We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I were rating just the managers, I'd give this motel a "5"!”
Review of Rodeway Inn Sonora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Sonora
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A personal situation necessitated that I stay in Sonora for two weeks. After reading reviews on several alternatives, the lowest priced property, Rodeway Inn, had the best reviews so I stayed there. This is an old motel so the only complaints I had related to the accommodations which were out of the managers' control. I was given a room away from traffic so no outside noise disturbed me (except for some very noisy neighbors just 1 night). I felt as close to being in my home away from home as is possible thanks to the ministrations of the managers. The issues had to do with the newly installed wall heating/cooling unit which was very noisy and inefficient. Keeping the room warm enough caused the sensitive fire alarm to trip, as did steam from a shower. The windows, single-paned and louvered without a screen let in the cold and bugs. The Rodeway chain needs to update their furnishings, replacing soiled and stained fabric and bedspreads with bedding and furniture surfaces that can be cleaned and sterilized. Other than that, the managers kept the room clean and stocked with clean linens. I would stay there again and I thank the manager and his wife heartily for making my stay there pleasant and safe.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper be sure to ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCPROMISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

If you are looking for luxury, this is not for you.

If you seek convenience, walking distance to multiple downtown Sonora bars and restaurants, you should consider Rodeway Inn.

Free Wifi.

Free breakfast.

Descent plumbing.

Hot shower.

Older structure so you do hear others if they are loud enough.

Clean enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willwu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The manager showed us the room before we decided and in his own words 'It's not perfect but it is clean' - It was just fine - the bathroom was a little pokey. We were able to walk to an excellent restaurant and have a stroll around the town after supper. Not sure I would stay there again, but it was clean, economical and very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Microwave and frig. Good internet strength. Room was quiet and clean. Cooling unit was loud. Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was quite limited...looked like toast and english muffins. Great location in tiwn easy walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Nice and cosy place, close to Yosemite. Very friendly staff, always brimming with an eagerness to help you and provide any information one might require.

Only trivial issue we faced was that the wash-basin faucet needed a strong hand to prevent hot water from dripping.

They even have inter-connecting rooms, just in case you are a big group.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We decided to stay in Sonora on our way to go skiing in Dodge Ridge and Bear Valley. I didn't realize that Rodeway Inn was a chain and had no idea to expect. The reviews on Hotels.com were favorable, so I thought I'd give it a try. Registration was still open when we checked in around 9:30, but closed soon after. The room was decent sized (but very dated and dark) with king bed (really hard and the pillows were really flat), night stands, dresser with TV on top (many channels to choose from), desk with chair, mini sized fridge and based microwave. The sink area was separate from the standup shower stall (took some time to warm up, but got hot and decent pressure) and toilette. Toiletteries are basic - just soap and shampoo. I didn't try to use the hair dryer, but it looked like a typical hotel hair dryer. The internet was wi-fi, although not a very good signal (and from Sonora Inn, so signal depends on your distance from the router). There is a basic complimentary continental breakfast (coffee, OJ, and prepackaged pastries, as well as white toast and English muffins). Parking was included on their lot and there were no issues parking there. Location was convenient, within walking distance to restaurants on S. Washington Street and Sav-On groceries.
Pros: Location, relatively clean, price
Cons: hard bed, flat pillow, spotty internet connection

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltsao01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
418 reviews
3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
3.1 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Sonora

Address: 128 S Green St, Sonora, CA 95370-4643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: £52 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Sonora 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Sonora California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing