We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so Super Deluxe King Suite”
Review of Gunn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gunn House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The room smelled faintly of cigarette smoke, perhaps from people smoking on the balcony where an ashtray is provided just outside the door and openable window. It wasn't worth asking for a different room, and it didn't horribly affect us, but I think many other guests would have found it unacceptable. The noise IS significant from the very busy downtown street out front, and isn't muffled much by the thin and drafty old front door or by the historic single-paned window. We ran the fan on the AC all night even though it wasn't needed for temperature, which solved the road-noise problem good enough for us. Breakfast was filling, with souffle casserole and waffles made to order by the staff each of the three mornings we were there. Not much variety. Furnishings are antiques, and not particularly comfortable to sit on. The bed was decent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Everjoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was a last minute trip so they only had rooms on the front of the hotel. Wow was highway 49 busy. It was definitely loud but we all slept through. I would recommend ear plugs or a request for a room in the back if you are sensitive to noise. The beds were very comfortable. Just loved this little hotel. Very cute gold rush style hotel. Walked to Diamond back for dinner and strolled the antique stores. Went to the Moaning Caves the next day which was close. The breakfast was very good. Loved the dining area. There was a hint of cigarette smoke but not to bad. Not fancy and modern but it does not get much better than this in Sonora. I loved this hotel. It was a quaint experience.

Room Tip: Request a back room if you are sensitive to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisagranucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at the Gunn House Hotel for one night in July. I stayed with my mother and two young children. Check-in was a breeze. From what I observed, each room in this hotel is a little different from the last. Our second floor room was in the back and was very clean. It even had its own balcony on the side of the house. The bathroom was old-fashioned but spotless. When showering in the morning the sun shone right through the clouded window and it was a little bit too bright in my eyes. Right outside the room was a round table and four chairs, where we set up our own meals. There is a beautiful pool and even an area to socialize (eat, drink, play cards) next to the pool. The beds were comfortable, as was the room temperature. I would come back to the lovely town of Sonora again, just to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony (it was on the second floor in back of house). I believe that not all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickib983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Being adventurous types, we thought we would pull into Sonora for the evening on our way to Yosemite and inquire about a hotel and restaurant once we got there. To our delight, a nice lady at the museum recommended The Gunn House Hotel. We had passed it on our drive through the main street, so we knew right where to go. They had a vacancy, a charming room decorated in fine antiques with a commodious bathroom. To our delight a top-notch breakfast included a scrumptious egg bake, many assorted homemade breads and muffins and homemade waffles. Now for the raving - it was only $79.00!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was in the front, but we heard no noise at night. Many fine restaurants and shopping are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merryleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We loved this one. It had so many different areas and alcoves to sit in. Decorated beatifully. Nice pool area. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was to die for. Dozens of different types of muffins, cakes and breads to choose from. Then they make whatever you want to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelbygirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our trip to California included 2 nights in Yosemite, which got pulled out from under us. With 3 days to fill before our flight we decided to do CA Route 49, the Gold Rush Route. Because we wanted to do the trip spontaneously we didn't book hotels in advance and ended up the first night in the Sonora area. The Gunn Hotel looked and sounded interesting so we stopped there. The only room they had left with a king-size bed was, as she said, on the lower level, so we took it. It turned out to be a funky room that was nearly windowless and looked as if it may have been the stable in years past. I took to calling it the "Baby Jesus Room"; the owner said she thought it was probably the meat cold storage room. Other than being windowless, the room was charming and quite comfortable. Breakfast was served in the "parlor" at the back of the hotel near the pool. We were expecting the usual cold cereal, muffins and juice, but we were pleasantly surprised with an egg strata, waffles and several different homemade pastries.

The inn at its inception was the home of Dr Gunn of Philadelphia and then after failing at mining he established the first printing office in the boom town of Sonora in his house. The building later became a hospital before being enlarged into a hotel. In the 1960's it was bought by Margaret Dienelt of Carmel CA, who sold her Carmel Mission Ranch to Clint Eastwood.

Although right on the main street in Sonora and crowded with traffic during the day, it was quiet at night and just down the block were many historic buildings turned into shops and restaurants. We were able to walk just a short distance for dinner in a choice of several places.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldLadyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Came across hotel on road trip to Yosemite park, fabulous hotel so pretty and comfortable we has there top room that cost in English money around £ 79.00 and all rooms have a cuddley bear that you can take from room n added to bill or buy at reception fab keepsake. The room we had was large and beautiful with a chaise lounge and big bathroom, swimming pool great a little cold !! One night really was not enough beats many 5 star hotels that we have stayed in. This hotel is a real gem and do not ever go pars to one of the others yo the hill the breakfast that is included us good with Cook to order waffles a real walk back in time with rocking chairs outside the rooms. Loved it :)

Room Tip: The most expensive room at 79.00 but all looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele197002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
3.0 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunn House Hotel

Address: 286 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5022
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: £72 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gunn House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldest historic hotel in Sonora. Experience a bit of the past in one of the antique apponted rooms. Innkeepers breakfast each morning. Easy walking distance to great shopping and wonderful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Gunn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunn Hotel Sonora
Gunn House Hotel Sonora, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing