We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new hotel of choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new hotel of choice!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had stayed at the Wild Palms in the past but I had forgotten and on our recent trip to visit our daughter at Santa Clara University we booked ourselves at another location. The place was terrible and we quickly moved over to the Wild Palms. We were so happy that we did.

For the remainder of our time in Santa Clara, our stay at the Wild Palms was delightful. We were greeted by friendly and gracious staff upon arrival. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and we find them quite charming (we had two joining rooms). There is a lovely pool -- heated but still a little cold for me in February -and the hot tub which was perfect.
We also appreciate that the property is very secure, needing the room key to get into the interior courtyard and hallways.
The complimentary breakfast is amazing! Eggs, bacon or sausage, hash browns, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, it went on and on.
As I said at the beginning, I think the Wild Palms is our new hotel of choice!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenChesmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rld9, General Manager at Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
WOW, thank you for awesome comments! We feel honored to be your hotel of choice. We will not let you down and thank you again for sharing your experience with us and everyone.

We look forward to you next visit.

Robin Donovan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    309
    105
    36
    15
See reviews for
188
175
83
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It was lovely. This is my favorite location in the area to get away. Always relaxing and breakfast is great. The woman at the front desk is always pleasant. I enjoy the relaxed mood to the entire property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sreyes0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rld9, General Manager at Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experience at the Wild Palms. I'm so pleased the team took wonderful care of you. We hope to see you again soon.

all the best to you,

Robin Donovan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

On a business trip, after food and bed people need a decent internet connection. In silicon valley this should not even be a topic for discussion. But this particular hotel made us cry. I felt like going to office at 10PM. WiFi was pathetic. I complained. My cow-orkers complained. And even spoke to IT. But the IT was more of, "Have you tried rebooting?"
/rant
Close to number of Indian and Asian food joints. Good location. Standard breakfast. Good room. Good housekeeping. Cheerful front desk. If you are supposed to be on VPN, please do not consider this place.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 2nd level in building 1 and 2. Ample sunlight in mornings. And you will not be bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumarldh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

At check-in I mentioned that I was in town for a funeral. I also noticed a sign on the desk giving information about the person checking me in (hometown, favorite activity, etc) and it said she had two guinea pigs. I mentioned my own guinea pigs. When I returned to the room after dinner out that first night, I found a gift bag on the bed. It had a sympathy card and two guinea pig toys with a note to my pets by name. Unbelievable! The hotel is unassuming from the outside, the hallways are a little musty and the dresser is small and in the closet. But they've made the most of the room size, the bathroom looked brand new, and the bed is a lovely four-poster. The room was very clean as well. Breakfast was good and I even brought in lunch one day and ate by the pool. Silicon Valley hotels are generally very expensive or not very nice, but the Wild Palms is a reasonably-priced gem.

Room Tip: I faced the parking lot to the east. No street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Good:
Breakfast: For $70+/night, you get a breakfast buffet almost as good as Hyatt house!
Location: Five minutes drive to lots of good Chinese restaurant
Staff: Very friendly

Bad:
We stayed in two rooms. My room, 3257, smelled stinky, and the water tap seemed broken. The other room, 3256, the AC was quite old and very noisy

Room Tip: 3257 has some traffic noise. 3256 is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I spent a week at the Wild Palms while attending training in Santa Clara.

The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff were all excellent. The shampoo and soaps in the bathroom were all very nice too. The breakfast selection was good.
Good internet access from rooms

The hotel is in a great location, just off the El Camino, close to Lawrence Expressway so its easy to get around.

There isn't a great selection of restaurants within walking distance (but that's not out of the ordinary in the south bay). There is a good collection of places to eat within a few minutes drive, and Korea Town isn't too far away if you are looking for Korean food.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second flood on the east or south side it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_abacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The staff here is incredibly friendly and warm and they make you feel as at home as you could be in a hotel. Going out of their way to make your stay a little better. The breakfast is a little more diverse than any continentals i have seen and a little variation from day to day. There is indoor and outdoor seating to choose from. A very nice pool area with small pond and plants around and while it's not five star fancy, you will be pleasantly surprised with what a little style can do to make a hotel warm and inviting.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the road since it is along a major one. I happened to be on the side awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vraftsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
924 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
946 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
176 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 910 E Fremont Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
#2 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#4 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Palms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing