within easy walking distance to many local restaurants and unique shops. Stay and enjoy our seasonally heated pool and spa, and then venture off and enjoy all that this beautiful community has to offer. Explore Moaning Caverns, gamble at Black Oak Casino, or stroll through the state historic parks-- whatever your interests, you will love coming back to your clean, cozy room at Inns of California Sonora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your INNS of California-Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of California-Sonora Hotel Sonora
Hotel Of California Sonora
California Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing