We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

One of 13 Best Western hotels two 'older' couples stayed in during a 32 self-organised/self-drive - 5k. miles holiday around Western USA National Parks - all for £6k. inclusive. Very much cheaper and more flexible than a package provided tour. The BW Plus at Sonora was the best breakfast - and an evening meal in the on-site restaurant. Also used the Best Western booking system to plan the journeys between overnight stops

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank quadrantpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The first impression upon arrival was just wonderful. Within a few short minutes we were at our room and found it spacy, spotless and quiet with a patio, table and chairs at a shady ground. Thestaff was friendly and knowledgeable. We really appreciated coffee and tea available 24 hours at the lobby and a delicious breakfast at the adjacent restaurant.
This Best Western is close to Yosemite, the lovely city of James town with it's train ride, the charming downtown Sonora and a nearby Indian casino.
It would be great for any organization to take it's staff there for a retreat and use of the conference center.

Room Tip: we were glad to have a room on the first floor with easy access to our car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We used this hotel as a "base" from which to visit Yosemite Park. It is about an hour's drive from the park over winding roads. Our room was quite roomy with a large bathroom area. We had an interior room which proved to be very quiet. I would recommend this hotel if you are in the Sonora area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Betsyk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Has gone down hill since I used to stay there a lot three years ago. No longer has PM fresh cookies and no long provides poop bags for a "dog friendly" motet. The adjacent restaurant still provides an excellent breakfast with the same friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ward a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your comments about the cookies and doggie station bags. Actually, we still have a popular dog walking path with doggie bags. We are adding a Managers Reception this Fall and we just added a new Fitness Center. There is new lighting in the rooms and hallways and directions signage throughout the hotel. We would love to show you the new improvements to our hotel. We are glad that you returned to enjoy our Best Western. We will consider adding the cookies again on select nights; a good idea!

Christopher Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I recently took a 10 day roadtrip around Northern(ish) California in late June/early July of 2014. I used Trip Advisor extensively in selecting hotels for this adventure. This review is part of that vacation. Day 3 - after a long day in Yosemite National park we headed for Sonora. I'm not a "Best Western"fan and booked this hotel solely based on all of the great reviews on TripAdvisor. We got here, had a room on the ground floor with a door opening out to a patio with a table and chairs and the pool/hot tub. About my only complaint (if you call it that) is that the hot tub was a tad too warm :) the room was excellent and for the price of $121 with taxes it was a far better night than the previous one in Lee Vining. Everything was spotless, the bed was comfortable and the free breakfast the restaurant in the parking lot was good. With all that, when I checked out I was asked "What could we do better"? Would definitely recommend this establishment (in spite of the Best Western tag) and would stay there again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the lower level and had easy access for the pool which was nice. I am not sure if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel was so nice. Booked the morning of staying and lucked out with only one Kind Mini Suite left. Took it and was surprisingly happy to see the room and location of the room. We were picking our son up in Jamestown, however, the reviews of the hotels there were on good so decided to drive a little further to Sonora. Worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Norma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We traveled with our daughter and her family through Tahoe, Sonora and Yosemite this past week and made very last minute reservations at this nice hotel. I changed reservations from a hotel in Oakdale to Sonora so we would be closer to Yosemite. When I called, a very nice young lady named Kate helped with our reservations and was so gracious to go over and beyond the call of duty to get us two rooms next to each other. The hotel check-in was easy, the rooms clean with micro and fridge, and the breakfasts were wonderful. They provide a free full breakfast at the adjacent restaurant and it was delicious. The night we arrived, all 8 of us, including 4 hungry and tired children ate dinner at the same restaurant and we were treated like we were all very special. When staying at this hotel, they offer a free desert or drink when ordering dinner. We would return to this hotel....being freeway close and easy access to Yosemite, it's a great place to stay. Thanks Kate for all your help.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dooshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
0.1 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
415 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
11.2 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
593 reviews
2.6 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 19551 Hess Ave, Sonora, CA 95370-9720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: £83 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Sonora, California hotel conveniently located in the heart of Gold Country. Those in need of Yosemite lodging will not be disappointed at the Best Western Sonora Oaks! Guests will be a short distance from many landmarks and attractions, including the Sierra Railroad, Columbia State Park and Yosemite National Park. Guests will also be near Dodge Ridge Ski Area, Leland Snow Park and we are the closest hotel to Black Oak Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel Sonora
Sonora Best Western
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing