We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 stars if possible”
Review of Sonora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonora Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“3.5 stars if possible”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent 1 night here while exploring the Gold Rush country onward to Yosemite.

The property is located conveniently in the center of town, and I thought it was very reasonably priced.

It's not really a destination where you go to hang out in the room. Our room had sort of an awkward configuration, but it was comfortable for sleeping purposes.

With regards to the bathroom, there is a glitch with the shower temperatures, which we were warned about ahead of time. Ok for one night, but I'm not sure that I would want to deal with it on an ongoing basis.

The pool area is small, but a nice treat on a hot day. The exterior was a bit worn and the pool needed to be cleaned, but we stuck our feet in anyways.

They do offer a breakfast, and my boyfriend and I took one look at each other and determined that we would rather eat somewhere else. It wasn't really maintained and was all pre-packaged baked goods, not great start for a trek to Yosemite.

Overall, I liked the hotel and would stay again when exploring the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiebuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    67
    63
    30
    35
See reviews for
48
84
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Sonora Inn is a place that you can feel the history when you stay here. You walk back in time when you walk into the hotel. Yes, the floors are not even and the rooms are small as well as the bathroom. Yes, the room can be a bit noisy, you have to remember that this hotel was built back in 1896 when they did not have big rigs driving by, or motorcycles/Harleys gunning the engine and people who went to bed at dark. You get a room that was built for people who came to do business or go panning for gold. They did not have wi-fi back then either. You want a room with space and high speed internet, stay at a Hilton or Holiday Inn. You want to visit a town and hotel with a bit of history, stay at the Sonora Inn. The rooms are beautifully decorated with the colors of the era that it was built, warm and inviting. The beds are comfortable. They do have an AC unit that is in the window, bit loud, but it does the job. Did I forget to mention, the staff was courteous and very informative of places to go and places not to eat. You want excellent food, go next door to Christopher's Ristorante Italiano's and enjoy a glass of wine. You want to stay in a hotel with history, stay at the Sonora Inn. We will be back again to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: When booking a room, ask for a room that is not located near the elevator, stairs or the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My Husband and I booked this hotel for our wedding night. We paid for the hotel nearly 2 weeks in advanced and when we paid I told the lady at the front desk that it was for our wedding night so we would not be in until late. The night of our wedding at nearly 11 pm my husband and I went to check into our hotel. We were told that our reservation had been cancelled due to our debit card being rejected. My husband pulled up the charge on our bank app on my phone and told them we had already paid in full. The lady said she'd tried to call twice but no one answered, I had no missed calls on my phone and they had no other rooms available. When I asked for a refund the General Manager was trying to tell me that I couldn't get my money back until the following day and then was "trying to figure out why the money didn't post the same day we paid" like we were trying to scam them. We had to argue for nearly 15 minutes just to get our money back. There were no other hotels open that night and me and my husband ended up spending our wedding night at my parents house! There are many more hotels in Sonora that are much better to spend your money on! Don't waste your time here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelcie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sonora hotels

winchester, ma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Needs updating in its bathrooms, but otherwise all the basics are there. Reasonably priced and a handy location for a stopover on the way to Yosemite. Town also charming. Decor old-fashioned but we liked it that way. No glitz and no frills. We'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenmpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparks nv
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a relatively inexpensive place to stay. It's an historic inn, so the rooms are small. But, they have everything a person could need except possibly a small fridge. Everything was absolutely clean. One day I dropped my keys down the old elevator shaft. The custodian was able to retrieve them. The entire staff was super friendly and helpful. Would stay again in a second.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddlestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I upgraded to a suite, the room was nice size. Like others the shower was horrible HOT HOT then ice cold!!! back and forth the whole shower! Not just like it was warm water it was so hot I was burned and so cold I cold not stand under the water. Made it really hard to get ready for the wedding we were there to attend. WILL NOT STAY EVER AGAIN!! I also called to tell a manager and never received a call back to even say sorry for you unpleasant recent stay. I have also told many others find somewhere else to stay!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here as NO ONNE in our party of 12 had a good stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 389JessicaL389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sonora Inn for three nights during our first visit to this area. It's a nice place for being so old. We loved the elevator! Our room was clean and comfortable... BUT the shower was horrible. Hot then cold, hot, cold, hot, cold... Fix the water issues and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivnmarksadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
156 reviews
3.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
1.8 mi away
Country Inn Sonora
Country Inn Sonora
#5 of 5 in Jamestown
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Inn

Property: Sonora Inn
Address: 160 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-4712 (Formerly Days Inn Sonora)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonora Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonora Inn was built in 1896 and originally named the Hotel Victoria. The Inn has played host to notables and celebrities including Grace Kelly during the filming of High Noon and more recently Drew Barrymore while she worked on the film Bad Girls. The hotels architecture and finishes reflect the popular California Mission style of the 1920's that hosted Hollywoods elite during the golden era of tourism and film making. Centrally located in historic downtown Sonora, and with exceptional views from the roof top swimming pool, the historic California hotel is the perfect place for travelers with an interest in the historic Gold Rush and Yosemite National Park. There are countless adventures to be found in nearby historic towns, year round recreation attractions. Unique shops, local theater, boutique, wineries and both fine & casual dining. The Historic Sonora Inn towers 3 stories.The Historic Inn has recently been remodeled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sonora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sonora Hotel Sonora
Sonora Days Inn
Sonora Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing