We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and Cold”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonora Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Old and Cold”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Location-Location-Location! that was the only reason for me to book this hotel thru Expedia. We were in Sonora in February, it was cool yet no snow on the ground. We new that the hotel was 'historical' but did not expect it to be so NOT comfortable. Entrance/ lobby is beautifully decorated and check-in was fast. But after that we went to the 'historical' elevator - and it was difficult to open the door into its small compartment pushing/ pulling your luggage at the same time. There was nobody around to help. Hotel offers minimum service - when i came to the front desk with my laptop and questions about wi-fi issues, the manager bluntly informed me that 'in his country' they do not teach computers. I did not ask him what country he was talking about...The room was strangely decorated - some pieces of furniture were nice and useful, but others were not. With two night stands on both sides of the bed, we got only one lamp. Another light was directly opposite the bed high on the wall, plus the ceiling light. I liked the idea of encasing the flat panel TV blending it with the rest of the dark wood furniture. But next to the TV was the a/c built into the wndow - it was heating the room only when it was on the maximum power, and so noisy that we could not hear the TV sound. When we shut the A/C, in five minutes the room was cold again. Luckily for us, we did not spend a lot of time in the room, exploring the area, antiquing, driving to Murphy for vine tasting, and such. Coming to the room for the night, taking a shower, we could not miss the beauty of old tiles and woodwork. They install a new big shower head to improve the water flow, but it took for ever to wait for warm water. Why did they keep the old sink? it was very uncomfortable, and did not add to the beauty of the bathroom which has enough space for a nice roomy countertop, but as for now you can dance in that bathroom but hardly find a place for your toiletries. And again - cold!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    66
    59
    30
    32
See reviews for
48
76
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was the 2nd time I've stayed at the Sonora Inn. I was probably spoiled the first time as I was given the "honeymoon suite" even though a regular room had been booked. This time we were in a regular room. The rooms are smaller than traditional hotel rooms but its to be expected with a place this old. We had to go buy a power strip as the outlets were too few for us with 2 phones, 2 tablets and 2 laptops. I would have loved to have a bit more water pressure and the shower head, while perfect for me, was much too low for my guy. All in all, I cant help but really like this place with its charm and you cant beat the location for access to Sonora's eateries and shops. I'll stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for a night on our trip to sonora pass and tioga pass via mono lake. Booked the room through hotels.com and it took some customer service phone calls for the hotel to get the fax about the reservations... after that checkin was smooth.

@ The hotel: building is OLD, which is not necessarily bad thing. It does add a little bit of a character to the hotel. The hallways and stairs have a rustic charm ...

@ the room: We had one queen bed room (# 242) and unlike to what others said in their reviews, it was NOT that spacious... The room had no facilities like fridge, microwave etc. There was an AC and a TV though. Overall the room was average. Pillows weren't that comfortable for me.

@ Breakfast: Absolutely below average. The only thing I could eat was boiled egg... nothing else was fresh. Everything was frozen.

@Location: Very good location. Nice restaurants in walking distance.

@Price: Seems pricey for the kind of hotel it turned out to be. Our room was 85$ per night and I've stayed in cheaper hotels that offer better rooms and breakfast than this.

Summary: Stay for the location, everything else you can do better

Room Tip: Avoid road facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxedVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of Sonora where there are many good restaurants and shops. We spent two nights in the Grace Kelly Room which was located by the main street of Sonora with constant traffic noise into the late night. We did not partake of the unattractive breakfast: packaged pastry items and juice, coffee and tea, and boiled eggs. The room itself was large with comfortable bed and sofa. The care of the facility was lacking with evident paint chipping and plastic cups in the bathroom. The toilet stopped up and the clerk (not a maintenance person) came to unplug it with a plunger--since she was in a dress, I plunged it for her. Free parking is available behind the hotel in a parking lot. Overall, for the affordable price, the hotel was decent.

Room Tip: Choose a quieter room toward the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mramos8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The main purpose of the visit was to visit Ghost towns & Route 49 of '49ers fame - the heart of gold rush country. The Inn was well located with restaurants nearby. Grace kelly had stayed nearby when they filmed 'High noon'. The room was cosy & comfy

Room Tip: ground floor near reception but ones at back are away from the main road with parking adjacent too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

1 night stay passing through. Bed was great, great water pressure in shower and lots of hot water. Warm and quite (after we turned off the heater). Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good eating close by. Rate was excellent. So much character, truly a gem and a great experience.

Room Tip: Comfortable bed. Great water pressure and lots of hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel because of it's history! Comfortable rooms. Old, but functional bathrooms, interesting choice of colours...
Hotel layout is a maze, floors and stairs creak, staff were very charming, as is the lovely town! Breakfast was terrible! Worst ever!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
3.1 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Inn

Property: Sonora Inn
Address: 160 South Washington Street, Sonora, CA 95370 (Formerly Days Inn Sonora)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sonora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sonora Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonora Inn was built in 1896 and originally named the Hotel Victoria. The Inn has played host to notables and celebrities including Grace Kelly during the filming of High Noon and more recently Drew Barrymore while she worked on the film Bad Girls. The hotels architecture and finishes reflect the popular California Mission style of the 1920's that hosted Hollywoods elite during the golden era of tourism and film making. Centrally located in historic downtown Sonora, and with exceptional views from the roof top swimming pool, the historic California hotel is the perfect place for travelers with an interest in the historic Gold Rush and Yosemite National Park. There are countless adventures to be found in nearby historic towns, year round recreation attractions. Unique shops, local theater, boutique, wineries and both fine & casual dining. The Historic Sonora Inn towers 3 stories.The Historic Inn has recently been remodeled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sonora Hotel Sonora
Sonora Days Inn
Sonora Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing