We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed hear over night on our way to Yosemite. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean and the beds the most comfortable I have slept in for a while. The attached restaurant was very good and reasonably priced, the free breakfast the next morning was a little disappointing (hey it was free).

The check out staff were just as friendly and wished us a safe and pleasant trip.

Worth every penny.

Room Tip: I am not sure about the rest of the hotel but ask for a room at the back away from the road, not tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for recognizing our Front Desk Team. Those beds are a special “plush” mattress that supports well. We are sorry that the popular breakfast did not fit your needs. For those that want more choices that the suggested 6, they can apply the cost to any item on the memo. Feel free to contact me, if there is anything that we can do for you.

Christopher Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have frequent family gatherings in Sonora, and this hotel is always our first choice. The rooms are always clean, quiet and comfortable, and the beds are wonderful. My only criticism is that the heating and cooling units do not have an option to both cool and have the fan running all the time - if its set on fan then there is no cooling, and if its set on cooling, the unit is turning on and off all night. The restaurant which is across the parking lot is a good value, serving pretty typical coffee shop type food. The service is very good, and the breakfasts are generous. The hotel provides a breakfast voucher with a choice of four meals all of which are substantial. The hotel is very conveniently located just off the main highway, and rooms are far enough from the road that there is virtually no vehicle noise. There is a very pleasant pool which was clean as were the decks and chairs. This hotel is a great choice if you are exploring the Mother Lode or making a day trip into Yosemite (about a 90 minute drive).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher L, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Breakfast is so important and we are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary served hot breakfast, comfortable beds, clean room, pleasant pool, and great service.
Thank you for your observation about those common hotel PTAC units. I just run the fan after the cool down, so it is a steady sound and moves the air, when I stay elsewhere.

Christopher Link
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our first stop on our trip through the gold country on Highway 49. The hotel is only a few minutes away from downtown Sonora. It is surrounded by trees and is close to a shopping center that has a Walmart ,Applebee's, Safeway, a movie complex and many other stores. The staff was very friendly and they gave us tickets for breakfast for the restaurant that is on the property. The breakfast was very good;you had your choice of several options. We had the two eggs with bacon, toast; coffee and juice was included.

We have found that overall the Best Westerns usually have nice rooms and are often in beautiful surroundings. If we were to go through the area again I would definitely stay here. The only problem we had was the balcony had loose boards and rotting wood. We notified the staff about it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Default33009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I'm also not a big fan of Best Western hotels, but this place wasn't bad.... the room was spacious and it had free wifi (big plus because for some reason Verizon has very bad coverage in this area). We were given vouchers for breakfast at the next door restaurant for the two nights we stayed here. Not sure if this is customary for the hotel as part of their complimentary breakfast but no complaints here. We stayed here as part of our Yosemite trip, just be advised that although it appears in near proximity to the National Park, its just under two hours to get there on extremely windy roads.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayG623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

One of 13 Best Western hotels two 'older' couples stayed in during a 32 self-organised/self-drive - 5k. miles holiday around Western USA National Parks - all for £6k. inclusive. Very much cheaper and more flexible than a package provided tour. The BW Plus at Sonora was the best breakfast - and an evening meal in the on-site restaurant. Also used the Best Western booking system to plan the journeys between overnight stops

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank quadrantpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The first impression upon arrival was just wonderful. Within a few short minutes we were at our room and found it spacy, spotless and quiet with a patio, table and chairs at a shady ground. Thestaff was friendly and knowledgeable. We really appreciated coffee and tea available 24 hours at the lobby and a delicious breakfast at the adjacent restaurant.
This Best Western is close to Yosemite, the lovely city of James town with it's train ride, the charming downtown Sonora and a nearby Indian casino.
It would be great for any organization to take it's staff there for a retreat and use of the conference center.

Room Tip: we were glad to have a room on the first floor with easy access to our car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We used this hotel as a "base" from which to visit Yosemite Park. It is about an hour's drive from the park over winding roads. Our room was quite roomy with a large bathroom area. We had an interior room which proved to be very quiet. I would recommend this hotel if you are in the Sonora area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Betsyk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
0.1 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
172 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
829 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Jamestown
141 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
595 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 19551 Hess Ave, Sonora, CA 95370-9720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: £67 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Sonora, California hotel conveniently located in the heart of Gold Country. Those in need of Yosemite lodging will not be disappointed at the Best Western Sonora Oaks! Guests will be a short distance from many landmarks and attractions, including the Sierra Railroad, Columbia State Park and Yosemite National Park. Guests will also be near Dodge Ridge Ski Area, Leland Snow Park and we are the closest hotel to Black Oak Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel Sonora
Sonora Best Western
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing