We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The staff were very friendly and welcoming during our one night stay. The hotel was made up of several separate building with outside access. The room was clean, quiet, comfortable and well maintained.

There was a computer in the lobby/reception with good, fast internet access.

A voucher for breakfast at the diner across the car park was included. A basic but adequate breakfast was covered by this voucher and the diner staff were very friendly. It mostly seemed to be locals eating there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoOxontravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2009

Frankly, it is the first time I have stayed at a BW property. I just usually find the amenities at Marriott & Holiday Inn Express properties a bit more comfortable & suited to me. I stayed here because I was told by local associates & TripAdvisor reviews that this was the best of the local hotels.

It is an older style motel, with outside entrances to the rooms. You can tell that the management/owners strive to keep the property looking clean & comfortable. the staff was always very attentive and helpful with me, especially when I was 'lost driving from Sacramento when my phone navigator wasn't carried on the local cellular system!

The room was a basic but comfortable room, with fast wired intenet access. My room had a small fridge & microwave. Bathromm was clean an roomy enough...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Due to a full house at my parents, we decided to stay at a hotel. We have a dog, so there aren't a lot of choices. We have a Best Western card, so we always check them first. Fortunatly, this Best Western accepts dogs, so I made a reservation on line. When we arrived, we were greeted like we were old friends. Check-in was quick and efficient, as was check -out. We weren't able to try the breakfast, but we are sure it was wonderful. The room was large, very comfortable, and fresh. They serve a local coffee in the lobby, which is always very nice and adds a touch that seems to show they care about being a part of the community. We would stay here again and always tell people of this hotel first when they visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yrhklbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbiz, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2009

Nothing makes us feel better than when a guest states that when they arrived, they were greeted like they were old friends.

I passed your comments on to our staff about our wonderful rooms which were large, very comfortable and fresh. They were very pleased.

I was surprised to see that someome noticed the use of our local roasting company instead of the usual in-room coffee. Thank you for noticing.

Regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Travelled with elderly mother and front desk crew went out of their way to accomodate our special needs. Have nothing but high regard for the people operating this property. Rates were well below what we had anticipated. Room was immaculate and all appliances worked like new.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikenemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbiz, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2009

Thank you for your compliments about our hotel, our restaurant and our staff.

We are pleased that you found our staff "welcoming and friendly". Honestly, this means a lot to them.

We hope to you you again soon.

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We either stay here or Aladdin when we are in town. We love the continental breakfast which is sit down service at the restaurant next door - so much nicer than the usual spread you get in the lobby. It's a quiet location but keep in mind it is not near downtown Sonora so you'll have to drive there. The rooms all have a fridge and microwave, I believe so that was a plus. We will definitely stay here again. The wireless internet worked just fine in the room which was important (unlike at Inns of Calif which did not work in the room at all. We had to go down to the lobby). Very comfy, higher-end bed too.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbiz, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2009

By your comments, it is apparent that you are very familiar with Sonora and the many choices that you have in lodging. We are honored that you have given the Best Western Sonora Oks Hotel such high marks.

We are pleased that you noted the small details like the super fast high speed wireless and the sit-down served continental breakfast.

We look forward to your next visit,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Spacious rooms with all the normal facilities Tea/coffee maker,TV etc.There isnt a lot
in Sonora and everything closes early.Unfortunately it was raining heavily when we got
here so stayed at the hotel for dinner.Very good waitress so friendly and nothing was
too much trouble.We had quite a good meal which was not that expensive either.There
was a karioke evening in the bar after dinner .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornishdragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbiz, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2009

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel.

We are happy to here that you enjoyed our hotel and on-site restaurant. You are correct that they serve a reasonable and good meal with friendly service. The karioki is offered on select nights and is a lot of fun. For the benefit of all, I have promised not to sing!

Regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Our stay was only for one night. The hotel was just north of town in a quiet location. Our hotel room was surprisingly spacious with plenty of room. It was also modern, compared to other hotels in the Sonora area. Staff at the hotel was also very pleasant and accomodating.

There were only two drawback with our stay. The first was with one of the queen beds in our room. As my wife pulled back the sheets it was rather obvious that the maid had not changed the sheets from the previous night. We contacted the front desk and asked if they had someone to bring us fresh bed linens. They said they did not have a "runner" but I was more than welcome to come downstairs and pick them up. When I arrived at the front desk, they had to finish helping another customer while I stood there in my pajamas until they could assist me. Once the customer was helped, I was given the clean linens. The second drawback was, as others have noted the breakfast. The food was at best "ok" and the ticket the hotel gives you is very limited on what you can choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyfunofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
0.1 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
417 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
11.2 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
594 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 19551 Hess Ave, Sonora, CA 95370-9720 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range: £76 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Sonora, California hotel conveniently located in the heart of Gold Country. Those in need of Yosemite lodging will not be disappointed at the Best Western Sonora Oaks! Guests will be a short distance from many landmarks and attractions, including the Sierra Railroad, Columbia State Park and Yosemite National Park. Guests will also be near Dodge Ridge Ski Area, Leland Snow Park and we are the closest hotel to Black Oak Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Sonora Oaks Hotel Sonora
Sonora Best Western
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing