We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Stockton
Reviewed 20 August 2013

very convenient location right off of the hwy can't miss the comfort inn, surrounded with multiple restaurants that you can walk to. The mall was not to far at all, only took less then 10 minutes to get there with my wife and kids, hot breakfast was very good to have here, staff at front desk was very help full with directions and gave us a very good service. I don't care what others have to say but I would stay here again and recommend for others to stay and enjoy.

Room Tip: room near the pool was very convenient for my kids and I.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

The price should gave us a clue. My husband and I thought it was because of the city. Our room is not what we're used to for Comfort Inn. The AC unit is missing it's grill, the black out curtain has holes on the lining, so when closed it looks like a bunch of holes on the the curtain. The chair has a couple of holes on the cushion. The bathroom, though clean, had a smell like dirty laundry. My husband left the bathroom fan on the entire stay. Two people were working on their car from the time we got there around 3 pm till pass 10 pm off and on (as they get parts I guess.) Around 10 pm we took our evening walk (usually 2 or 3 times around the hotel when we're out of town) and was creep out. There were people on their phones almost on every stairway, It seems like on every corner of the parking lot there are one or two people standing around talking on their phone. If they're guests, wouldn't they make their calls from their room? The Lobby closes at 9 pm and don't reopen till 6 am. In that time you have to use the night lobby. My husband kept on hearing people passing by our room throughout the night and he kept getting up to check our car from our window.

On the positive note: Easy access to I 5, Denny's and Marie Calenders on the parking lot with Burger King and Jack in the Box a short walk. Comfortable bed but they only provide 3 half pillows per bed than the usual 4.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I appreciate you pointing out our easy freeway access and the number of good restaurants nearby. I apologize that we failed to meet all your needs during this visit. We have made significant changes to the hotel since that time and are now better than ever. I sincerely hope you’ll try us again to see how we’re better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I dont know where to start, maybe from the lobby or the overall. Well the hotel is in a not so good part of town, Quality Inn is better. I understand you cannot do anything about that, but the rooms itself oh my gosh, it is worse than a local motel, better yet maybe local motel is better, just by looking at the lobby gives you an idea of how the breakfast standard, so we didnt take any breakfast. They rent out rooms that have broken AC, kicked in doors, filthy carpets, cigaretts burn mark on comporters, pillow that looks like throw pillow for decoration on couch in the garage, no refregerator, no microwave, no iron like it should be on all Choice hotels , shame shame shame. The owner look like he just let go, dont give a damn. Employees dont wear uniform, front desk wears unprofessional attire.. My advise to you,, stay away from this motel. What a big name for your hotel but its not COMFORT Inn, looks like you just change to comfort inn from a rundown motel that sells drugs. Im sure this is like the police second home, Police was called to this motel twice or may more we have to suck it in and sleep there because there was no other place and they will not refund our money.

Room Tip: maybe 3rd floor less noise from all the local people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to offer feedback. I’m sorry you were dissatisfied, especially since so many others around the same time were completely satisfied. Still, I sincerely apologize to you. You will be pleased to know we’ve changed and improved in many ways since your stay. If you try us again, you’ll find an experience that’s better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

s the most disgusting place I have ever tried to stay, starting off there was cigarette butts in the hall, and the elevator, before we could get in the room I could smell urine in the hall, when we opened the door the first thing we could see is the dirty stained couch, as I walked toward the bedroom, I could see giant stains on the carpet, and the smell was over powering us, we were there to visit our sick friend in Stockton, we called to the office (by the way we had to use our cell phone because the room phone did not work) we could not stay there it was like trying to stay at the city dump

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Rosa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting even though you did not stay with us. We appreciate all feedback. I’m sorry we could not meet your needs in this case. Since the time of your visit, we’ve made significant changes and improvements to the hotel, and when you visit again you’ll find that this Econo Lodge in Stockton, CA is better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I wish we had read the reviews for this place before. We got there at 2am and were too tired to drive anywhere else. We were hauling a u-haul trailer with all our possessions and parked it in view from both our room and the lobby. We fell asleep when we awoke at 4:30 the trailer was gone. We asked the lady in the front desk if she had seen anything, but claimed "she was in the kitchen." Yea what a coincidence that she wasn't at the front desk the entire time it took the theifs to disconnect the trailer and attach it to their cars. I find it very fishy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippin2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting. I’m sorry you experienced a police matter that detracted from your stay. While this is a safe and secure neighborhood, thefts do sometimes happen at any location. In any case, I apologize for any ways that things under our control fell short of your expectations. We’ve made a number of changes and improvements recently that improve the quality of your future stays with us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I had family visiting from Wyoming and I wanted them to be close to my house, so when they asked me for a good clean place to stay, I recommended the Comfort Inn on West March Lane in Stockton. They are always packed I said, and it's close to a lot of restaurants.
To make a long story short, do not stay at this location EVER!!! The rooms were filthy, the bathrooms were disgusting with hair everywhere, there was pornographic suggestions written in black pen on the walls. Foot prints on the wall? This place ranks just above a roach motel - they should have requested a refund, but instead they just want out, so they cancelled the rest of the week and found another place to stay. Sad, Sad, Sad! DON'T THROW YOUR MONEY AWAY ON THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Find another hotel to stay at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Hooplah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. Interestingly, hundreds of guests each month are completely satisfied. Still, I apologize that your relatives who stayed with us may not have been satisfied. We take this matter seriously. Fortunately, we’ve made changes and improvements to our hotel since their stay and are now better than ever before. We look forward to welcoming them back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This use to be one of our favorite hotels after the recession this area has not bouced back. The City of Stockton has declared bankruptcy so there are very few police. Gangs have now taken over.

Our last 2 stays: October 2012. Shots fired on the balcony above our room. a gang was targeting someone at the Dennys resturant. We left that morning.......

June 2013. Pool occupied by undesirables. Towels seemed to be in short supply. I'm not talking about pool towels, I'm talking about room towels. My two nieces were approached by a lady who was scandally dressed and asking what their ages were. We believe prostitution has become an issue at this hotel.

Room Tip: Best western: 16 miles north of this location on I5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgestocktonca, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Guest,

I apologize if we fell short of your expectations in any ways, but thanks for coming to us repeatedly nonetheless. We can’t condone labeling anyone as “undesirables”, and we welcome all well-behaved paying guests without discrimination or prejudice. That includes you. When you come again, you’ll see that we’ve made many changes and improvements and provide a better experience than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockton hotels
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Stockton
Red Roof Inn Stockton
#11 of 26 in Stockton
62 reviews
3.2 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
5.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Stockton East-Highway 99
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
0.3 mi away
Hilton Stockton
Hilton Stockton
#2 of 26 in Stockton
690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Stockton
Courtyard Stockton
#6 of 26 in Stockton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2654 W March Ln, Stockton, CA 95207-6523 (Formerly Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane)
Region: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range: £62 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Stockton, CA is located near many shops and dining. Nearby attractions include Fun town at Micke Grove and Delta Speedway. Our property offers coin laundry, free wi-fi in all guestrooms and an outdoor unheated pool. Located off of Interstate 5, the pet-friendly Motel 6 Stockton is minutes from downtown Stockton and the recreational activities offered at Stockton's Delta Waterways. Nearby attractions include: University of the Pacific Delta College Bob Hope Theatre The Stockton Events Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Stockton / West March Lane Hotel Stockton
Stockton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing