We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Stockton”
Review of Le Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Bistro
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: I-5
auntieroz
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best in Stockton”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I highly recommend the fresh fish, which is always cooked as ordered and presented beautifully.The service is excellent, some of the better I've had in N. California. Once I hadn't been in for a year and they remembered us! The escargot are ok, onion soup gloppy, but some of the other starters are beautifully done. Recently, I have been 4 times in the past 3 months and have been very happy with my meal. The cocktails are always on special price if you have them in the bar. Otherwise you can get the price by ordering and paying in the bar, and then have them brought to your table. The ambience is perfect for conversation. If there are 2 -4 ask for a booth. Unusually for the area, they are open on Monday. Although I rated it 3$$$ we are always amazed at how reasonable it is for the quality. A very good experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljeannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Place!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Fantastic food! Superior service! Delightful and delicious caesar salad made at our table. Also Bananas Foster made at our table. What a treat! Entrees also wonderful. A bit pricey, but very much worth it. You deserve an outstanding meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clements, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food in Stockton”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I used to belong to a local women's organization, Women's Success Group, which held its monthly lunch meetings at Le Bistro. Despite the fact that these were group lunches-- you know how those usually turn out-- I never had a bad meal at Le Bistro. And some of their dishes, especially deserts, were exceptionally good. I've not had a chance to eat there as an individual diner, but I'd bet that it is a good place to go for dinner. It's on my wish-list.

Helpful?
1 Thank I-love-to-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

After one visit to Le Bistro, I've added it to my list of top restaurants in the San Joaquin Valley. Its menu is modern and creative, its service is classically elegant yet entirely appropriate for Stockton, and its wine list has an impressive depth and breadth. On my last visit I felt comfortable in my work clothes, welcomed and well-served by my young waiters who were friendly, interactive and present immediately when I needed them, yet absolutely inobtrusive and I felt absolutely sated by dishes chosen from a broad menu.

I am sorry I didn't try Le Bistro sooner, but I will be back often.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank avancuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprised to find such a great restaurant in Stockton!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This place is fantastic. The food is so good, and they have a great wine list. It's pricey but worth it. I was surprised and pleased to find such a great place in Stockton, impressive! My only complaint is that they have scented candles burning everywhere, ick. I want to smell my food and wine, not candles. Small complaint though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLOtownStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing