We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not the nicest location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Stockton
South Pole
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not the nicest location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Overall, it was a nice place to stay. The rooms are modernized and tidy, the staff was nice, and the hotel itself was pleasant and clean. The rate was reasonable, and they serve a decent morning breakfast.
The hotel's location isn't great. Being in industrial Stockton, it's right next to the busy freeway, and is by the main on-ramp for all the local industry. So expect tons of big-rigs and commercial vehicles lumbering by. Also, there isn't anything nearby of worth for shopping or dining. Your only food within walking distance is Denny's, a couple of fast-foods, and a 7-11.
Still, all things considered, the hotel is comfortable place to rest. Just don't plan on any evening walks.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
7
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a pretty stock Holiday Inn Express for a medium sized town. It is close to the airport at Stockton.
I use it for business 3-4 days weekly when I am in the Stockton/Manteca area. I tried the Holiday Inn and Hampton Inn in Manteca; this place beats both by a longshot.
Staff here, unlike those other places, is very friendly and accomodating. They really go out of their way to help with things like early check in and late check out.
The breakfast is the regular Holiday Inn Express stuff but the woman working there is also really friendly and helpful.
The place can get pretty crowded and noisy over the weekend with kid groups, the only major drawback I have noticed so far.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikisha R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear K B,


WOW!!! Thank you so much for this awesome comment! I am so glad to read that our staff here is making your stay with us wonderful. You have really made our day and we will continue to strive for perfection so that your stay with us will be satisfactory. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel in Stockton, California is located right off the 99 Highway at exit 250. After our first night in Oregon at a Holiday Inn Express, we decided that this was our hotel of choice for this trip and we were not disappointed. We got in touch with Nikisha at the front desk who took care of our reservation. She honored the rate that the 800 reservation line had quoted us even though they had given us wrong information. As with the HIE in Oregon, our front desk staff, Nikisha, was very personable, quickly yet patiently taking care of us. Additionally, our room was very clean, the beds were perfectly comfortable and breakfast the next morning was quite good, with many of the same choices we had experiences the first day. The rates were abit higher than we had originally budgeted for this trip, but we didn't mind due the high quality of staff, food, and service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikisha R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Craig,


Thank you so much for taking the time out of your travel to leave a comment on your experience here at our Holiday Inn Express in Stockton, Ca. I'm so glad that there was consistency within the brand with our customer service. It is also an honor to know that Nikisha was able to accommodate your needs by honoring the rate that was quoted to you, being personable as well as quick and patient with you. Traveling with family can be an exciting journey and we are glad to be a part of your memory. Whenever you are in our area please come visit us again. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this Holiday Inn Express is! The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. They give complementary snack bags to IHG Rewards members. Plus, the rooms were cleaned to a very high standard. The facility is nicely maintained and the parking lot is well lit. The rooms have a small fridge which always comes in handy instead of a beverage center with all of those silly sensors that charge you when you try to make room for your water bottle.

There is the complimentary breakfast, which is standard for this segment of the industry, but what I really appreciated was the instant oatmeal, hot water and cinnamon rolls that were available well before the breakfast hour. It was nice to have something to grab on the run since we were checking out well before breakfast. The only reason I didn't rate the property as "excellent" is because my 4AM wake up call came at 4:32 AM. Thankfully, it was just a back up to my iPhone alarm.

Although the Hilton property where some of my co-workers stayed is rated slightly higher (3rd as apposed to 4th in the city) and is closer to BJ's, Chili's, etc; Hilton Honors points expire quickly (one year from last stay). As a result, I have lost 10s of thousands of points over the years and it leaves a bad feeling toward the brand.

Overall, this property feels like a well-managed enterprise. If in Stockton again, HIE Southeast will be my first choice!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for an east-facing room away from the 99 Freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikisha R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Balad,

Thank you for taking your time to give us such a wonderful review! It means so much to our Staff and they appreciate YOU! It also makes us feel even more AWESOME knowing that you have chosen us over our competitor. Like you stated IHG Rewards points never expire so you will always have your points even when you take a break from traveling that is what separates us from the others. We look forward to your next visit and we will have a cinnamon roll waiting for you.

Thank you, happy safe travels!

Sincerely,

Nikisha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for a softball tournament. Room was super comfortable and clean. Good space in the bathroom for two. Beds were extra comfortable. Had toilet that stopped up and they handled it immediately and had no further problems. We had an even numbered room on the third floor which I would not recommend. The hotel is right on Highway 99 and the even rooms face the freeway with the third floor at road level. It was pretty noisy but we were tired and it was tolerable. I would go with the odd numbered rooms. Did not eat the breskfast. Hotel had Denny's, Jack in the Box, Taco Bell, and a Chevron station adjacent. Definitely a decent stop for a night or two.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MABOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikisha R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Maboc,


Thank you for taking your time to give us such a wonderful review! It means so much to our Staff and they appreciate YOU! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Stay and our Hotel and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you, happy safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Stockton on Kingsley Road and had an enjoyable experience. The first night we stayed in an even numbered room on the back side of the hotel. It was a nice clean room and very comfortable but there was a lot of road noise from the freeway that is directly behind the hotel. In the morning we asked the front desk clerk if we could get an odd numbered room on the front side of the hotel for our second night. She explained to us that they only showed a reservation for one night, but went out of her way to accommodate us for a second night on the front side of the hotel, which was much quieter.
They do offer a free breakfast but it was the same items for both days. All in all it was a very comfortable, clean hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on the front side of the hotel are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coarsegold, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel was extremely clean. The hotel is very close to the freeway. There are many restaurants near the hotel . The rooms are very nice. They always seemed to have that "fresh" smell. The staff was very nice. The rate was reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikisha R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Mark B,


Thank you for taking your time to give us such a wonderul review! It means so much to our Staff and they appreciate YOU! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Stay and our Hotel and we hope to see you again soon!
Thank you, happy safe travels!



Sincerely,

Nikisha Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockton hotels
5.5 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
8.5 mi away
Hilton Stockton
Hilton Stockton
#2 of 27 in Stockton
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Stockton
Courtyard Stockton
#6 of 27 in Stockton
112 reviews
9.2 mi away
Residence Inn Stockton
Residence Inn Stockton
#4 of 27 in Stockton
132 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Stockton 3951
Comfort Inn Stockton 3951
#9 of 27 in Stockton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast
Address: 5045 S Highway 99, Stockton, CA 95215-8248 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Stockton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stockton
#4 Business Hotel in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently completed a 1.5 million dollar renovation. This beautiful 73 rooms property features 73 guest rooms and 50 person meeting space. Join us Monday through Wednesdays for complimentary hospitality including beer, wine,snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stockton Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Stockton Hotel Stockton
Stockton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing