We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old outback”
Review of Gena's Sierra Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Squaw Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gena's Sierra Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Highly recommend. Basic on the road side accomodation we stayed before going to Kings Canyon.Old fashioned but with character.Sat outside with beers in heat watching paragliders Gena food very good she works extremely hard. All you need, food and outback bar.Karioke the night we were there hidden talent there. Highly recommend for experience Well done Gena and family a very welcoming place

Room Tip: All on road side but very little traffic to Canyon after dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tig07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at the Sierra Inn cabins down by the Go West Deli. At first I thought Go West was a bar, but Gina quickly corrected me. Boy - Do I miss the Go West breakfast sandwiches. Anyway, my better half is wheelchair bound and Gina insisted on giving me the key to cabin two and getting my betterhalf inside and around within the cabin to make sure that the two of us would be comfortable staying there. Overall, in retrospect Gina could not have been nicer.

Yes, the cabins are old and in need of some external ( outside ) repairs, but inside the room was immaculate, the beds were made up daily, and once again the inside was pristine. We loved the himmingbird pictures on the walls. The airconditioning worked perfectly, and overall for $ 85 per night you could not beat the value....

Room Tip: Room 2 is where we stayed and I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I have read some bad reviews for Gena's Place. We stayed in room 3 for 3 nights and it was fine.
The air con worked well and was not too noisy and the shower also worked fine. The bed was comfy and clean and looking at my photos now the room looked warm and cosy.

The food was yummy and Mum and Daughter served us and were very friendly.

It feels more like a cabin then motel and so a bit of dust and odd spider or moving leaf insect in the room seems to fit and who doesn't have at least one spider in their home!

Its only about 15 min drive to Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Forest.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3. If you don't like spiders go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stumputtella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

Today, we can only look back and chuckle at my gullibility.

Sierra Inn is a clapboard mistake by the highway, probably built in the early 1900s from tin and saw-board. Unwittingly, I made a reservation the day of, by phone, on Memorial Day Weekend - they said they'd had a cancellation. Planned to drive 4.5 hours to Sequoia Nat'l Park and stay just one night outside the Park.

The room was straight out of a nightmare. It reeked of bathroom cleaner, had no functioning anything. A sagging bed with thread-bare sheets. The AC wall unit in the room, that didn't work, had a cord running to a plug inside the bathroom. Effectively you couldn't close the bathroom door without the cord interfering or unplugging it. The bathroom contained a rusted tin shower stall.

We returned to the BarRoom that serves as their front desk and asked for a room refund - which they provided. I'm thankful because it was 9:00 PM. This place had other wayward travelers trapped there who had looks of abandonment on their face.

We drove 45 miles back to Fresno from the Park Boundaries to try to find a room at 10:00 PM. Every call we made to hotels and motels resulted with "no vacancy". We allowed that we would sleep in the car and still be better off than the pit we had just witnessed an hour earlier.

Eventually we found a refurbished Super 8 Motel, the room was so brand new, there was a layer of construction dust on all the surfaces. Sierra Inn is listed for Sale on a real estate website. The only sensible thing an investor could do would be to 'bulldoze it and start anew."

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ArturoPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank h0b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mari-net34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jannecke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Squaw Valley
15.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
654 reviews
23.9 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,451 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Branded Calf B & B
The Branded Calf B & B
#1 of 1 in Squaw Valley
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gena's Sierra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gena's Sierra Inn

Address: 37692 E Kings Canyon Rd, Squaw Valley, CA 93621-9715
Region: United States > California > Squaw Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Squaw Valley
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 30's, "Gena's Sierra Inn" is conveniently located just 17 miles from the "Kings Canyon National Park" entrance. We have friendly rates, clean rooms, great food and are open 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Squaw Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing