We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad on the outside-gross on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
INNS of California-Sonora
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Crescent Ctiy, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not bad on the outside-gross on the inside”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Traveling through the area unexpectantly late on a weekend evening, we were having a difficult time finding a place to stay for the night, (big weekend concert in the area) but came across this place that said "vacancy". We were tired, and the outside looked decent, so we stopped to inquire about a room. They said they had one room left, so decided to get it. What a horrible shock once we opened the door. Everything was very dark and dingy, mattress must have been there forever, or jumped on continuously. The toilet hadn't been flushed, and the bathroom sink didn't drain, had to brush my teeth in the dirty shower. This place definitely needs some TLC. It's located on the main drag through down, so can get noisy with big trucks. The only positive I can give was the staff was friendly, and the location is convenient to walk to restaurants located along the historic streets.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank frogfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNSofCalifornia, Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
I am sorry you were not happy with your room. Perhaps you could let us know what room you stayed in. The front desk staff would have been more than happy to check the room and fix any issues that were present. We are also in the process of remodeling our rooms to make them brighter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    53
    84
    33
    25
See reviews for
68
87
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Reading the other reviews - is it same hotel? Floor in bathroom in room 308 - disgustingly dirty. Dirt on walls over sink ! Spilt water on floor- wiped it up and towel was black! Pillows flat. Mold on ceiling. Never stay here again. Would sleep in car!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Splash2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNSofCalifornia, General Manager at INNS of California-Sonora, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Are you sure you posted to the correct hotel? Our room 308 was recently remodeled and the ceiling was freshly painted. Our housekeepers generally get great reviews for cleanliness. However I will address your concerns with our housekeeping staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
391 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Clean, cool, quiet, comfortable, helpful and friendly staff. Older and maybe a little rough around the edges but still worth a 4. We had had a long hard day. We were on motorcycles. One of us had a problem with the luggage rack and the other had unexpected tire wear requiring a new tire. We had left Truckee, CA that morning and rode across Tioga Pass in Yosemite NP that afternoon. We were beat. We were just glad we found it. The person (not an employee) sending us here could have given better directions. The parking lot was steep. We were right on a very busy street. However, I slept very well. I did not hear the street noise. Don't know if they had a breakfast as we had too many things to take care of in town before "hitting the trail" back through Yosemite to US 395.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leroys73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our room was large and the bathroom was great, had all the facilities I look for tissues, hairdryer and space beside the sink to put my makeup and toiletries. The only complaint is it was a looong way to the lobby to get breakfast and there was nowhere to sit and eat unless you dragged everything back to your room!! Didn't use the pool or spa (too cold) but it looked OK

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuddlefi5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Room was very clean and nice. Little rough as it is not new on the outside. I would like to have seen the cleaning staff take the time to clean the stairways and halls. They were disgusting, the stairs have food debris, leaves, bottlecaps etc.. in 7 days not once was the outside swept or hit with a vacuum. Staff inside, older lady was very nice but younger gals would not greet you so do not expect much in the way of the front desk. Pool wonderful.

Room Tip: Choose the backside if you want quiet. do not walk outside without shoes as the outside of facility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

To be honest I was not too sure about this hotel when booking, but to be honest it exceeded our expectations. Ok, the rooms are a little tatty around the edges, however my room appears to have new TV, fridge and Microwave. The Room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and quite, my room was at the back of the property. The offer a continental breakfast for free. The town has seen better times but appears to have turned the corner with lots of eating options and a grocery store about five minutes walk away. S real good choice for visiting Yosemite either before or after.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

very clean rooms. friendly staff, breakfast was fresh and hot. the pool and hot tub were clean and beautiful. over all it was a great stay.. the only hotel i would stay in in sonora for a great price!

Room Tip: any room in the front on second or third floors is great for an excellent view of historic down tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goferitgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
0.2 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn Sonora
Country Inn Sonora
#5 of 5 in Jamestown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INNS of California-Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INNS of California-Sonora

Property: INNS of California-Sonora
Address: 350 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5020
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — INNS of California-Sonora 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Downtown Sonora, you will be within easy walking distance to many local restaurants and unique shops. Stay and enjoy our seasonally heated pool and spa, and then venture off and enjoy all that this beautiful community has to offer. Explore Moaning Caverns, gamble at Black Oak Casino, or stroll through the state historic parks-- whatever your interests, you will love coming back to your clean, cozy room at Inns of California Sonora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your INNS of California-Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of California-Sonora Hotel Sonora
Hotel Of California Sonora
California Sonora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing