We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's just like a cleaner, nicer version of holiday inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's just like a cleaner, nicer version of holiday inn.”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Dont expect too much, and definitely need a car if u want to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiaowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    84
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
26
13
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sannyvale
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I heard that Larkspur is very good hotel from other our colleagues. Therefore I asked to our HR specialist to do reservation just in this hotel. And what I have seen match to what I heard. All personnel is very friendly and ready to do out sating pleasant. If I more chance to come here I will prefer Larkspur.

Room Tip: I think that the room that are looking to front of building are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GevorgM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable, too. Staff was great. They treated us great and were very helpful. Best thing...Left an iphone charger behind. They found it and shipped to me very quickly!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I have been in business trip in Sunnyvale from June to August 2011 and stay in Larkspur hotel during trip. I can say that absolutely satisfied with this hotel, which give me opportunity to really enjoy my stay time.This hotel have everything to be chosen by you, including free breakfast, excellent service, indoor exercise room and spa, very pleasant and good stuff, both for cleaning and reception. In summary I can totally advice to choose this hotel if you are going to stay somewhere in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms are very confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artur1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel over the last year when working on an assignment. Great hotel rooms with very courteous staff very sensitive to your needs. All the staff go the extra mile to show that they appreciate your stay and your business. Great rooms with a good bed and a flat screen TV. Very close to the freeways. They have a decent breakfast to get you started in the mornings.

The only thing which would make it even better is hot breakfast.

Cheers,
HC

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My work colleague was visiting overseas from August 3-11 2011 from Singapore for work at our Silicon Valley headquarters. On Sunday afternoon she left for a nice day to catch up with her sister in the Bay Area. On Monday morning getting ready for work she went to grab her watch, from her vanity to find it missing. Now let me tell you something about this young woman she is both meticulous and planned, the watch wasn’t worn on a Sunday not needed, but should have been right where she left it, where she leaves it every day. Unfortunately her watch was a limited edition special watch with a fun story between her and her husband, having it stolen was first a violation of personal safety as a guest in the this hotel and also a sad memory taken from her and her husband. She informed the hotel and they did nothing, she told us at work, I asked if I can come and try to help. I accompanied her to the hotel the Monday night to ask about the status of the watch. The hotel staff seemed to not care and then finally rustled up a post it note that says lost watch in room, trust me the watch was not lost in her room ...did I mention my colleague is meticulous? I then shared the watch is not lost it has been taken, the woman (Tamara) said basically it can’t be as she has worked there for four years. She did at least take a more detailed statement, the next comments were really about my friend having responsibility to check in the next day with Sandi (front office supervisor) and hopefully Sandy the manager would be around. Then they would also let Sanjeev the Ops. Manager know. I asked if they could please respect my colleague and keep her informed of the investigation throughout the day as she is worried and putting the ownership on her to check in wasn’t really appropriate for a guest to have to do. Tuesday she received one email communication and I received one sad phone call, both from Sanjeev that again makes it sound as if my colleague has lost her own watch in her room. Never a sorry, never a recognition that this is a tough time....NO accountability... I get they don’t want to be “responsible” but could they at least be sympathetic? Wednesday night we went back and filed a police report, when I approached Sandi to call the police she said I had to talk to a manager about the issue...she is a supervisor but apparently could care less and couldn’t be bothered...I guess supervisors don’t count as leaders anymore. We filed a police report so at least my colleague could file an insurance claim. The hotel has a policy that items are at your own risk and you should use the safe...did I mention the rooms HAVE no safes? Doesn’t that make that little statement null? My colleague checked out and no one ever, EVER acknowledged what she had gone through, no one ever cared.

From the company website, “...success is based on providing genuine and caring hospitality... designed to meet the needs of our guests. High guest satisfaction drives demand for our hotels and is our foundation. Larkspur Hotels & Restaurant’s "guest-centric" culture differentiates us from other hotel companies and is at the core of who we are...We treat each other with mutual respect in a team environment of trust and accountability... Our ability to excel is a function of the attitudes, behaviors and relationship skills of our team members.... share our core values and beliefs....communicating openly, respecting other people, understanding others' ideas and points of view, teamwork, improving continuously, closure, trust, accountability, follow-through, hard work, desire to be a contributing part of the winning team, fairness and genuine care for the success of others... company leaders reflect, model and are mentors of our culture ... team is consistent and aligned in our values and beliefs.... This is our... Culture, which drives our continued success...and makes us a great company.”

As one who facilitates leadership development for a living I completely agree leadership drives the culture of a team, the behaviors I saw demonstrated were not in alignment with the company objectives. I observed a lack of the following: accountability, respect, trust, communication and never saw anything close to a winning team. Instead I viewed a team that was hostile, did not own their role or take any responsibility, rather they blamed others or their guest and worse of all they created a hostile and unsafe environment.

Having an item stolen is, while sentimental, ultimately a THING, but the feeling of violation and safety taken away is one of emotional scaring, to have something stolen and then to be treated poorly in the process is absolutely appalling and dehumanizing.

Please do not give them your hard earned money and risk having this type of experience. You and my colleague deserve better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElizabethB510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share your impression of your business associates visit to our hotel. Let me begin by apologizing if we failed to handle the situation with the empathy and efficient follow through that this unfortunate circumstance deserved. I have reviewed your comments with the entire front office staff, including supervisors and managers, on how to better handle issues of this nature in the future.

With regards to the missing watch; we have done an integrity check on the door lock and interviewed the room attendant that serviced the suite and have not found anything out of the ordinary in our investigation. We are truly sorry that the watch is missing. The attendant for this room has been part of our team here for over 10 years with an excellent service record. We will continue to keep a vigilant eye open for the watch and contact its owner immediately if anything turns up.

Thank you again for the feedback and please accept our sincere apology. If you or your associate would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me, the General Manager at bhutchison@larkspurhotels.com and I will do whatever I can to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I won't spend a lot of time describing my experience here. Staff (a lady) at the front desk was rude and not even looking at me when I checked in. First thing she asked was my last name. What about welcoming your guess with something like... "Hello sir and welcome..." Anyway I came down to the lobby at 10 pm to print my boarding pass and asked her the password for the computer. Again not even a look. This is not acceptable!!
Finally the computer in the business center was probably 10-11 year old and as slow as one can imagine. Funny since we are in the Silicon Valley. First time at Larkspur and definitely last time.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere unless you are forced to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rytonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Rytonn,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. I must say, I am disappointed to read about your experience. This is not at all indicative of the level of service we pride ourselves in delivering. Your feedback has been shared with the team and will be used as part of our continuous improvement process. Please accept my sincere apologies for the obvious inconveniences caused. I hope that you will reach out to me directly should your travels return you to Sunnyvale and give us another opportunity to provide the service you should expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
2.8 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Silicon Valley Inn
2.5 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale
Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale
#10 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale

Property: Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Address: 748 N Mathilda Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94085-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sunnyvale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
#5 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#7 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale hotel near San Jose is conveniently located in the heart of Silicon Valley off of Highway 101 on North Mathilda Avenue. The city, which is home to well known companies like Yahoo!, Lockheed Martin and Juniper Networks, also offers close proximity to attractions like the Shoreline Amphitheater, California's Great America, the Tech Museum of Innovation and much more. Larkspur's Sunnyvale CA hotel provides easy access to these famous attractions as well as dozens of eclectic boutiques, shops and fine dining options. This San Jose Hotel provides guests with unparalleled comfort and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing