We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Hawaii in South Pasadena”
Review of Canoe House

Canoe House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: New-Replaced a neighborhood restaurant called Wild Thyme
Altadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit of Hawaii in South Pasadena”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is a real gem on Fair Oaks. Good and interesting food. Real nice, kinda Tiki Bar Moderne decor. Servers and staff are real genuinely friendly. Kalua pork sandwich is very good and the Portuguese Sausage Fired Rice is my favorite. Pineapple upside down cake for dessert is also a favorite. They also have a full bar with a daily drink special in the dining room.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cutter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Something Different in So. Pas.”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Good bar area/not overly busy or cheesy; great appetizers and main dishes. Our waitress was very friendly (and cute) and the atmosphere was good for hanging out (near bar) or for family meals (main dining area). Would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Surprisingly very good”
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

In the area to handle some business and found this interestingly named restaurant. The decor tropical in nature, with upbeat waitresses. Since we had not been before, the waitress was very helpful by suggesting items not only that she liked but some of the local regulars suggested. We finally decided on Ahi Tuna soft tacos - they were ver good!!! Not over cooked like so many restaurants treat Ahi Tuna. Will return if I'm in the area again.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra, California
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A quick Hawaii fix...”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Love this place!! When I'm sad and blue missing Hawaii I walk into this restaurant and order a Mai tai and my blues simply go away. Natalie the bartender knows how to make a real Mai tai. Food is excellent, appetizers are great and the service is quick and friendly.
The minute you walk in ur greatest with true Aloha, hostess always with a smile and servers are attentive.
Try it and you'll see what I mean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momwithgreatboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Collect Those Pineapples”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I am a regular here. You get a card that shows the number of times you have eaten there. They print a pineapple on the card for each visit. You get a free entree when you fill the card. There are several great dishes including Portuguese Fried Rice, North Shore Shrimp ( just a little bite to it) Fried Calamari, and great salads. My favorite waitress is also the bartender, Great friendly service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canoe House also viewed

South Pasadena, CA
South Pasadena, CA
 
South Pasadena, CA
 

Been to Canoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing