We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing part of our trip to California”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn San Francisco Airport North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing part of our trip to California”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were extremely disappointed with this hotel. From the moment of our arrival we felt like it put the staff out to help us. Being tourists we thought they would help us with transportation, places to visit etc, but they were unfriendly and far from helpful. As we entered our room it got worse. The rooms smell like Los stale smoke, needed updated and the bathroom was awful! Unclean, sticky floor and plumbing from the 70's! Our toilet ran constantly, the shower faucets were hard to turn on or off and the tub enclosure was disgustingly stained. Another disappointment was the "free" breakfast. Nothing was kept full, most items looked like they had been there for days( not fresh). Even the coffee was watered down! Our last day there we decided to skip the free breakfast and just go to Denny's! Overall bad experience and would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    231
    181
    130
    103
See reviews for
275
182
54
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you need a cheap motel room that serves breakfast for just one night near the airport. This might be for you. Its nothing fancy but its not absolutely horrible either. We got a standard double room. The room and the beds were small (but I'm used to a king). The bathroom appeared to be clean but there was just something off about it. The coffee maker looked gross so we didnt use it. It was a little noisy but we could live with that. As you may read on other reviews you might get a room in the building crossing the railroad tracks. We didnt find this to be a big deal as you have to park closest to your room in most hotels anyway.But if you want to have breakfast in the morning you need to go the main building,so we decided to have it a Dennys if we needed to get in our cars anyway. Its literally walking distance away and rather have that than stand in line for a hot waffle!
All in all it was cheap,adequate and only for one night.

Room Tip: If noise is a problem for you, ask to be away from rooms facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaklyn9811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

If you must be close to the airport, this is an okay option. It's San Francisco so it's not cheap, but it is really close to SFO. Be warned you are on the highway, railway and flight path so its a bit noisy. My room seemed clean enough, bed was large and comfy, front desk was very nice-they let me check in at 11:30am! I probably wouldn't stay here again unless unless I needed the airport location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joybuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed at this place for years and have seen it go from "okay" to 'just bad'. The Hotel in itself needs general cleaning. The bathrooms seemed to be cleaned with diluted cleaner - and could really use some full strength Mr. Clean!!!! The exterior needs to be power washed and painted. The hallways and elevators need to be cleaned and painted. The property is oddly shaped and there are two Hotel buildings, with a railroad track separating them. The grounds also include a large vegetable warehouse. The warehouse and overall property is quite unsightly with pallets, pipes and vegetables tossed/piled about. On one stay I continually heard the forklift beeping as it was loading trucks. I hesitated to book this past trip to SanFran, I was so tired of the place. Instead, I decided to try the SanFran West location. What a difference!!!! The place is clean, the grounds are clean, ample parking, and the staff was really hospitable. I will never stay at the North Hotel again. Someone posted pictures and they are quite true, dirty windows, not so clean bathrooms, etc. The north property is Corporate owned and the West is franchised. The West is much, much better.....The west facility is closer to the airport and about 5 minutes farther from the City, however it is closer to stores and restaurants, the room decor is newer and cleaner too.

Room Tip: Choose a room from La Quinta Inn WEST!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 256cathyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel sits between the rail road on one side, the freeway on the other and SF airport taking off towards the hotel. Lets just say, this has got to be the worst place to put a hotel! Staff were friendly but the place is a bit run down. The 'no smoking rule' is not adhered to as my room smelled like smoke. Don't fall for the reasonable price...it's not worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Joel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is your basic motel and adequate if you get a room away from the freeway.
The first room windows faced the freeway and was noisy. (Why would anyone design a hotel next to a freeway and airport without extra sound protection?) They kindly moved me to a room across the hall, which was much better.

The pluses: fullsize make-yourself Belgian waffles at breakfast, otherwise pretty average. Bed was comfortable and not too high like some "stylish" hotels. Heat worked fine, not noisy. Basically clean room and bathroom. Decent TV and channels. Shuttle service to the airport was on time (every halfhour). Next to Denny's restaurant. A very good price if booked in advance (the online prices two days before my reservation had gone up by almost 2x).

Not so hot: hallways a depressing shades of brown. No frig. No grab bars in shower. Carpet in 2nd room needed repair. Bed was full size, not queen. Very flimsy cheap plastic utensiles for breakfast -- had to tear the waffle to pieces!

Electrical outlet for the bed lamp and radio was extremely loose -- possible fire hazard?

I might stay again -- if I get a good rate.

Room Tip: ask for room NOT facing the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IQ140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Its all about the price...most places have the basics just fine; but need a good price. It is important that the TV is located high enough that it can be viewed from a prone positon in the bed. But, if the cost exceeds the budget one must limit the number of trips or stays; but if the price is such that it is affordable then we can stay more often and stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 29 in South San Francisco
1,915 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
0.6 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#6 of 29 in South San Francisco
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 29 in South San Francisco
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#15 of 29 in South San Francisco
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl...
#17 of 29 in South San Francisco
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn San Francisco Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Francisco Airport North

Property: La Quinta Inn San Francisco Airport North
Address: 20 Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Francisco Airport North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Francisco Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Francisco Airport Hotel South San Francisco
La Quinta San Francisco Airport
La Quinta South San Francisco
South San Francisco La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing