We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have stayed at this Residence Inn several times and find it to be a very pleasant experience. Yes, it is 10 miles away from downtown San Francisco but they do offer a free shuttle if you want to avoid driving there. Another way to get into the city is to take BART which has a station in South San Francisco. It is about 10 minutes from the hotel. We had a one bedroom suite which gave us lots of room. It was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast is good and there is a lot of variety. The staff is very nice and helpful. We will continue to stay there on our trips to the bay area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your comments! We are happy to hear from our repeat guests. I do hope that you will come back and visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    111
    65
    17
    4
See reviews for
125
57
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for a week with another family for a bit of work and a vacation. It was a pleasant surprise to see the bay, as the property backs the water. Ask for a bay view! You can eat outside on the back patio area, and look out onto the water, very nice. BBQ grill is available for quests to BBQ on - always a welcome feature at a RI. Leave the back gate, and you are on a paved pathway around the bay. A great amenity.

The breakfast was the standard Residence Inn fare. Nothing too fancy, but better than a continental breakfast. Just know, as usual, the lines around the waffle maker. It is always interesting to watch peoples manners around "free" food!

We never used the complimentary van that is talked about on this RI's website. They have a van that runs to the airport on a regular schedule. The van that takes guests into town only runs on Friday and Saturday. If you need an accessible van, you have to arrange for one ahead of time.

Apparently this RI just went through a renovation. Everything was brand new. One of the staff told us we were the first one to stay in our room since the renovation - and it showed - as there were a few issues. The light switch is a motion detector, which is good, except at night, with the lights off, and if someone rolls over on the sleeper sofa - all the lights come on. No fun at 2am!. A majority of the kitchen wares had not been stocked yet and a few of the electric cords had not been unwrapped / plugged in. Whoever was the final quality control check for the renovation was asleep at the switch. I think we ended up being the final quality control check. The staff was quick to fix the problems, however, we should not have had to do someone else's job. Not a deal killer at the end of the day, and once they have cycled a few guests through the rooms, I'm sure these issues will be resolved.

If you are at this property for vacation - there is so much to do in San Francisco. We hit all the usual spots (Fisherman's Wharf. Pier 39, Alcatraz (get your tickets early if you are planning on going in the summer - the tickets were sold out for a month), Trolley Cars, etc. A few of items we had not planned on were; renting bikes to ride across the Golden Gate bridge to Sausalito and riding the ferry back to Fisherman's Wharf, Muir woods (great walk through the Redwoods [but get there early or parking will be a nightmare]) and then an unexpected side trip to the very quaint Muir beach - a must do, and a day trip to the Golden Gate Park.

It was nice to come back to this Residence Inn every night and have the space to spread out. Other than the few hiccups I wrote about earlier, I have no hesitations recommending this property. Nice staff, clean and new rooms and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view - 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
502 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This trip found me needing a new hotel because I booked late . Took this because it was close to the airport . Not a good choice .

It is located close to no restruants or shopping . Had to drive to do anything .

It was under renovation, dirty and smelled but the price never changed .

And the price was certainly not cheap !!! Nicer residence inns just done the road for much less .

I will book earlier next time someplace else .

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We appreciate your commenting regarding your stay with us at the Oyster Point Residence Inn by Marriott. Please accept my apology for the issues our renovation caused you. I feel bad that you did not have a completely enjoyable visit. We do hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future and give us another opportunity to deliver on a quality experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a good family hotel that offers great value for money. Our family stayed here June 2013 at their 2 Bedroom Suite. It is in a good location, near the airport and a fast drive to the city. It is located in a business district where there are a number of office buildings. It is about 10-15 minutes drive to the SFO airport. We rented a car so it was easy for us to move around the San Francisco area. They also offer free breakfast everyday (which is simple but adequate) and snacks during certain days when there are evening socials. Staff was very helpful. Our suite was large and more than adequate for us. It was nice and clean. This hotel is actually a good choice for families who are looking for great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevators and the reception area are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Two of us stayed a single night at the end of our week in San Francisco. We had minimal expectations for this stay, and they weren't exceeded. The room we reserved was not ready at check-in time and, as we had tight time constraints -- needing to change clothes and return to San Francisco for an event -- we opted to switch to a smaller room that was ready. As our stay was a short one, this wasn't a major problem for us. The room was clean, comfortably appointed, and the breakfast buffet offerings were typical for this type hotel. This isn't in any way a "destination" hotel, but it served our need for airport proximity. In the morning, after breakfast, we were a mere 10 minute drive away from the SFO rental car return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toreadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
.
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Residence Inn Oyster Point.
I am sorry that you room was not avaliable upon your arrival, but we are glad that our location worked well for your travels out of SFO. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Everything was fine. There is a free shuttle to the airport which is very helpful. Rooms are new, and well done, exceeds regular Residence Inn standards. "Bay View" is actually the view on the puddle connected somewhere far away with the bay ;)

Room Tip: bay view recommended, other side - highway
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RafalXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Residence Inn Oyster Point. I am happy to hear that the rooms were nice and good service. We are just completing our room and lobby renovation and are very excited about all the upgrades that we have completed. Please do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights during Los Angeles to San Francisco fly drive 10 day holiday.

Chose this hotel as the prices of the hotels in the city were expensive and not as good as the price offered here. Also, was attracted by the idea of a free shuttle bus to and from airport and also to and from the town.

Room was one of the best I have ever stayed in. Lovely view of the bay. Quiet, homely with all facilities to be expected. Hotel was supposed to be having renovations when we were there but I saw no evidence of this. Stayed in a double bed with my wife. My 9 month old had the sofa bed, all were good and we all slept well.

Breakfast was standard and helped us to start each day on the right foot. Staff were also extremely helpful and friendly.

There was a large free car park which I used one night. The other reason I chose this hotel was that it is recommended not to have a hire car in SF as the parking charges are very high. As this was the end of our trip, I dropped off the car back to the airport the next morning and used the hotel shuttle to return back to the hotel. This took 1 hour all in all.

In the end, we never used the hotel shuttle into town. Instead we took the hotel shuttle to airport each day then paid $36 for 2 return tickets in the Bart (the local metro) into Downtown. This meant, including the time to or from town and then to and from airport to hotel took an hour which was longer than we would have liked. This was the only downside of the location to this hotel. Although the hotel shuttle to town had regular trips in and out of town, we missed the 9am one and had to wait til 10.45am for the next one, which was too much time to waste. It didn't run on the Sunday either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Wow thank you for the 5 Star rating of our Residence Inn Oyster Point. We are so happy to hear that your room was one of the best you have ever experienced. We are just completing a multi-million renovation of all our guest rooms and lobby space. We are glad you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle. We do have a complimentary shuttle on Friday's and Saturday's to Union Square in downtown San Francisco. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.1 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/...
#8 of 29 in South San Francisco
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 29 in South San Francisco
934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 29 in South San Francisco
1,915 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Oyster Point
Inn at Oyster Point
#5 of 29 in South San Francisco
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Address: 1350 Veterans Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-1954
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront Hotel
Residence Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing