We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lot of character” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buster's Ice Cream Stop

Buster's Ice Cream Stop
Ranked #7 of 9 Dessert in South Pasadena
Cuisines: Cafe, American
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lot of character”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

it seems to be slow service. Only two people working there. Sitting outside watching the train is very pleasant

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevln-jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
175 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Sweet neighborhood place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Buster's is the kind of place that makes you feel like you on the set of a TV show. Friendly staff always serves your coffee as if they now your name. It's always nice to sit outside and read the paper.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank flaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun ice cream and coffee house by the tracks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is one of my favorite places in So. Pasadena, and I've been coming here for years. It's in the renovated portion of Mission St., right next to the railroad tracks. A Victorian era building with two stories and outdoor patio area, it's a great place to come for ice cream, desserts, coffee and tea. They also have a small menu of salads and sandwiches.

They have free wi-fi for customers during the weekdays, not on the weekends (they say it's because they want people to come and socialize and not stare at computers on the weekends. works for me!) The tables upstairs are where the laptop people go, and downstairs and outside everyone sits around and chats.

They make their own desserts, and they are delicious! The key lime pie, which comes in it's own little glass deep dish with real whip cream, is absolutely the best I've ever had! The pastries, cookies, cakes, it's all wonderful! And the ice cream and milk shakes, terrific!

The owners and staff are very nice, the people who frequent Buster's are friendly and it's a darling little town. The only reason I give it 4 stars is because the coffee and coffee drinks have never quite been what they could be.

Hours:
Mon-Wed 6:30 am - 7 pm
Thu-Fri 6:30 am - 8 pm
Sat-Sun 7 am - 8 pm

All in all, this is a great little coffee/dessert house. Stop by and give it a try, you'll be glad you did!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HereAndNowAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Best local ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

Best local ice cream

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I used to like Buster's...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

I used to like Buster's a lot but their hours got weird and sometimes I'd find it closed. Seating indoors is claustrophobic. But they do all those ice cream-coffee combinations I love.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Buster's Ice Cream Stop also viewed

South Pasadena, CA
South Pasadena, CA
 
South Pasadena, CA
 
South Pasadena, CA
 

Been to Buster's Ice Cream Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing