We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, clean and comfortable”
Review of Gunn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gunn House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Shows you how reviews can vary person by person! We also stayed at this hotel the same weekend as the last reviewer who posted on the 13th. We stayed the night of the 14th and really enjoyed the hotel and amenities. It was super, super clean everywhere ... in the rooms and on the grounds. The rooms are cute, (the little bears are adorable) and the fireplace in the room was pretty. I am inclined to think a competitor posted the negative review, because there is no way our stay could have been so drastically different one day later! We will definitely be back, particularly as we were meeting family for breakfast when we were there and could not partake of the scrumptious hotel breakfast everyone was raving about!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    120
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
104
174
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This turned out to be a really bad choice for us. Though not expensive, I would hardly call the rooms 'lovingly restored' as proclaimed on the website. The historic features are old objects here and there. The common areas smelt, the room we had was far from secure and all in all it was not much more than a cheap motel standard disguised in an old shell as "historic". Not very clean, not very comfortable, very noisy air-con and quite a noisy location on the Main Street. For the price I would prefer a no character chain hotel that works and where you can sleep peacefully. Wifi very spotty, breakfast so so.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rallyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tschoonover, General Manager at Gunn House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Rallylist,

As manager of the Gunn House Hotel I must say I felt absolutely stunned reading your review. Honestly at first I thought you must have reviewed wrong hotel, simply as all of us here at the Gunn House Hotel, from the office staff, to housekeeping and maintenance, management and the owners, take great pride in providing an exceptional stay for all our guests.

Although we realize we are a unique property and not for everyone, your statements on cleanliness, smells and not feeling secure etc. are alarming and I give you my word, I will look into your stay and how we failed to meet your needs and expectations.

I will be sending you a personal email in hopes that you can help me understand when you stayed, what room you stayed in and how we can better our hotel for our guests. If you would like to contact me, please feel free to email me at gunnhouse@sbcglobal.net.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Gunn last weekend for a wedding. This has to be the best value I've ever experienced in lodging. The room was just over $100 and came with a great free breakfast. I would value the breakfast at $25-$30. I had a waffle, some pastry's and some yummy quiche. also all you can drink OJ. The location is great. It's at one end of the nice downtown area. Room and Bathroom was very clean. When we check in the receptionist walked us to our room. Amazing. The only downside I could see is the window AC units are a little noisy but didn't bother my wife or I at all. We slept like baby's. Partly because it was the first time we have ever spent away form our 18 month old.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I spent a night at Gunn House this past weekend for the first time; it certainly won't be the last! The room was comfortable and charming, lots of outdoor seating, the pool was immaculate. Breakfast was home-cooked; egg casseroles, an array of tempting pastries, muffins, and coffee cakes, made to order waffles, fresh fruit, and the usual beverages. Everything I tried was delicious. Gunn House is a bed and breakfast experience minus b & b prices! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bike5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Center, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had a lovely time at the Gunn House Hotel! The room was clean upon arrival. Bed was comfortable. Our toilet was low to the ground, not a problem for shorty me, but my be an issue for a tall person. We loved the communal patio outside our room. The atmosphere was relaxed. Every morning they serve a nice breakfast. Home made breakfast breads, egg casserole is the best ever, asst cereals, fresh fruits, juices are served in a comfortable room. The pool was closed, probably getting ready for summer. The nightly rate was less than a lot of other places in town that were not as nice. Location is perfect, right in the thick of downtown. Many restaurant choices and shopping just steps from the hotel. Hotel parking is good too. This will be our hotel every time we visit Sonora.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'the back' and it was very quiet. I would recommend the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My family and I pulled into town after the long drive over Tioga pass and needed a place to stay for the night. After looking on line for a hotel room throughout the day with patchy reception and to no avail I saw the Gunn House vacancy sign. So relieved to find a room, I didn't even think about the quality or type of hotel it might be. I was pleasantly surprised by the Gunn House, great spacious room with a porch circling the building equipped with chairs for lounging. This hotel has a nice pool and a charming inner courtyard area for relaxing and dining on the delicious complimentary breakfast. It was so relaxing and comfortable, and I love that it is situated downtown in a historic neighborhood close to all the shops and great for people watching. We were in town during a busy weekend ( a car show and a special event in Columbia State Park) so it was a bit noisy. If you go I would recomend requesting a room on the back side of the hotel away from the main street for a little less noise. Loved the atmosphere and would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived on the property, my husband and I were very pleased. Very clean inside and out. Great curb appeal. Our desk clerk, Breezy, did a very professional job of checking us in and escorting us to our room. The room was tastefully decorated and was reminiscent of a high class guest room. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamabuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunn House Hotel

Property: Gunn House Hotel
Address: 286 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5022
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gunn House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldest historic hotel in Sonora. Experience a bit of the past in one of the antique apponted rooms. Innkeepers breakfast each morning. Easy walking distance to great shopping and wonderful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gunn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunn Hotel Sonora
Gunn House Hotel Sonora, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing