We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North
New York, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Very Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had an overnight stay between SFO flights. Called hotel from SFO for the shuttle bus and it arrived on schedule. Hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport on the bus. Checkin was friendly and efficient. There are several buildings on the property surrounding adjacent courtyards. I had requested in my booking a room on the south side of the property away from the train tracks, and that's what we got - no train noise whatsoever. It was a large room, complete with sofa and sitting area, king bed, coffee maker and mini-fridge. Good lighting, comfortable bed, reasonably-sized bathroom with tub and in-bathroom vanity. Good housekeeping. Complimentary breakfast was one of the better ones around - comparable to what you would get at a Hampton Inn - with eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, etc. Yes, the hotel had a few dings here and there, but overall it was in pretty good shape and the price can't be beat. Free wifi worked great. All in all, a very good value. My only caveat is that the area is somewhat desolate at night and there is no controlled access between the parking lot and the buildings, so anyone can come into the property at any time. Also, access to the rooms is from an outside hallway, and the doors to most rooms are visible from the courtyard - a potential security concern, especially for a solo female traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side of the property, away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrza04a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us at Comfort Suites SFO-North. Thank you for writing such a nice comment and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    202
    152
    56
    57
See reviews for
151
138
49
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked a room with 2 King bed on the way to SF. Arrived late night 10:30p with wife and 2 kids.. Found out room has smoke smell and wanted to change the room and was told no room available with 2 beds. Front desk person refused to call manager at home for permission to give us 2 room s ( each with a single bed ). Left the hotel without staying at midnight, very frustratred and disappointment.
Called the front desk manager ( Khalif) next morning, left 2 messages and he never called back.
Worst ever customer service!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank papawin522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We deeply regret to hear that the room you received at check-in did not meet our high standards of cleanliness. Unfortunately, we could not offer you any other alternative, for were booked for the night; and we understand that you decided not to stay at our hotel. So, we had contacted customer relations and refunded the points you used to pay for the room, back to your account.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and inform us of your unfortunate experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Found the airport shuttle service timely, courteous. Clean rooms. A bit noisy wiith the train tracks near the hotel. Great breakfast and very helpful staff. Location is ideal for travelers using SFO as shuttle ride is only 10 minutes or less and runs on the half hour

Room Tip: get a room on the side of the hotel away from the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickyw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
I am extremely happy to hear that our location and amenities were very instrumental in making your stay with us pleasant. Thank you for writing such a nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I used some rewards points for this two day stay. The first day was pretty uneventful. The second night we were there, a bunch of loud rowdy and I believe inebriated people checked in next door at 12:30am. Over the next hour or so, I called the desk three times, the last time they were going to call the police. I finally opened my door at close to two in the morning and informed the three people standing right in front of it (eating pizza,drinking beer & talking), that prior to one of them banging on our door at 12:30am, we had been sleeping!
I loved the man at the front desk both mornings whom I believe may have been a manager (wearing a tie), he was very helpful and had a great sense of humor!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
It is always nice to hear that one of our staff members was very helpful in making your stay comfortable and pleasant. I am sure that he will be delighted to hear of your nice comments.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at the Comfort inn at 121 Grand the end of Oct 2013. The room was clean, bathrooms were clean. Bed was comfortable enough. I didn't like the fact I was stuck in a room with 2 king beds so there was no where but a bed where I could lounge.

Breakfast was good. Hot eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, oj & apple juice, english muffins & muffins, along with coffee.

The hotel is situated near airport so getting to rental car drop off is a breeze. Not really anything to near which kind of sucks if one doesn't have a car.

TV channels were a bit low. I would have expected much more in todays technology time. The room had a 42 inch flat screen tv which was nice but they didn't take advantage of the HD features so are a bit behind the 8 ball on this.

The other issue I have is they charge 6.60 for parking per day. While this isn't an enormous amount, with all the actives (NONE) near the location, and its proximity from anything this seems to be the hotel just trying to grab a few more bucks from the patrons.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We at Comfort Suites are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Not bad for the price in San Francisco. The room looked like it had recently been renovated. It was clean and the bed was comfy. Smelled musty when we arrived but turned fan on continuous and it aired out nicely. We were on the side away from the trains. Paying for parking was a drag but the hot breakfast was a nice surprise so that balanced out. The hot tub was great and stayed open late. :) Staff was pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from RR tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank violetendency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We always enjoy hearing positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here because we wanted to be close to SFO for an early morning flight. Location worked well for that. The room was clear and comfortable. The staff attentive and helpful. Morning breakfast quite satisfactory. Only complaint is that the rooms on our side of the property faced the CalTran rail lines and station, and the resulting noise was quite noticeable, on into the late hours. If I had know the situation in advance, I would have requested one of the rooms on the opposite side of the building, where I believe the noise level would have been better.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South San Francisco hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites -- South San Francisco
Quality Inn & Suites -- South Sa...
#9 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#10 of 28 in South San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North
Address: 121 E Grand Ave, South San Francisco, CA 94080-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North for your next business trip, family vacation or romantic retreat to South San Francisco.At our hotel near San Francisco Airport, enjoy our peaceful deluxe rooms, an array of modern services and features, friendly hospitality and value-added packages for the ultimate Bay Area escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North Hotel South San Francisco
Comfort Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Comfort Inn
Comfort Suites South San Francisco
South San Francisco Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing