We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KEEPS GETTING BETTER!”
Review of Arroyo Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arroyo Vista Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“KEEPS GETTING BETTER!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We were here only for one night but I wish we could have stayed longer because this beautiful B&B keeps getting better and better; you are always welcome with their delicious cookies and fruit (tangerines from their own trees) and at around 5:00p.m. there is fine wine, cheeses and nuts) they also keep a refrigerator well stocked with all kinds of drinks including sparkling water and if you want coffee or tea they also have it available for you; we love their breakfasts and their new chef is amazing, we had the french toast with berries and it was delicious and healthy along with great coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice; this time we stayed in room 9 with an amazing jacuzzi tub for two, we are locals but can't resist to escape even for one night to this beautiful B&B; book a room you won't regret it!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful but we love room 7 and 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    30
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
43
109
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Inn, the room was quiet and comfortable with a large bathroom full of amenities. I especially enjoyed the healthy and delicious breakfasts served in a window lined room overlooking the hillside landscape. Hidden away above the road in a grove of trees, the restored house and surroundings welcome you to experience a bygone era, The Inn has great access to public transportation and major arterials for visits to surrounding localities and beyond. I will return on future trips to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The Arroyo Vista Inn is a beautiful spot in the LA area. Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, you feel secluded and spoiled at the Inn, enjoying a home-like atmosphere amidst quiet surroundings. The establishment is an older, renovated home, and very quiet--you'd never really know there were other guests, except at the wonderful breakfasts. These are prepared with care, with good coffee, a selection of fruits, fresh juice, and a variety of choices for the main course. Pat also includes cheese and wine in the evening--so it's easy to relax after a busy day. Good restaurants are within walking distance. We've stayed a few times, and recommend a stay to friends and family.

Room Tip: The Inn has 3 floors, we've stayed on them all, and have had great experiences in every room. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelswithJimR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2012

First things first: we will be back and we will be recommending this amazing Inn to everyone we know. Now, as to particulars: we have stayed in many, many places all over the world. No other accommodations can hold a candle to this wonderful Inn.
The owner Pat was gracious and friendly--she was the perfect hostess; informative and helpful when asked, but not intrusive or unmindful of our desire for a quiet getaway. Our fascination with the property was greeted with her invitation to look anywhere and everywhere--including a wonderful hillside 'cellar' used for storage and a wine racks.. The building itself consists of rooms that will effortlessly take you back to more gracious, elegant and comfortable time; yet, this elegance does not make one hesitant to enjoy the furnishings and amenities! You do not feel like you are invading a museum, but, rather, being asked to holiday at the home of a genteel family of impressive means.
Breakfast was pure Heaven and was, once again, enhanced by Pat's respectful attentiveness. The veranda, porches, views, furnishings captivated us from the moment we drove up the winding road to the Inn. There is much to see and explore; if you come looking for me at home here in Long Beach and find me missing, you may just find me on Pat's veranda, on the glider with an iced tea in hand and the scent of roses or fruiting trees wafting around me.
TRULY AS GOOD AS IT GETS!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great--truly! The owners would never compromise on the quality they offer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel for our wedding night because it was fairly close the Pasadena venue where we had the ceremony. Let's break this down:

The good stuff: Lovely place and lovely grounds, it's a bit tricky to find, being tucked on a hillside off of the road. But the building itself is fantastic!!! The decor was impeccable, rooms were very quiet and there was not a lot of traveling sound (because who wants that on their wedding night, right?) our lovely room on the 3rd floor (more about that later) had a large, 2 person spa tub and really classy decor. The linens were great quality and the bed itself was super comfy.

We had a very good breakfast the next day and they were kind to offer us something lactose free (because I am lactose intolerant). Great coffee and fresh fruit, lastly there were complimentary bottles of water and soda in a cooler downstairs. All of this was terrific!

The not-so-great part: Apparently there is a city ordinance that forbids the opening of windows on a 3rd floor (not the hotels fault, for sure). This drove both my husband and I nuts, we are both fresh air fanatics and the room was STUFFY even though they had a ceiling fan and climate control. I hate sleeping with the A/C on all night so it ended up being a little claustrophobic for my taste. Also, the hotel had been very kind to leave us a bottle of champagne (I am guessing it's because of our wedding night though nothing was written or said) but my husband has been sober for 16 years, so it would have been nice to have a non alcoholic option. Again, not horrible, but I could have been really a nice touch.
By far the most disappointing thing was the lady who picks up the phone. WOW I don't know if she just has an unfortunate phone voice, or really does hate speaking to people on the phone but every time I called, she would huff and puff and give a big sigh like to talk to me was the worst inconvenience ever! If it was just one time, then OK whatever, she might just be having a lousy day. But I had to call a few times over the course of a few months and she never sounded remotely pleasant. It makes you a little leery of staying someplace when the reservations desk comes off so surly.
Lastly, and this is SUPER nit picky and I wouldn't mention it if the reservations person hadn't been so sketchy, but not one person wished us well, or congratulated us on our wedding or even acknowledged we had one.. Again, by no means are we entitled to this, but it would have been a nice touch.

Room Tip: If you want fresh air avoid the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redmango43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbexleyoh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I spent a week here. The steep, driveway approach announces you are somewhere secret, special. We loved being removed from the bustle of the world below. And once you open that big old front door and enter the house, you feel like you have somehow acquired your own magnificent, historic Pasadena home.

Guests have free reign to paddle about the place, sustained by coffee, tea, water and soft drinks, homemade cookies and muffins at any hour. There is wine and cheese each evening. Not formal but gracious living at its best. Breakfast is at your convenience and to your own taste. One might prefer yogurt and granola to go with the fresh fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice, or have the excellent chili and egg pie with salsa and guacamole, or french toast, sausages - everything is housemade by the owner, Pat, a fine cook and considerate host. For our 5 am departure there was a breakfast to go secreted in the fridge.

There are a number of spots to sit outside to enjoy the view of the San Gabriel Mountains amid the sound of rushing water and the scent of eucalyptus. Some rooms have porches - we would ask for No. 2 next time. Some have showers or baths or both. This is a magnificent property perfectly located to enjoy the riches of Pasadena and it's proximity to Los Angeles, by car or on LA's growing metro. The nearby Gold Line will take you into the heart of LA in 30 minutes. There are excellent walks and hikes nearby, good restaurants, important architecture, museums and lots of history. We had a splendid time here. Thanks, Pat.

Room Tip: Some rooms have the mountain views and have access to porches. Check the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcbexleyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have stayed in a lot of B&B's over the years and the AV Inn sits near the top. The owner, Pat, has restored this property beautifully. So many B&B are a hodgepodge of poorly executed "remodels" and piecemeal interior/exterior "improvements", leaving the guests wondering why they left their decent homes only to pay money to stay in a place that doesn't hit the mark. The AV Inn hits the mark-it looks great and is run well. If you want to avoid the big LA/Pasadena hotels, then the AV inn is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howlingdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Pasadena
2.1 mi away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
3.2 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 31 in Pasadena
1,359 reviews
2.3 mi away
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
GreenTree Pasadena Inn
#13 of 31 in Pasadena
275 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#6 of 31 in Pasadena
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arroyo Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Vista Inn

Property: Arroyo Vista Inn
Address: 335 Monterey Rd, South Pasadena, CA 91030-3524
Region: United States > California > South Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arroyo Vista Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1910 Craftsman home completely restored with all modern amenities perched on top of a hill on a 2-acre property. Many of the rooms have fabulous views of the city and the mountains. Several rooms have porches or balconies. Several have state of the art spa tubs. All the rooms have luxurious linens and window treatments. The rooms are furnished with a simple yet sophisticated combination of antiques and contemporary furniture. The Inn is centrally located 15 minutes from Downtown Los Angeles and 5 minutes from Pasadena. Vacation travelers will enjoy the fact that we are within one hour's drive of many Southern California attractions - Disneyland, Universal Studios, Getty Center, Huntington Library, Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach, Norton Simon Museum, Regan Library, Old Town Pasadena, Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the South Coast Plaza (shopping). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Arroyo Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing