We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the effort!”
Review of Gus's Barbecue

Gus's Barbecue
Reserve with OpenTable
Gus's Barbecue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mission Street
Transit: Gus's is located only a couple of blocks from the South Pasadena gold line station.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We hit this place for dinner on our second night in LA and the food and service was outstanding. Ribs were tender, pulled pork melts in your mouth and the corn bread with jalapeño jam his the spot. My kids liked it so much that we battled bumper to bumper traffic for four hours to get back from San Diego and hit it again on our last night in town. Great bbq on the west coast, who would have known!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UncleBuck6679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    72
    24
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finger lickin' good!!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Their combo platter is excellent and they have delicious beans. Come with an appetite because this place is sure to leave you full and satisfied.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank victoriousgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level Contributor
129 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Down Home Cooking”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I had lunch here today with some friends and the restaurant was packed at noon time. There are a lot of local business folk eating at that time. I have been here before and Gus' is consistently good. BBQ items are delicious as are their sweet potato fries. The passion fruit ice tea is refreshing. Service is efficient. This is not a luxury spot but very casual, clean and friendly. I happen to like the banquette/booth in the back. They take reservations for lunch and for dinner and I highly recommend them for lunch. I will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAgirlqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy food, fun setting!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Enjoyed a family party in the back room this last visit - 14 of us including some kids. Enjoyed our food - yummy Memphis style ribs, BBQ Brick Chicken, Shredded onion rings, and cornbread. Oh yes, Greek salad. We also had the artichoke spinach dip which was gobbled up so fast we had to order more. The back room is small and we were a bit crowded (by choice- we were celebrating a birthday), and the kids made it really noisy. I love the setting out in the restaurant and enjoy the ambiance much more. The food is consistently good here. We have also enjoyed it catered at events and always look forward to it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuluGrace8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dependable BBQ”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I'm sure BBQ enthusiasts could argue particulars, but this place is all around a great place. Nice surroundings, friendly staff, a good beer list and a mess of BBQ that -- given the slim choices -- is as good as any I've head around here. We always enjoy a visit, and always eat too much, which seems appropriate somehow. They do a nice weekend brunch too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimverbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gus's Barbecue also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Gus's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing