We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The staff at this place is very friendly and competent. The location is very convenient for folks visiting the SF area. The rooms are clean and have the extras (fridge, safe) that make a stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harsh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel at the beginning of a long trip from San Francisco to Stanford University, Yosemite, Las Vegas, and then finally the Grand Canyon.
The airport shuttle service that the hotel provides is very nice because it brought us to the hotel from the airport and allowed us to take the shuttle the next morning to the rental car center to pick up our rented vehicle. The people at the front desk were very lovely and friendly since they helped us with directions and gave us many tips on navigating The City.
We arrived at the hotel on New Years Eve and originally requested a room with two beds. Upon arriving we realized that we had been given a room with only one bed and also that the air conditioner was not working since it was 80+ degrees in the room. Therefore we quickly called the front desk and they said they would send the key right up for the new room. We were shown to a double bed room and were able to verify that the air conditioner was working properly. The new room was clean and the beds were very comfortable (a great place to relax on a hectic NYE and be able to rest before our long journey commenced). The next morning we discovered that the toilet was plugged and would not flush. This didn't bother us much since we returned to the hotel the next night around 10pm and there were bathrooms in the lobby. That night it seemed the toilet was ok again.
All in all, this was a nice place to stay for two nights and has a great location next to the airport and near The City that allowed us to visit many amazing places all in a day: The Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf, Twin Peaks, and Chinatown. Would definitely stay here again because of the friendly staff, the clean rooms, the included airport shuttles, and for the fact that there is an iHop right across the street!

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank WorldTravelerJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I’ve been staying at Holiday Inns a lot recently because they’ve consistently been very nice at a reasonable price. While it was still an OK stay it was easily the worst experience I’ve had at a Holiday Inn brand hotel in the past 15 years. The biggest issue was the unpleasant smells in my room; I use the plural because it seemed like there were multiple issues and some areas of the room had a slightly different unpleasant smell than others. The simplest thing to describe it as would be “musty” but to be more specific, it really reminded me of what my wetsuit and equipment smell like after a week of scuba diving in the ocean and being damp for a week straight…not a pleasant smell at all. I thought I’d get used to the smell so I didn’t complain or ask for a different room but unfortunately I was wrong and it bothered me the whole time. Another issue was that the deadbolt seemed to have a mind of its own and come out the first time you turned the door handle and required futzing with the handle to get it back in. A lightbulb in the bathroom was also burned out. The staff wasn’t bad but were slightly below average on the friendliness scale. Having to pay $10 for parking is annoying but I knew that ahead of time so it’s not really a complaint. No free goodies for gold members. Breakfast truly wasn’t out early so don’t plan on eating before an early flight (normally at least the cereal is out ahead of schedule). The location is great for the airport, especially if you’re dropping off a rental car since the rental car return is even closer to the hotel than the airport. Despite the convenient location I definitely won’t be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubaBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear ScubaBucky,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Francisco.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

As an employee I was looking to find the best rate so stayed at the hotel. Now although was 30 minutes drive to downtown it was a straight highway and easy to find. The hotel was so much better than I imagined and I wish we had had more time to enjoy the hotel more. The rooms were very large with 2 double beds and the bathroom was lovely. The lobby area was a lot bigger than other expresses I have stayed in before and then in the morning we realised that the hotel had lovely views over a lake out the back. If the weather had been a bit warmer to we would have made use of the swimming pool which looked a good size

Room Tip: Get view of lake out the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middlesmith18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We generally stay at Hilton or Marriott, but we just needed one night at a place with park and fly by the airport.

I was very pleasantly surprised at the level of service and comfort.

Speedy fast wifi.

Hallway smelled like paint. Room a bit musty.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Justusbraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were looking for something clean and up to date and that is what we got. This hotel looks like it has been recently remodeled and the rooms were spotless. Great jobs by the cleaning staff, front desk staff and the people who cooked the breakfasts that were provided free of charge. In fact the breakfasts far exceeded our expectations with scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, cereals, toast, bagels, fruits, yogurt and juices. I ate more than was normal for me for breakfast, but that is certainly not their fault. The shuttle to the airport ran on a regular schedule and was just a short ride to the airport or the BART station at the airport. Nice location, but there are only a couple other choices to eat nearby. One is the McDonalds, next door and the IHOP, which across the street. If you are willing to walk a block in the dark in a light industrial area, there is also a restaurant at the Holiday Inn Airport North. The food there was also pretty good. Otherwise, you will need to take a taxi to something better. We liked this hotel and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyWanny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEXS_Management, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay. We hope that you enjoyed your trip and will visit us again when you return to the San Francisco Area. You are correct, we did complete a renovation in 2011.

When you plan to return to the area and if you need any reservation assistance please do not hesitate to email me directly at RajL@expressSFO.com.


Thank you,

Raj L.
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I have an injury which makes it difficult to sleep comfortably without pain but this Holiday Inn Express mattress made it possible - perfect firmess not too hard or soft, no pressure points, and you can rest in one position for hours, so good Im buying one for myself.
Thank you Holiday Inn Express for such an incredibly comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEXS_Management, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time that you took out of your busy schedule to rave about our hotel. If you are interested in more information on our mattresses, please feel free to contact me.

We hope that you will visit us again when you are in the San Francisco Area. If you may have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me personally at the hotel or you may email me at RajL@ExpressSFO.com.

Regards,

Raj L.
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl...
#15 of 28 in South San Francisco
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,076 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco  Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francis...
#16 of 28 in South San Francisco
574 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#10 of 28 in South San Francisco
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North

Address: 373 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range: £83 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport North is centrally located just one mile north of San Francisco International Airport and minutes from San Francisco's world famous attractions and financial district. Complimentary amenities with each night's stay include a free hot morning breakfast buffet, free San Francisco International Airport and BART station shuttle service, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and free use of the hotel's 24 hour business center.The hotel also offers guests an expanded fitness room and whirlpool spa. In-room amenities in all of the the hotel's newly renovated oversized guestrooms include a luxury pillow-top mattress, 32" flat panel television, microwave/refrigerator, digital safe, cordless phone, two-line speakerphone with data-port and voice mail, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, and a large 48" executive desk with an ergonomic chair. A coin-op guest laundry facility and ATM are also available on-site.Park Stay & Go Packages are available, which can include up to 14 days of covered parking beyond your actual stay at the hotel.San Francisco City, Alcatraz, and Napa Valley Room and Tour Packages are available, which include both accommodations and tour pick-up and drop-off services from and to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North Hotel South San Francisco
Holiday Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing