We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Charm Close to LA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total Charm Close to LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I love this inn!

Every room is unique and equally charming but GARDEN ROOM is my favorite. Gorgeous Bath, spacious layout and beautiful decor. The Inn Oozes charm, and peace and quiet. A great city escape plus super comfy-chic for out of town visitors. Nummy breakfasts and lots of places to get away--the poolside, library, living room and fireside. Thanks for making our stay so perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Our customers’ happiness is always top of mind, so it's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, Susan. We strive to make all of our rooms charming and I'm excited to hear that you loved the Garden Room. Thank you for your kind words and I hope you'll stay with us again soon!

Till then,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    20
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
25
66
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed several days in the Bissell House, which we chose because of the B&B experience it promised. And did it deliver! The Bissell House offers a cosy home-away-from-home from which to discover LA. We did that by car, mostly, but in walking distance there are good places to eat (we had a wonderful dinner at the Shiro restaurant). We very much appreciated the personal touch, meeting interesting other guests for breakfast, the delicious afternoon cake, and the beautiful old house and grounds. It helped us to discover a different, historical, side of LA, while at the same time being in easy driving distance from all the city's attractions.

Room Tip: Victoria's room is a real gem. Not big, but cute and the covered veranda is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoupleFromBremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Los Angeles, specifically Pasadena and South Pasadena! Our city has such a unique culture and it's great that you had the opportunity to come all the way from Germany to experience it. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. If you ever return to Los Angeles, stop in and say hello. We'd welcome you back for another stay, anytime!

Cheers,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cutar, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice one night stay in mid-August. We stayed in the Rose Room right at the top of the house. Smaller room but it was fine. Great bed. Did not get a chance to use the pool but it was very clean and looked like a great dip. Breakfast was good but we would suggest not opting for the grab and go breakfast as it is limited. Local dinner was a pick up from Radhika which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
I'm so happy to hear that you were comfortable in the Rose Room, TJ! Radhika is very delicious, so I'm happy that you had the chance to eat there while you were in town! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and If you're ever back in Pasadena, keep us in mind!

All the best,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Bissell House. It is in a residential neighborhood that is off a busy street but still quiet. A 10 minute walk from public transportation (and a Trader Joe's). The room was clean and the staff was wonderful, extremely friendly and welcoming. The bed was comfortable. I really enjoyed the hot breakfast and meeting the other guests. The pool is lovely and the grounds are quite peaceful. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank frauchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Great location, friendly staff, comfortable accommodations — that's what we're going for, so it's great to hear that we're doing a good job! I hope you enjoyed your time in Pasadena and your trip to the states! Thank you for the compliments here on TripAdvisor. If you're ever going to be back in town, give us a call!

All the best,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in the cozy Rose Room. Sadly, we arrived later than we had hoped and did not get a chance to soak in the surroundings and the pool at night, but had a chance to enjoy both in the morning. (The pool was very clean and the temperature was perfect in July). The inn's entrance is subtle, so we accidentally passed it first. But that adds to the privacy, as lush vegetation and trees surround the corner property. The neighborhood was high-end and the home was very authentic for the period. The furnishings and decor was an attraction in itself, and a step back in time....everything from the original door knobs, to the outlet covers, glass windows and pipes around the bathtub led to the historical ambiance. The home was updated and attractive without losing tmuch of the original flavor, and the flavor of the breakfast was pleasing also. The owners spared no details, from the thick pool towels in the library leading to the pool to the bathrobes. They were helpful in making you feel at home, without hovering. It was a welcome respite at an affordable price after a stressful year. The air conditioning was a treat also, as it was a warm weekend. Bed was comfy...ceiling had a sloped gable which added to the charm. I hope to return and spend more time to enjoy the surroundings and the nearby treasures that South Pasadena has to offer. Guests were also treated to snacks at night, coffee and tea, and a library of books to borrow from during their stay. And next time I will purchase some of the little antiques and gift items for sale, which I was sorry I forgot to do on this visit.

Room Tip: The third story upstairs rooms facing the pool was very private and was not too warm. It offered an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed the Rose Room, Yvonne! We've put a lot of work into preserving the original flair of Bissell House, so it's great to hear that you think we're doing a good job. Thank you for the kind words here on TripAdvisor and I hope you get to stay with us again soon.

All the best,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We are so happy to have found the Bissel House! What a perfect location for a walk around historic homes and cool, hip South Pasadena. Clean, comfortable and wonderful hosts. Grounds are lovely complete with pool and several sitting areas. We will make a point to return. Way more personality and value than standard hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
It's great to hear that you'll come back and visit us again, Kate! We all work so hard to help the huge personality of Bissell House shine, so your compliments here on TripAdvisor mean the world to me! I'm very happy that you enjoyed Pasadena and look forward to your next visit.

Till then,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a beautiful B&B hidden on a residential street in South Pasadena. The room was lovely & the breakfast excellent; we slept well in the comfortable bed. The grounds are very pretty with a nice little pool. The sitting room is very pleasant to sit it for afternoon tea. Overall it's a great place to stay if you're looking for a nice quiet spot on the East side of LA!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corinna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provencesister, Owner at The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
It's great to hear that you had a chance to enjoy our beautiful grounds, Corinna! We've worked very hard to preserve the historic landscape and traditions here at Bissell House, so your compliments mean so much to us. I hope to see you again on your next trip to LA.

Till then,
Janet Hoyman
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Pasadena
1.4 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
2.2 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
1.2 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#12 of 31 in Pasadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 201 Orange Grove Avenue, SW Corner Orange Grove Ave and Columbia Street With Front Driveway Entrance Access From Columbia Street, South Pasadena, CA 91030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > South Pasadena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bissell House Bed and Breakfast, a uniquely charming, three story shingle Victorian, with craftsman style influence. Step back in time and experience a piece of Pasadena's heritage in a home that was built in 1887 and is elegantly situated in an upscale residential neighborhood located in beautiful, historic South Pasadena, California. Discover small town America a short half mile walk to Mission Street with it's many and varied eateries, metro station, bookstores, antique shops, wineries, art galleries, yoga studios and historic library. We are located approximately 1.5 Miles from the heart of historic "Old Town" Pasadena dining, shopping district and convention center and only six metro stops from Union Station in downtown Los Angeles. The Norton Simon Museum, Fenyes Mansion Estate, Wrigley Tournament House, Greene and Greene Gamble House and Rose Bowl Stadium all either line or can be accessed off Orange Grove Boulevard within one to two miles north of us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bissell House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing