We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Suisun City Waterfront
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Suisun City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had a weeklong stay last week for a couple's vacation to wine country. Due to hectic schedule, we didn't get a chance to reserve a hotel until 1-2 weeks before our departure. Our choices were limited, but due to previous positive stays at other Hampton Inn locations, plus the AAA recommendation, we booked at Hampton Inn & Suites Suisun City.

The location was okay--anywhere between a 15-90 minute drive to wineries, depending on traffic. However, as we realized that we wanted to visit several wineries not close to each other, we were okay with the commute. About a 30 minute drive to Napa city, which has a lot of cute shops and restaurants. We avoided eating near the hotel, as they appeared somewhat sketchy. It seemed as if Suisun City had significant investment in building its infrastructure during the boom, which then halted during the recession. For example, the town was really cute with beautiful park and walking trail by the harbor, but with a forlorn-looking empty theatre, discount stores, empty office buildings, restaurants with limited patronage even during peak times. However, at no time did we feel unsafe, and reading the local paper, Suisun City has a very low crime rate, unlike its neighboring town Fairfield.

We were upgraded to a king suite with fireplace and view of the harbor. Also had a small balcony which we didn't use because there were no chairs there. The room was clean (didn't need to take any extra allergy meds), huge (could have fit two king sized beds there and it would still have felt spacious), and relatively quiet. We couldn't hear hotel noise but would sometimes hear the train blowing its horn nearby. Gas fireplace was a nice romantic touch, although it had a timer which was less romantic.

Small but clean and efficient gym. Small but nicely kept outdoor pool and jacuzzi--nice enough that one day I spent six hours by the pool just enjoying the sunny weather. We avoided the pool area in the evenings because returning guests made it their "happy hour" BYOB gathering place.

Breakfast was complimentary but we didn't really eat there after the first day or two. Waffle machines were broken but were fixed within the day. However, something didn't sit well with our stomachs, so other than getting tea, milk, banana, and hot boiled eggs, we bought breakfast elsewhere.

Staff all superbly friendly; if they walked past you in the hall they would always greet you. Housekeeping respected "Do Not Disturb" signs (hate those hotels where they knock and wake you up despite the sign).

Overall, would recommend the Hampton Inn for people with a car, who don't mind a drive to local attractions. Perhaps not as convenient as staying in a Napa hotel and walking to restaurants/stores, but much quieter, which we preferred. Also, a deal considering that a comparable Napa hotel would have cost $300-$400 a night. We happily spent the money saved on a few cases of spectacular cellaring wine instead. Oh, and did I mention that it was clean enough not to set off my allergies? That by itself makes it a gem.

Room Tip: The king harbor view suites are HUGE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is about 30 mins from Napa but priced as if it were much closer...not worth the high price. It's very isolated geographically from surrounding areas. If you want to go to wine country it's better to bite the bullet and get closer to Napa or Sonoma because there's nothing to do near this hotel. Staff was friendly and no complaints about room itself.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank scottsP2592TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuisunCare, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Suisun City Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry you were disappointed. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We are centrally located to San Francisco, Wine Country, Sacramento, Napa, Jelly Belly, and Six Flags. We hope that you will visit us in the future for a more positive outcome. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here while testing for State Board and this place was wonderful. It was a little more pricey than motel6 but well worth it. I have a 1yr old and I wanted to safe place for her and my mom to be while I was out all day. When we checked in the receptionist, Lisa, let me know that since I was leaving the hotel at 5am that there was a complimentary to-go breakfast, and also allowed a late check out. I didn't get back until after the late check out but they checked our bags for my mom and baby until I got back. Definitely worth the little extra money for peace of mind. Great beds! Internet was perfect! surrounding area was fabulous! State board and rent-a-kit was 5 mins away all freeway. I will always stay at Hampton inn while traveling. This is my 2nd stay (different locations)and it has been consistently great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Shayna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family of 4 stayed 3 nights in this hotel and the rooms were very clean, the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful but the location was not the best. I felt safe in my hotel room and in the hotel but I did not feel safe walking around the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzy2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

1) If you get a waterfront view, there is about an 80% chance your window will be strafed with bird droppings (because only the side windows of the building escape the, uh, flight path of the birds); 2) you may see as we did scotch-tape on the windows -- this must have been done by the previous guest to tape the curtains shut in order to avoid the direct beam of the lighthouse on the waterfront, beautiful by day, deadly by night. Other than that, this place is all you would want in a stopover: good sized pool and jacuzzi, evening breezes, clean as can be, hot coffee in the lobby and best of all, Stephanie at the Front Desk, friendly and professional, a real asset to the Hilton/Hampton brand.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMPJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We only stayed at the hotel for one night and it was more than suitable. The hotel had a nice swimming pool for my 10-year old son and a hot tub for me. It was great that the pool/hot tub was opened until 10pm since we did not arrive at the hotel until almost 8pm. My only wish was that the hotel either had room service or served dinner but it did not have either, so we had to run out and get take out. Most of the restaurants in the area closed at 9pm. The room was a good size, bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was fine for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Edwin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

room wasn't quite ready, but we did check in a few minute early they did everything possible to get it ready even offered us a water and snack until room was ready room was very clean and comfortable ... the shower, very important to me, worked fabulously the breakfast was great lots of choices including omlettes and waffles plus fruits and bagels very satisfied definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suisun City
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfield
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vacaville-Napa Valley
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Fairfield Napa Valley Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fairfield Napa Valley Area
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fairfield - Napa Valley Area
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fairfield Napa Valley Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Suisun City Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Suisun City Waterfront

Address: 2 Harbor Ctr, Suisun City, CA 94585-2492
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Suisun City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Suisun City
Price Range: £91 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Suisun City Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn and Suites Suisun City Waterfront hotel is 100% non-smoking and conveniently located near Fairfield, 2 miles off I-80 (in between San Francisco and Sacramento, CA) with excellent views of the Suisun City Waterfront (adjacent to our hotel). Enjoy free breakfast, free WiFi, an outdoor pool & whirlpool spa, on-site fitness room, business center, children's playground, Clean and fresh Hampton beds(R), on-site snack shop, multi-lingual staff, two meeting rooms, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Suisun City Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Suisun City Waterfront Hotel Suisun City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing