We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What good is a view if the windows are dirty?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strawberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strawberry Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Strawberry B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What good is a view if the windows are dirty?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This is a restaurant review, didn't stay at the Inn..we just stopped for a quick bite to eat on the way home. The bar area looked nice enough with a cabin type atmosphere, but if u have kids you're shuffled off to a long room in the back with a so-so view through dirty windows,ugly art, a plethora of tshirts for sale for some reason..wobbly chairs, cheap drinking glasses and an overpriced menu. There was a hair stuck in the plastic sleeve on the menu which grossed me out right off the bat and pretty much tells u everything you need to know. There's no upkeep and no one cares if you're there or not. There was a pleasant warm welcome from presumably an owner or manager but the wait staff was unsmiling and unfriendly. The food was fine, depending on how hungry you are... The hungrier u are, the better it will taste. We wouldn't stop here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wyckedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    23
    29
    14
    18
See reviews for
49
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Spent two nights in this lovely setting. With the windows open you can hear the S. Fork of the Stanislaus River rushing by. As mentioned by others, proximity to Pinecrest receration area makes it very attractive. And the price makes it a best bargain!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is really a great place to stay if your not expecting the Ritz. Good food,warm fireplace and great drinks at the Bar..The rooms are clean and neat and as expected for the price.
Close to Dodge ridge and Pinecrest lake.

Have a great Stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We picked the Strawberry Inn for its location, knowing the area does not offer many great choices. However, there is no excuse for the room being dirty. The bathroom drawers still had hair in it from previous guests; the carpets were dirty; the room was NEVER cleaned while we were there for three nights. I hate to complain about spotty internet, since the location can be a challenge, but you should know since they advertise internet availability. Also, the TV was a joke (but we were not there for TV, but you should know). There is no phone in the room, and don't expect much service from those who work there...friendly enough, but know before you go that there are no frills. I won't go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, and make sure to see the room first before you move your bags in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac49Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strawberry hotels

Sacramento area, CA.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We were two families..a party of 9.

Poor customer greeting and service. NO excuse as a "remote area" since thousands of people camp, fish,hike, rent cabins, and drive-by constantly on a state highway, BIG vacation spot next to Dodge Ridge Ski resort, CA. off hiway 108; 30 miles EAST of Sonora, CA.

Food was below average. We requested two checks for two families. Was told they don't do that.The place was empty. The waiter finally relented after I politely pointed that out BUT HE automatically included his 17% tip on each bill even tho his service was lousy and food poor. My kids could have made a better pizza. The Greek salad had rancid poor feta cheese after the 5 adults tasted it. We sent it back. Very long time food preparation. Orders came out at odd times and there was a long in-between wait until everyone received their food. The orders were wrong. The fries dried out like being in the desert. We had been camping and we did not expect a fine food gourmet place but come on.... it as not even "basic restaurant 101" how to keep customers.

The bar could not make any adult Mojitos. No root beer. The solo young male waiter seemed disjointed with people, somewhat annoyed and sounded like he could care less.

The parking lot was not lighted at all.

Based upon this experience on 9-2-12, we won't ever be returning.

Room Tip: did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danburkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is a lodging review (we didn't eat in the restaurant, though I did have an acceptable Americano there upon my arrival). I shared a room with two friends for one night about two weeks ago following our 6-day backpacking trip in the Emigrant Wilderness. Our room, #7, was on the ground floor; it had screened windows on two sides that open, allowing us to feel a breeze and hear the sound of the creek outside all night. That was heavenly. The room was perfectly clean and large enough to accommodate the two beds and a rollaway bed that we had in it. The shower was good (and enormously appreciated after our backpacking trip :-). The building and setting as a whole are beautiful, as others have noted.

The staff was completely professional and friendly. We had a pleasant and restful time and would all stay there again.

Room Tip: Room #7 has windows on two sides (both of which open) and the sound of the creek outside to serve as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forgetwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed one night at the Strawberry Inn after our backpacking trip. It was nearby and reasonably priced at 120$ a night. The room was quite nice actually. I would actually give it 3.5 stars if I could. Also had a restaurant, which was pretty good - menu not bad, some good beers on tap. Staff was mostly foreign students on travel abroad deal. Perfectly suitable if you need a place in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strawberry
17.9 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
23.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
23.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
13.2 mi away
Long Barn Lodge
Long Barn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Long Barn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
13.5 mi away
Christmas Tree Inn
Christmas Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Mi Wuk Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Inn

Property: Strawberry Inn
Address: 31880 Highway 108, Strawberry, CA 95375
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Strawberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strawberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Strawberry Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
StrawberryInn is Located on the Sonora Pass, which is the shortest distance between Reno, Nevada, Las Vegas and San Francisco. Yosemite Park is located approximately 2.5 Scenic hours away. You are now in one of California's most spectacular regions. In Summer, you may choose to swim, canoe, water ski or fish in the pristine waters of Pinecrest Lake (1.5 Miles away) and the South Fork of the Stanislaus River. In the Winter, you can cross country ski or downhill ski at nearby Dodge Ridge Ski Resort or snow play at Leland Snow Park. It was established in 1939. It is an excellent, relaxing get-away. Everything is here to transport you out of the every day - our friendly staff, our comfortable accommodations, and the varied beauty of the surrounding nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Strawberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hotel Strawberry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing