We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean hotel, stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean hotel, stay here”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I will be honest, I read some of the reviews before arriving at the hotel and I really didn't know what to expect. After staying there I am guessing the low reviews that are left must be some very isolated bad experiences. I had a great stay, and great experiences from start to finish. I wish I could remember the name of the person that checked me in. She was great, and over the top friendly. A great welcome after a long day in SF. We got to our room, it was very clean and a good sized room. Everything looked updated and fresh. I will agree the internet is slow, but it's free. We stayed at another hotel while in SF and they wanted $12.95 a night. Parking wasn't bad $10 a night, make it $11, it is taxed. You will see no complaints from me about my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnIntlArpt, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jeffery_03,
Thank you for your honest review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our competitive parking prices. Hope to see you on your next trip to San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn San Francisco Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    203
    177
    106
    84
See reviews for
115
146
82
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at this holiday for one night after my flight from the UK so I could rest for the night before driving to my final destination.

Everything is clean and the staff were courteous and helpful, special thanks to the guy in reception who helped me out with toiletries as my suitcase didn't arrive with me on the flight.

Room was large and the bed was comfortable. The bar was busy and had a good atmosphere too, breakfast was fine if a little over priced. Car parking was $10.00, room rates average for an airport location. This hotel was very close to the freeway which for me was an added bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EODUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnIntlArpt, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear EODUK,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations and provide a comfortable environment during your layover.
Safe Travels,
Holiday Inn SFO Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have been a holiday in platuim member for over 25 years, I made reservations at the San Francisco airport holiday inn but got tied up at work and forgot to cancel the reservation. I called a day after the day I was suppose to stay there and asked for a refund because it was an honest mistake, they told me no so I contacted holiday inn and they said they would see what they could do which was nothing. I average over 60 nights a year for 25 years at holiday inns, so with a slap in the face I will NO longer stay at any holiday inn properties

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnIntlArpt, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear James R,
Thank you for taking out the time to leave us a review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Our hotel has subscribed to a program where each guest receives a reminder email a day before they are supposed to check-in. We are just following company policy to be fair to all guests.
Thank you for your understanding.
Holiday Inn San Francisco Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is great. I liked it from the beginning. Check-In was easy and super friendly staff was helping me out. They offer free parking, compimentary breakfast and Wifi. Yes it's all for free compare to some other hotels in the neighborhood.

I didn't got a bayview room but at least a very good rate for rooms in this area. The Wifi is great and fast. Staff is very helpful. My room was very spacious and clean. They offer an outdoor pool, which I dont like to much, because its in the middle of the driveway to the hotel but you can at least cool down if you want to :)

Also they offer free airport shuttle service. If you want to go there and just hang out, just take the shuttle.

Breakfast is great with a big choice but unfortunatly the breakfast room is to small. They have some more seating available in the lobby. They server hot coffee 24h a day, which i kinda like. Late afternoon you will find some cookies in the lobby.

Even that the hotels is close to the airport and to the freeway, I didnt had any noise problems from either side.

I can recommend it. If you want to go downtown SF, just a short drive away you can find the next BART station and take the train there.

Room Tip: Good room would be one with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is no place for the business traveler, assuming that you will need to use the free WiFi.
The only thing that can be said good about it is that it is free. Of course, you get what you pay for (or don't pay for).
I needed to connect to my home office, the service was so very slow that I called the front desk. They tried (or so they said they did) but the service was still bad. I called the front desk and asked if there were an internet cafe nearby.
They told me that I should go across the street to the Four Points Sheraton and use their WiFi.
HUH??
I am a guest at the Holiday Inn,,,NOT at the Four Points Sheraton.
Such audacity!!
Also, I returned back to my room at 3:00 pm only to find that the room had not been made up.
There is no reason whatsoever that ANY hotel room should not be made up by 3:00pm.
They actually sounded surprised when they came to my door to ask if my room had been made up and found out that it was not.
If you need a place (very) close to SF airport for only one night, stay here. Otherwise, stay away.
The $10 per night parking fee did not help matters any....especially when you can not find any available spaces to park in!

Room Tip: There are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumpy527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Grumpy527,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate issues with the WiFi prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Where do I begin… My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in May. We were there for a business conference with a bit of leisure time squeezed in. The location of the hotel is OK, it’s very close to the airport, but we were never bothered by any noise or traffic. The parking situation is OK as well. $10 a night to park, but that’s significantly cheaper than many of the other hotels in the area and city. Finding a parking spot can be a little difficult at times, but we always got one. Our flight got in around 10am, so we arrived at the hotel between 11:30 and noon, I completely forgot check-in wasn’t until 3pm, but they had a room ready and the girl was nice enough to let us take it early.

Now let me go into the reasons why we won’t be choosing this hotel again. For the most part the customer service SUCKS, the nicest people there were the two maid ladies that did our floor everyday. Our TV remote control was very unresponsive and the battery door was screwed shut, so we figured the batteries were most likely dead. I had to call the front desk THREE times over the span of an hour and a half in order to get a new remote. Being there on a business conference we had a lot of computer gear and professional items and because there are no in room safes we declined maid service during our stay. A few days in I had to call the front desk to ask for a set of fresh towels. It took them nearly an hour for someone to bring them to us. As far as I can tell each room has a mini refrigerator. Don’t expect a nice cold beverage to come out of that fridge. Our sodas got cool at best. I was even afraid to drink the milk we had left overnight in the fridge because it was so warm. Since we had to use ice to cool everything, we got tired of drinking out of the tiny plastic cups they provide; we ended up buying ourselves two glass glasses from Walgreens, just so they would hold enough ice and beverage. The room itself wasn’t impressive. The sink, closet, and bathroom set up feels so tiny and squished. The configuration of that area is not comfortable and honestly feels somewhat claustrophobic. The wallpaper was peeling in spots, the air vent was dirty, the towel rack was missing bars and was bent like some kids were hanging on it, you could see through the paint in the bathroom. THE #1 MOST FRUSTRATING THING ABOUT THIS HOTEL WAS THE INTERNET. It boasts “free wifi” but it is so terrible there might as well not be any. Being there on a business trip we needed to use our Google ChromeCast to put things on the TV’s larger screen. They have a wonderful set up with HDMI and AV jacks right in front of the console, but good luck trying to figure out how to use them. The TV was so terribly sluggish it took us at least 20 minutes just to figure out how to change the video source over. The remote they give you is not for the TV. It's a 3rd party remote that doesn’t allow you access to the menu screens, you have to figure it out by using the buttons on the side of the TV. When we finally got our device connected to the TV the wifi they provide is so bad it would not work to transfer the display from the computer to the TV. Every night my husband tried to figure out a work around and every night it was one frustration after another. He is a wireless networking guy and he seriously considered speaking to management about allowing him 10 minutes in their computer room to fix the wifi.

The food from the attached restaurant is inconsistent. We ordered the same appetizer on two different occasions because the first night we had it it was delicious. The second time we ordered it it came soggy and the toppings were only on about a quarter of the appetizer. I ended up taking it back because it was the one thing my husband was really looking forward to; they re-made it without any problems. They are nice enough to allow you to call in your order and then walk down there to pick it up rather than pay all the room service fees and tip.

All in all, don’t expect any sense of luxury from this hotel unless you plan to stay in the lobby the whole time. Don’t expect to get any work done either unless you can provide your own internet or don’t rely on computers. It was disappointing. If you’re dead set on a Holiday Inn there are some others in the area that might serve you better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neenah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Neenah S,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so pleased you liked the convenience of our location and the friendliness of our housekeeping staff. The issues you have raised about the in-room amenities, internet connection, level of service, and food selections are very troubling since they seem to be an exception from our daily high standards. We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention as we can now focus on improving them and preventing similar situations to happen. We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring a positive stay experience during your future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel works well for overnight before early flight out of SFO. It's clean, reasonably priced, has a shuttle that runs every half hour starting at 4:00 AM. Restaurant (Houlihans) has extensive menu and food is well prepared. Large bar area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport-North
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#11 of 28 in South San Francisco
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton San Francisco Airport
Four Points By Sheraton San Fran...
#15 of 28 in South San Francisco
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
950 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport
Address: 275 S Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-6703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn San Francisco International Airport North is located in the birthplace of Biotech and ideally situated for travelers. It is adjacent to the South San Francisco Conference Center, just 1.5 Miles from the San Francisco International Airport, a short distance to DowntownSan Francisco, Less than 30 minutes from Silicon Valley, right off Highway 101, with easy access to Interstate 280 and 380. The hotel features 224 spacious rooms, a brand new lobby with marble floors, fireplace, and all accommodations are thoughtfully appointed with modern amenities such as Overnight Parking at $10.95 including tax, Free High Speed Internet Access,Free Airport Shuttle Service, and 24 Hour Fitness Room. Along with the South San Francisco Conference Center s 16,500 square feet of premium state-of-art Conference Facilities, we offer 6 additional rooms totaling 23,000 sq. Ft. Of Meeting Space. A friendly welcome awaits families and tourists at our hotel. We are located near many tourist attractions such as Fisherman s Wharf, Chinatown, Golden Gate Bridge, Harding Park Golf Course, SBC Park, home of the San Francisco Giants, Monster Park...Go 49ers!, Great America Amusement Park, and the Cow Palace. For business travelers, we are near Genentech, Amgen, Cell Genesys, and United Airlines Western Hub offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco - Intl Airport Hotel South San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco Airport
South San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn South San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing