We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shiro

Shiro
Reserve with OpenTable
Shiro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$32 - US$55
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fair Oaks Ave.
Transit: South Pasadena Metro Station .4 miles from the Restaurant
Description: Our food is only the best of the ingredients presented so that their excellence shines through. Our caring staff is here to help you enjoy your meal. We have a full bar.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

After a few months of absence we decided to go to Shiro's for a Saturday night dinner. It was quite packed and we arrived early yet they had our reservation/table ready. Gracious greeting by Sheryl & Irene (owners) who always make you feel special. The service impeccable, atmosphere wonderful with beautiful flower arrangements and the food delicious for all you foodies. Unique appetizers that are always exciting although I did not find the romaine salad special. We had the lamb that night which was perfectly done. This gem is always a treat and the best restaurant in South Pasadena.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peppy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could have been a 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Oh my-the delicious food. I had the special ravioli appetizer with shaved morels and it was wonderful. My entree was equally fabulous. However the service made us feel rushed. We were not asked if we wanted to order drinks and appetizers first, followed by taking our entree order. Instead we were asked to order everything at once. Had to pour our wine throughout dinner-the server never checked back to see how things were going or if we needed anything. felt like we were being rushed in order to turn the table over for another group. Too bad because the food deserved more appreciation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jillc947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiro1505, Owner at Shiro, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are happy you loved the food. We are not happy that you did not get the service you should have received. We are known for our excellent service. We have spoken to our staff about the evening. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
657 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Just about the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I used to live in the area, and Shiro was a favorite then as it is now. The catfish is divine, served with just the right sides. There is simply no better fish around. The service is friendly and professional. I will be back next time I'm in the area.

Helpful?
Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never a disapointment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My mother took me to this restaurant for my birthday and it was such an incredible experience! Sheryl is always so gracious and welcoming! Its a South Pasadena gem for sure! The kumo moto oysters were fresh and cold served with an incredible saffron vinaigrette and the main dish was salmon cooked perfectly (with dill sauce). A special dessert was complimentary (with candles) which was an apple tart with ice cream which was very delicious. Always very special food with gracious owners who make all of us feel special! Loved spending my birthday there!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peppy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong at Shiro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Been enjoying this exquisite restaurant for many years. Started out very cozy and they've expanded (slightly) over the years. The portion size is rather on the small side, but the menu is outstanding. They are known for the deep fried whole catfish served with ponzu dipping sauce. I'm not a fan of catfish, but my kids (now grown) always looked forward to ordering the "large" size. For special occasions, it's always Shiro!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanB933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiro also viewed

 

Been to Shiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing