We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but good enough”
Review of Strawberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strawberry Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Strawberry B&B and Inns
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok, but good enough”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Been here many times always around 4th of July. Just very basic rooms. Only amenity is the view from the back rooms that look out onto the river. Rated poor because of the beds, otherwise good. Beware of the beds. Mattresses are old and slope to sides. There are other places to stay, but if all you want is a place to sleep and shower, this is good enough. Never ate dinner her but breakfast is basic good enough. You can eat outside on the gazebo overlooking the river and the view will make the food taste better. Open your window at night and let the river lull you to sleep. Room 11 is best. Call well ahead of time to request certain rooms.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Konrad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    29
    14
    18
See reviews for
49
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I agree with the reviews that mentioned the rustic charm of the lodge itself. The rooms were quaint, nothing fancy but comfortable. The restaurant looked nice but the food was not so great. The salad was average at best, the pulled pork a little dry and the Lemon Drop Martini hard to drink. Beautiful mountain surroundings but not sure if we would stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lbarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Family stayed at the lodge for the weekend. Very old lodge - pretty rundown but some old charm. Rooms are rustic! Staff are nice and food is ok. Best thing about the lodge is the people watching at the bar and the fact that you are on the American River.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strawberry hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This is a restaurant review, didn't stay at the Inn..we just stopped for a quick bite to eat on the way home. The bar area looked nice enough with a cabin type atmosphere, but if u have kids you're shuffled off to a long room in the back with a so-so view through dirty windows,ugly art, a plethora of tshirts for sale for some reason..wobbly chairs, cheap drinking glasses and an overpriced menu. There was a hair stuck in the plastic sleeve on the menu which grossed me out right off the bat and pretty much tells u everything you need to know. There's no upkeep and no one cares if you're there or not. There was a pleasant warm welcome from presumably an owner or manager but the wait staff was unsmiling and unfriendly. The food was fine, depending on how hungry you are... The hungrier u are, the better it will taste. We wouldn't stop here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wyckedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Spent two nights in this lovely setting. With the windows open you can hear the S. Fork of the Stanislaus River rushing by. As mentioned by others, proximity to Pinecrest receration area makes it very attractive. And the price makes it a best bargain!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is really a great place to stay if your not expecting the Ritz. Good food,warm fireplace and great drinks at the Bar..The rooms are clean and neat and as expected for the price.
Close to Dodge ridge and Pinecrest lake.

Have a great Stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We picked the Strawberry Inn for its location, knowing the area does not offer many great choices. However, there is no excuse for the room being dirty. The bathroom drawers still had hair in it from previous guests; the carpets were dirty; the room was NEVER cleaned while we were there for three nights. I hate to complain about spotty internet, since the location can be a challenge, but you should know since they advertise internet availability. Also, the TV was a joke (but we were not there for TV, but you should know). There is no phone in the room, and don't expect much service from those who work there...friendly enough, but know before you go that there are no frills. I won't go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, and make sure to see the room first before you move your bags in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac49Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strawberry
17.9 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
23.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
23.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
13.2 mi away
Long Barn Lodge
Long Barn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Long Barn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
16.6 mi away
Wildwood Inn
Wildwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Twain Harte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Inn

Property: Strawberry Inn
Address: 31880 Highway 108, Strawberry, CA 95375
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Strawberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strawberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Strawberry Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
StrawberryInn is Located on the Sonora Pass, which is the shortest distance between Reno, Nevada, Las Vegas and San Francisco. Yosemite Park is located approximately 2.5 Scenic hours away. You are now in one of California's most spectacular regions. In Summer, you may choose to swim, canoe, water ski or fish in the pristine waters of Pinecrest Lake (1.5 Miles away) and the South Fork of the Stanislaus River. In the Winter, you can cross country ski or downhill ski at nearby Dodge Ridge Ski Resort or snow play at Leland Snow Park. It was established in 1939. It is an excellent, relaxing get-away. Everything is here to transport you out of the every day - our friendly staff, our comfortable accommodations, and the varied beauty of the surrounding nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Strawberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hotel Strawberry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing