We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for an airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is an airport hotel and most of its guests are only staying one night. We, however, stayed for a week and a half and got to know this property well.

This hotel isn't bad, especially for a Best Western. The lobby is nice but can get very chaotic when hoardes of travelers and tour groups all check in at the same time. It also hosts a LOT of events, so the place gets BUSY.

Rooms:
They're okay. The beds are SMALL - we had a 2 bed queen room and those beds were very small for two people. Our room keys CONSTANTLY were getting deactivated, which lead to a LOT of frustation. The front desk tells you that it's because you put the key next to a phone or credit card, and it will deactivate. Well, they need to get with the program because I stay at a lot of hotels and never have this problem. I always put my room key in my wallet, WITH my other credit cards and near my phone. It's 2014. Everyone has a cc and a smart phone and will PROBABLY put the room key by one of these items. Fix this! Marriott, Holiday Inn, Sheraton, etc all do not have this problem.

Elevator broke down on our last day there, and being on the second floor, we encountered a full elevator EVERY TIME we pushed the button. We had to schlep our heavy luggage down all the stairs and through the restaurant. Very annoying.

Breakfast:
It was okay, pretty standard hotel breakfast, but no waffle maker. The sausage links are NOT good and the milk for the cereal was warm every day. LOVED the gentleman working at the host station in the breakfast area. He was awesome!!

Location:
If you're departing/arriving from SFO, it's a great location. Otherwise? Yeah, no. South San Francisco is a very industrial neighborhood. Lots and lots of truck traffic. It ain't pretty, folks, but it still feels safe. We took the free shuttle to SFO and then caught the BART into SF. A lot of guests do this, so you won't be alone. Just know that if you do this, get off at the first shuttle stop at the airport, then walk to door 6. This leads you DIRECTLY to the BART station, otherwise if you go into the airport, you will have to fuss around with the AirTrain.

As a much faster alternative, we used Uber to get back and forth to SF. A one-way Uber ride from this hotel to Fisherman's Wharf will range from $22-35, depending on the time of day. That's extremely cheap, considering that this hotel is quite a bit of a distance from SF.

There aren't many restaurants in the area -- there's a McDonalds across the street. There's also a Costco within walking distance, so you could hit up the food court for a cheap meal. Otherwise, you'll need to drive. We drove over to Grand Avenue and ate at some of the spots over there.

Gym:
It works. It's your average hotel gym. They have one treadmill, one bike and one climber thing. All equipment works! I'd workout between 6:30-7:30 and there was ALWAYS someone else in there too.

Parking:
It's $7 a day and while parking IN SF proper is very expensive at hotels, I still don't think the $7 is justified. It should be free. This is in an industrial area and they simply charge this "because they can." They will give you a paper parking pass to display on your dash. The parking lot can fill up FAST and finding a spot can be challenging, especially when there is an event going on. A bunch of MegaBuses also park in this lot and take up a good 5-6 spaces. I thought that was odd.

Staff: Really liked the staff here -- all front desk personnel were great and provided us with excellent information about the area. Again, the guy working the breakfast area host station was the BEST. Friendly and remembered our names and room! We will miss him!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OwlYaDoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager650, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

OwlYaDoing, thanks so much for your very thorough review on our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. I am sorry about the key card problem - it has been resolved. Should you come back, please don't forget that you can also utilize the local Bally Total Fitness complimentary. Again, thanks for your full review on the hotel and the area. Jim McGuire, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,047 of 2,039 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

this facility has all the amenities that business and vacation travelers ask for. the daily breakfast has the best variety of items, the lounge/restaurant has a good menu and HD TV screens to watch ongoing sports or newscasts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jas4short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager650, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello jas4short and thanks so much for your great review. We hope to see you again soon!
Jim McGuire, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great stay...class hotel...very accommodating. We always have a great stay at the Grosvenor Hotel. It's near the SF Airport but the airplanes don't effect the comfort of the room. This is an older hotel but is well maintained and efficiently managed. The housekeeping stay even says hello!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager650, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi Gary and thanks so much for your review. We hope you enjoyed the bus to the Paul McCartney concert and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon. Jim McGuire, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Although we were pleased with the location and cleanliness of our room, I was very disappointed with our stay at the Best Western. My parents had booked and payed for the room for us online the day before. Upon arrival, my husband was informed that the card my parents used would not be billed and instead, one of our cards had to be swiped. When questioned why my parents card could not be billed as this night was a gift to us, the woman at the front desk gave us an automated response with no offer of an alternative option. The whole incident was very negative and confusing - had we not shown up they would have billed my parents credit card so why couldn't it be billed when the night was given to us as a gift?! I wanted to leave but my husband was exhausted so we caved and stayed. If you book a room online and RECEIVE A RECEIPT that should be acceptable for payment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager650, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello Daniel. Thanks for your comments. As I mentioned to you in a private email, we apologize for the confusion regarding your reservation. When you made it through the BEST WESTERN reservations number, there were no notes about prepayment. We again apologize for the inconvenience and hope you stay with us again. Jim McGuire, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent our first night in San Francisco at this hotel, conveniently located near the airport. Overall impressions: The hotel was attractive. The lobby was elegant, tastefully decorated. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was on the small side but functional. There is a nominal fee to park, but we would learn that this is a common practice in CA and this was one of least expensive fees we encountered in our two week trip.

The breakfast buffet was excellent. Hot and cold foods. Good variety. Good quality. It gets our vote for Best free Hotel Breakfast.

By San Francisco standards this hotel offers good bang for your buck. Budget friendly. That said, with traffic, it's a ride to Fisherman's Wharf. So you have to weigh your options.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager650, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello K S and thank you much for your nice review on our hotel! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit! Jim McGuire, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel was very close to airport, with free shuttle service. Room was very nice and beds were very comfortable. The free breakfast was full on and very good. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that needed a hotel close to the airport. Shuttle service was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager650, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Linda, what a nice review - thanks so much! We appreciate your feedback. Jim McGuire, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel staff was great. The hotel was right down the street from where I needed to return my rental car. Blanca was the one that checked me in and she made sure that some mail that I had would be mailed out the next day since I was leaving at 5:00 in the morning. Also the shuttle was right in time. Also they had a light breakfast available for me since I was leaving before the hotel breakfast was served. Also the shuttle was right on time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcloughlin0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager650, General Manager at Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Mcloughlin, thanks a lot for your nice review. I will share it with Bianca and the entire staff. See you again! Jim McGuire, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
979 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#5 of 28 in South San Francisco
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#10 of 28 in South San Francisco
333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#8 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel

Address: 380 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South San Francisco
#2 Best Value Hotel in South San Francisco
#3 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
#4 Romantic Hotel in South San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range: £105 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient hotel of 3 Best Western "Director's Award" and 11 consecutive "Excellent Housekeeping Awards". Newly renovated rooms, restaurant, bar and meeting space. Location, location, location! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Hotel offers all the amenities you need for business or pleasure! Restaurant, bar, business center, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary shuttle to SFO. PLEASE NOTE that our front entrance and porte cochere are currently under renovation and our entrance is located at the rear of the hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South San Francisco
South San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing