We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised in Sonora”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were only in the area because we wanted to visit Yosemite, but were unable to find a reasonable hotel any nearer the Park than Sonora. Although we have stayed in Best Western hotels in the US previously and never had a bad experience, we were very pleased with all aspects of our stay here.
Firstly the area. It was our first visit to Gold Rush territory and we expected to run out of things to do after the Yosemite visit and a quick flip round the area. Not so. The town is fascinating, the people friendly, and if you love steam locos (who does't?), go to Jamestown, etc, etc. If you need to get the adrenalin going, drive over the Sonora Pass towards Mono Lake.
The hotel was friendly and welcoming. The staff immediately apologised for the problem with the spa pool, which was fixed on our last afternoon there.
Rooms spaceous, well maintained, and though we were on the second floor (1st floor in British parlance), the room had a shaded balcony which overlooked the pool. The pool itself was quite cool, but as the temperature poolside was stunningly hot, that was appreciated. We stayed for 5 nights, but for the majority of people, this is merely a transit point for moving on elsewhere. Indeed, one night we found ourseves amongst 85 other Brits who were travelling on organised coach tours.
Others have commented on the dining arrangements, with the on-site restaurant. It works well, and it is always encouraging to see local people coming into the place for breakfast/brunch before going about their daily tasks. the breakfast is included in the price, and there are multiple choices, and even some flexiblity within thse choices.
It is not haute cuisine, but it is good, wholesome, fast, friendly and reasonably priced. It also enabled us to try some foods or food combinations which were not familiar to us (meatloaf?).
Hard pressed to find a grumble...oh, we didn't see anything of the advertised wine tasting, but that did not ruin the holiday.
Some have commented on the distance from Yosemite. In our hire car, it took just over an hour each way, which is well worth the drive.
Would we go again? You bet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyretiree63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

One of the largest rooms I have ever stayed in, quiet (which is a paramount requirement for me), clean and pleasant. The front desk was great in helping me get directions and explained the problems we were having with GPS. Then as a surprise we got a free glass of wine at the restaurant next door with our dinner. The next morning we got a breakfast with juice, eggs, toast, pancakes, bacon, coffee provided free. My only complaint was that we had to leave after one night to meet the rest of our schedule. We definitely will return to this hotel when the occassion arises.

Room Tip: Get a kingsize bed and the space evidently comes with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darylmcclusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed one night at this Best Western and were comfortable. Clean room, good service and good breakfast at restaurant next door (included in price of room). Ask for a room in the back of the property. You will face trees and a walking path.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Very nice rooms, beds are comfy. The staff is super nice. Pool and hot tub are nicely maintained. On our second night we upgraded to a King Executive Suite - woohoo! Lovely experience. Breakfast is included with your room, but it's actually a voucher for a selection of free breakfasts at their adjacent restaurant. Very nice. We will stay here when we visit again next year.

Room Tip: The junior suite is nice and spacious. If you can afford it, upgrade to an Executive suite. Well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libralisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We have had 3 wonderful experiences at this hotel in the last year. The staff is very helpful and work with you to make your stay comfortable and economical. Their restaurant is great and they provide a free welcome libation and the choices of your breakfast are varied and delicious. My husband has a healthy appetite and breakfast is his favorite meal and this in his opinion is the best included breakfast he has had at a hotel.
The location near Yosemite and Lake Tulloch as well as Jamestown is ideal and the rooms have always been very clean and all the equipment in good condition. This has not always been our experience elsewheres in the area.
They are also pet friendly and their conference center is ideal for a getaway for your groups!

Room Tip: Corner rooms and suites were very large and air conditioning is independently controlled which is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We knew going in that the hotel was a bit older and had lowered our expectations somewhat, but we were very happy with our stay. We were traveling with a dog and they provided him with a nice bag of treats and a toy upon checking in. In addition, there were some very nice walking trails to give him some needed excercise. We were given coupons for dinner and breakfast at the restaurant that shares the parking area, which made it convenient as we didn't have to go out searching for a place to eat. It's a bit of a drive to Yosemite (1 1/2 hours), but a nice scenic drive. There really isn't much closer unless you stay in Yosemite itself. Overall, we were very pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Had requested a top floor room with a view. We got a 1st floor room where when you opened the curtains you saw peoples legs walking by! Yes, street and walk going up a hill and room down below. At least room was large and nicely furnished, except. Problems with tv, it kept changing channels by itself. Called and someone came shortly to try and fix problem. While they thought problem was fixed in reality tv still kept changing channels but much slower, like every 5-10 minutes. Breakfast was at restaurant next door and was very, very slow even though restaurant almost empty. All in all just an average stay at a pretty pricey place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
0.1 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
172 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
829 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Jamestown
141 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
595 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 19551 Hess Ave, Sonora, CA 95370-9720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: £66 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Sonora, California hotel conveniently located in the heart of Gold Country. Those in need of Yosemite lodging will not be disappointed at the Best Western Sonora Oaks! Guests will be a short distance from many landmarks and attractions, including the Sierra Railroad, Columbia State Park and Yosemite National Park. Guests will also be near Dodge Ridge Ski Area, Leland Snow Park and we are the closest hotel to Black Oak Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel Sonora
Sonora Best Western
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing