We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North
South San Francisco
1 review
“Smokey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here twice. Each time in different non-smoking rooms. Both rooms smelled of smoke. Area has easy access, but is nosey. Trains and planes at all hours. Maintenance of rooms is sub par. Easy to get to!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
I am sorry to hear that every time you check -into a room, it smelled of smoke; although, our non-smoking policy has a hefty penalty, few guests still smoke in rooms or outside of the rooms with their doors open.
Our housekeeping department is doing a great job in deep cleaning all our rooms and shampooing the carpets to get rid of the smell.
I hope you will give us another chance when you are next in town for us to regain your trust and welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    202
    154
    57
    58
See reviews for
152
139
49
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I found this hotel because they had 2 king size beds in a room which was great for a family of 5 with kids. Daily breakfast met our expectation. We loved the waffle station. Some reviewers complained about the noise from the trains. Yes, our room was right behind it but no window faced that direction. I used ear plugs during sleep so I didn't notice any noise from the train at all. Comparing with the cost around the area, I think I've gotten a pretty good value from this hotel.

The room and the bathroom looked clean. The daily room cleaning service met our expectation.

The parking space is a little tight for a bigger car like a minivan. However, we had no problem finding a spot every evening when we were back to the hotel.

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay. If we visit the area again, we will consider booking this hotel again if the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Pick a room not facing the train track. Use ear plugs if the noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ct
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a very nice motel, spacious well appointed rooms. I was in a jr. king room, small sitting area with a couch, chair & desk. The bed was very comfortable, large bathroom and good shower. Refrigerator, microwave, lots of outlets for electronics. Sounds like a real "find", until you discover you're right next to Cal-train railroad tracks. The noise was almost constant, day and night. I finally had to take a sleeping pill to get any rest. Nice property, but I'll never stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the railroad as you can get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ct_travelers_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are aware of the noise coming from the trains and have taken action by placing double pane windows, replacing the a/c units with new, efficient and quiet units; we also have ordered special doors that would block any noise coming from the outside.
We hope you would give us another chance to experience these changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here in 2009 so chose it again in 2013. Is handy to everything, clean and comfortable and the staff are very helpful. Complimentary breakfast. We didn't have to use our GPS to find somewhere to eat as there are several not far away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We at Comfort Suites always enjoy hearing positive feedback which provides even greater motivation to us to continue to maintain our highest standars of service and excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

If you're looking for an economical room near San Francisco (SFO) airport,this place was clean, spacious and comfortable. It's a little harder to find, but not too bad and great overall.

As other reviews suggest: spacious, clean, large bathroom, comfy bed. We had a microwave, mini fridge and pull-out sofa bed, I think that's standard in their rooms.

I'm highly susceptible to bug bites, but did NOT encounter any at Comfort Inn. So, the two rooms we had were clean.

Their continental breakfast had eggs, sausage and waffles. Which I feel is a "real" continental, unlike some hotels that put out donuts and call it continental.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McLung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Comfort Suites SFO-North. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My original flight was from Seattle to Newark, NJ. However due to weather (snow), I chose to make extra trip via San Francisco. Since our flight departs 2 A.M. in the morning I made decision to stay for a short time so that I can give some rest for my family (wife and 14 and 9 years old boys). I appreciate their free shuttle from SFO to hotel and back. Room was okay and front desk staff was friendly. Thank you for letting us rest for a short time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globalcitizentour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Overall I was quite happy to stay here.

Pros
- Room was very spacious, almost as large as a suite. Restroom was also large.
- Wifi was fast and had no connection problem.
- Breakfast was excellent with real hot food. Kitchen area was large.
- People at reception were all very kind.
- Shuttle runs every 30 minutes on time.

Cons
- As some reviewers pointed, my room faced railroads and the noise was quite loud. The freight train seems to run late after midnight and early around from 5 am. I was too tired and usually not very sensitive to such noise. For those who are sensitive, however, the noise can be unbearable.
- Potentially quite confusing because there are three comfort inns in the area: South SF, which this is, one at San Bruno and another at San Mateo. When I arrived, there was another guest who mistook here for the one at San Bruno.

Highly recommended for a short stay right before take-off or after arrival.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfosuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate your comment and look forward to welcoming you back to Comfort Suites SFO-North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Limited San Francisco Airport North
Ramada Limited San Francisco Air...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North
Address: 121 E Grand Ave, South San Francisco, CA 94080-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North for your next business trip, family vacation or romantic retreat to South San Francisco.At our hotel near San Francisco Airport, enjoy our peaceful deluxe rooms, an array of modern services and features, friendly hospitality and value-added packages for the ultimate Bay Area escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites San Francisco Airport North
Comfort Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport North Hotel South San Francisco
Comfort Inn South San Francisco
South San Francisco Comfort Inn
Comfort Suites South San Francisco
South San Francisco Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing