We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Troubled and this is not a fair review”
Review of Arroyo Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arroyo Vista Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I have reviewed many hotels. I booked it early. It looked amazing. I knew I was choosing the least expensive room, but was so disappointed when I heard that a huge discount was given to my fellow travelers. I inquired about an upgrade, but the owner was very distracted and rude. Beware: the rooms on the third floor do NOT have windows that open. This was a worry for me and I felt very claustrophobic. It is such a BEAUTIFUL place. The breakfast and staff are A+. I left really sad and disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay +++to have the amazing rooms. DO NOT book the third floor. Do not expect any sincere personalit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 October 2011

This guest indeed chose and booked one of the least expensive rooms which have fewer amenities. When she saw the more expensive rooms that her companions had booked, she said in front of them and me, ”Why couldn’t I get a room like that?” I told her she could have any room available and receive the same discount that her friends got. Instead of taking that offer she asked for a free upgrade to one of our most expensive rooms and threatened to write a bad review unless I upgraded her for free. I was not about to give away a more expensive room just because a guest threatened to write a bad review. I’m glad that this person found the Arroyo Vista Inn “a BEAUTIFUL place” and “the breakfast and staff are A+,” but am taken aback that someone resorts to personal attacks when they don’t get what they want for free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

This bed and breakfast is so well designed and accomadating it is like being at your own home... only the best part is you do not have to do the cooking or cleaning. I always enjoy my stays at Arroyo Vista Inn because all the rooms have a unique feel to them and the view is absolutely gorgeous. I love the inn keepers and the food is amazing. The comfort and accomadation is some of the best I have ever revieced. I truly recommend this bed and breakfast to all my friends and family because I would not want anyone I know to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a jacuzzi tub :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We had been doing another South Pasadena B&B for years for our spring getaway. But it had gotten a bit grey around the edges, so we tried the pricier Arroyo Vista. Beautiful craftsman home, breath-taking view. Comfy and roomy room with awesome candy by the bed. Walkable to South Pas and just far enough to walk off one of the gourmet dinners of the various South Pas eateries. Ohmigosh, the hot breakfasts were to die for, hot and tasty. Great cookies in the common room. Enjoyed talking with the owners and other guests the first morning. What interesting folks! I stopped short of giving the place an excellent rating only because the second night the room had not been made up (and I had been spending all day thinking about that bedside fudge!) and the second morning the owners were nowhere to be found. The overall experience was so awesome that I couldn't bring myself to try to find them to ask whether making up the room was or was not to be expected, but it leaves a question mark hanging about whether we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirdBikingBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2011

We strive to provide an excellent experience for every guest who comes to Arroyo Vista Inn. We hope this can be seen from the overall tone of our guest reviews. We are happy that this guest enjoyed the breakfasts, the homemade cookies and candy, the views, the great old house, and the other guests. (We have the most interesting and fabulous guests...Check out our blog, "Arroyo Vista Inn Guests Are Talking About...") Because this guest visited five months ago (April), we are unable to determine how the cleaning of his room was overlooked. In order to avoid a future recurrence for any guest, we have instituted a new cleaning checklist that will identify the individual who cleans each room. This new procedure should provide the extra accountability to prevent a recurrence of inconvenience to any guest. We look forward to the return of this guest so we may try again to earn his "excellent" rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed for two nights on a mini-vacation to the area. The room was beautiful, very peaceful feeling, and very quiet. You feel far away from the hubbub but you can get everywhere in the area very easily and quickly. Breakfasts were delicious. Sodas, bottled water, and cookies were available all day and the afternoon wine and cheese was a nice pick-me-up while we played scrabble on the porch, talked, and recovered enough from busy days of sight-seeing to go out again for dinner. Lots of great restaurants and things to see only short distances away - the Gamble House (gorgeous Arts & Craft house tour), Old Pasadena, and The Huntington (gardens and art museums) were favorites. For food we recommend Mi Piace in Old Pasadena and Marston's near the Gamble House. We could happily have spent several more days. There are a wealth of books about the history and attractions of Pasadena and surrounds and the owner/host Pat had good recommendations too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This beautiful old home built in the early 1900's was truly home away from home. The beautiful comon rooms, the wide front porch for early morning reading or sipping wine in the afternoon and of course the wonderful breakfast!
Pat and her staff truly made us feel welcome! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmocg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Arroyo Vista Inn consistently receives excellent reviews and this will be no exception! I stayed for 3 nights and every second was perfect. My intent was to relax and rejuvenate in a beautiful setting and the inn is simply magical in melting away all my stress. What makes the inn extra special, though, is not just its vibe of tranquility and calm, but the warmth and hospitality of Pat and her wonderful staff. Deanna, Pat's assistant, greeted me every morning with a friendly smile. She prepared beautiful plates of fresh fruit and berries, fresh-squeezed orange juice, amazing blueberry pancakes, hearty strips of bacon....I could go on and on! I had the chance to meet other guests and share stories. Conversations were delightful. My room was heavenly and I slept soundly every night. I cannot emphasize enough how special this place is. Go, if you can, even for one night (preferably more!) You will be seriously impressed. If there is a gold standard of a bed and breakfast, Arroyo Vista Inn would be IT.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123puff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I just returned from a stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. We were celebrating our anniversary and Pat the owner had a bottle of champagne, strawberries and the most delicious homemade english toffee in our room. We stayed in room 7 the Monte Vista room. It had a lovely view and kingsize bed. Everything from our greeting by the host to our room, the breakfast and the wonderful people we met could not have been a better way to spend our anniversary. Thank you Pat and staff, we truly enjoyed your lovely home.
Dick and Marsha Van voorhis

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshaVanVoorhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Pasadena
2.1 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
1.5 mi away
Alhambra Inn
Alhambra Inn
#2 of 4 in Alhambra
7 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles/San Gabriel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#11 of 31 in Pasadena
313 reviews
3.2 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
3.1 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#3 of 31 in Pasadena
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arroyo Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Vista Inn

Address: 335 Monterey Rd, South Pasadena, CA 91030-3524
Region: United States > California > South Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Pasadena
Price Range: £100 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arroyo Vista Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1910 Craftsman home completely restored with all modern amenities perched on top of a hill on a 2-acre property. Many of the rooms have fabulous views of the city and the mountains. Several rooms have porches or balconies. Several have state of the art spa tubs. All the rooms have luxurious linens and window treatments. The rooms are furnished with a simple yet sophisticated combination of antiques and contemporary furniture. The Inn is centrally located 15 minutes from Downtown Los Angeles and 5 minutes from Pasadena. Vacation travelers will enjoy the fact that we are within one hour's drive of many Southern California attractions - Disneyland, Universal Studios, Getty Center, Huntington Library, Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach, Norton Simon Museum, Regan Library, Old Town Pasadena, Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the South Coast Plaza (shopping). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Arroyo Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing