We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay this July and found the hotel to be very clean, cozy and quiet. The staff was lovely and our room was very comfortable. This property is located in an industrial area, however we were on a road trip and had our own vehicle. The hotel does not charge for parking versus most hotels in the city. It was easy to get into the city via BART and we really loved coming home to a quiet spot away from the craziness of the city. The pool and hot tub offer a beautiful bay view and we loved taking a dip each night, it was a great way to wind down. It was also convenient to have a small kitchen as we did a lot of hiking and packed lunches etc for the day.

Room Tip: Bay view on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaWadell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    108
    62
    17
    4
See reviews for
118
56
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks in a one bedroom suite with our kids while my husband was working a few train stops away. Hotel and room were recently renovated, and all looked clean and nicely finished. We were looking for the extras, which this hotel had: kitchen, grocery shopping service, coin laundry, and shuttles. A bonus they serve an 'evening reception' 3 nights a week - which served as dinner for my toddler. Staff were all wonderful and helpful. Managed to get my suite cleaned early mornings to work well with the nap of my 3 month old. Nice location by a walking path along the water, unfortunately not walking distance to any other amenities/dining/shopping etc.

Be at least 30 minutes early for the Friday/Saturday shuttle to union square. It appears to allow 8 seats per hotel, so it always leaves someone behind early in the morning and end of day (at least). The first day we tried it, it only took one group (a family of 7), and left at least 20 behind. Same deal on the way back - be at least 30 mins early, since it fills up. It's a shame, because both Saturdays we stayed, this hotel alone would have been very close to filling the shuttle - not just the 8 seats allotted to this hotel. Seems the hotel would be much better served by offering just one trip each way - but with a full bus for just this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer0739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Was caught in the middle of a tight project so didn't quite catch up on the outdoor-patio experience (also real cold & raining)..but I always wanted to figure out what the Suite with the water-front view really was. Read a traveller-review that said ''twas a puddle-view. A puddle that connects to the 'real' bay. Figured out : )
Rest all pleasant. Breakfast adequate, nice fire-place in the larger rooms. Spacious parking lot.
p.s. think I stayed Oct '09. A week.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank breadbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We are long time loyal Marriott customers, and were disappointed with this particular property. It has recently undergone an upgrade, but many of the features have missed the mark and are not up to the usual Residence standards. What happened to the wonderful Marriott beds and linens? The bed was small, the sheets were coarse and uncomfortable, and the towels were thin. But we weren't getting much sleep anyway, because when someone gets up in the middle of the night, the sensors in the light switches turn the lights on. They must be turned off manually. Try as we might, we could not disable them. However, the main reason we were not getting any sleep was the bedside "night light clock." Handy if you want to stay up all night reading (from anywhere in the room), but if you turn it off, you will not be able to read the clock. As for the kitchen, beware. The microwave only has an express mode, settings for minutes only. This is manageable, sort of, it just requires extra vigilance. Housekeeping dumps ice in freezer after every guest, fair enough, but it must be turned on again by you, the new guest, and it takes all day to produce a glassful of ice. However, the staff is wonderful and that's the most important thing of all.

Room Tip: Ask for eastside building overlooking the bay. Rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us at the Oyster Point Residence Inn by Marriott. So pleased to hear that the staff was friendly and made your stay enjoyable. . I feel bad that you did not have a completely enjoyable visit due to the features of our recnetly updated suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our first stay at a Residence Inn and it wont be our last. The living room/kitchen and bedroom arrangement was perfect. The rooms were well appointed, clean and very comfortable. The included breakfast was a great bonus. The breakfast on Sunday, however, was poorly run. Not enough food or plates for the number of guests resulting in long lines. Inconsistent food quality at best.

We really wanted a hotel in downtown San Francisco, but couldn't find one in our budget due to the San Francisco Marathon. This was an awesome choice with easy access to downtown. We would gladly consider the hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hope that you will return for more memories and appreciate the time you took to let our readers read your overview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have stayed at this Residence Inn several times and find it to be a very pleasant experience. Yes, it is 10 miles away from downtown San Francisco but they do offer a free shuttle if you want to avoid driving there. Another way to get into the city is to take BART which has a station in South San Francisco. It is about 10 minutes from the hotel. We had a one bedroom suite which gave us lots of room. It was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast is good and there is a lot of variety. The staff is very nice and helpful. We will continue to stay there on our trips to the bay area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your comments! We are happy to hear from our repeat guests. I do hope that you will come back and visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for a week with another family for a bit of work and a vacation. It was a pleasant surprise to see the bay, as the property backs the water. Ask for a bay view! You can eat outside on the back patio area, and look out onto the water, very nice. BBQ grill is available for quests to BBQ on - always a welcome feature at a RI. Leave the back gate, and you are on a paved pathway around the bay. A great amenity.

The breakfast was the standard Residence Inn fare. Nothing too fancy, but better than a continental breakfast. Just know, as usual, the lines around the waffle maker. It is always interesting to watch peoples manners around "free" food!

We never used the complimentary van that is talked about on this RI's website. They have a van that runs to the airport on a regular schedule. The van that takes guests into town only runs on Friday and Saturday. If you need an accessible van, you have to arrange for one ahead of time.

Apparently this RI just went through a renovation. Everything was brand new. One of the staff told us we were the first one to stay in our room since the renovation - and it showed - as there were a few issues. The light switch is a motion detector, which is good, except at night, with the lights off, and if someone rolls over on the sleeper sofa - all the lights come on. No fun at 2am!. A majority of the kitchen wares had not been stocked yet and a few of the electric cords had not been unwrapped / plugged in. Whoever was the final quality control check for the renovation was asleep at the switch. I think we ended up being the final quality control check. The staff was quick to fix the problems, however, we should not have had to do someone else's job. Not a deal killer at the end of the day, and once they have cycled a few guests through the rooms, I'm sure these issues will be resolved.

If you are at this property for vacation - there is so much to do in San Francisco. We hit all the usual spots (Fisherman's Wharf. Pier 39, Alcatraz (get your tickets early if you are planning on going in the summer - the tickets were sold out for a month), Trolley Cars, etc. A few of items we had not planned on were; renting bikes to ride across the Golden Gate bridge to Sausalito and riding the ferry back to Fisherman's Wharf, Muir woods (great walk through the Redwoods [but get there early or parking will be a nightmare]) and then an unexpected side trip to the very quaint Muir beach - a must do, and a day trip to the Golden Gate Park.

It was nice to come back to this Residence Inn every night and have the space to spread out. Other than the few hiccups I wrote about earlier, I have no hesitations recommending this property. Nice staff, clean and new rooms and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view - 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bentpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.0 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/...
#8 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#10 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at Oyster Point
Inn at Oyster Point
#5 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Address: 1350 Veterans Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront Hotel
Residence Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing