We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Relaxation”
Review of Sandpiper Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stinson Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Inn
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxation”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I visited in March, but I loved the location and the accommodations! Super friendly and helpful owners who live on site. Beautiful gardens, comfortable and spotless room. The price was a real bargain and I felt like family there. Nice folks and nice place! Walk any where in town and hike the hills. Trail up to Mt Tam from the door. A few steps to the beach, "Wood" stove in the room for the cold breezy nights. What a great place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenbob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
44
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were looking for an affordable place to stay near the beach and Muir Woods, which turned out to be quite a challenge. Fortunately, we found the Sandpiper Inn which was just about perfect for us. Nice room, great service - and a good value. We chose one of the queen size rooms which was an average room, but large enough and well stocked with extras like real dishes and wine glasses. The garden is beautiful and a very relaxing place to hang out. The beach is a very short distance and a great place for a stroll. Plenty of good food and coffee nearby.

The only negatives were that we really had no place to hang our clothes as the closet was used to store a roll-away bed. Also, we were in the room next to the office which was no problem except that the large, bright light shined into our room all night. I had to resort to an eye mask to get some sleep. I would probably ask for a different room next time for that reason. The cottages looked lovely - just not in the budget for this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the office if you are light sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stinson Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I cannot say enough about this place. My wife and I have stayed there twice now. Both times the experience was awesome. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious. They are serviced nicely everyday. It is a short walk to the beach. Stay in a cabin if you can they are great. Especially if you like to make your own meals in the little kitchenette. If not there are a few nice restaurants within walking distance. The beach is just down the road and they even have beach chairs and towels you can use! A must see place!!

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My expectations for this hotel were average. Stinson beach is a well known resort with resort prices and limited choices in everything so competition between hotels and restaurants is limited. Overall I was pleasantly surprised by how nice this hotel was and will definitely be going back.

The lobby staff was friendly and efficient and gave us some nice pointers on where to eat and drink and how to get to the beach.
The room was simply decorated, clean and refreshing and came with a small kitchenette, with basic pots and pans dishes and cutlery. The bathroom was small and clean, everything worked. The bed linens were fresh and clean. Cable and Wireless all worked no charge for wireless.

There is a nice small garden in the back for guests to enjoy, you can take a snack or beer to the garden and enjoy the smell of the sea in peace and quiet.

Good to know:
They have beach chairs guests can borrow, and beach towels in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a laid-back, clean, and very hospitable inn that is right next to the beach and the trailhead for the Matt Davis Trail. You can enjoy the beach or take a fantastic hike. We went all the way to Muir Woods. There are restaurants practically next door. If you like the outdoors, this is a great way to enjoy it in comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Spent one night here in June. The cabins are clean, comfortable and nicely equipped, but if you value absolute privacy, be aware that you are very close to your neighbors, and windows are generally left open for cooling, so voices travel. Otherwise, it was great to be within walking distance of everything, including one of the finest beaches in the region. Prices can be high when demand is up, but no more than other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trailrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed in one of the cabins and we were pleasantly surprised with how clean and cozy it was! It had a lot of thoughtful touches like a gas fire, fans, beach towels and a DVD/TV combo. There was a kitchenette with an oven and stove, microwave, refrigerator and sink. There was a queen size bed and a foldaway bed that was also cozy. This Inn has hotel rooms and cabins to choose from. Once you're there, you can walk to the beach, hiking trails or restaurants. The people who run the Inn are very friendly and helpful also. We enjoyed our stay and will be sure to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needavacation02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stinson Beach
6.6 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
9.0 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,363 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
969 reviews
10.1 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Property: Sandpiper Inn
Address: 1 Marine Way, P.O. Box 208, Stinson Beach, CA 94970
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Stinson Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stinson Beach
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic rooms and cozy cabins a few minutes walk to the beach and trails. Gas fireplaces in all rooms. Private garden. Clean and friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Stinson Beach
Sandpiper Inn Stinson Beach, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing