We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is the first time I frequented a Larkspur Landing property but selected it because the reviews were good. I selected the hotel because it was close to the business locations I needed to visit during my stay. I had rented a car but later found out the the hotel has a shuttle service to nearby locations. In the future, I will use their shuttle service to avoid renting a car.

The hotel staff was very friendly and the room size was larger than I expected (it included a full kitchen). There were sufficient AC outlets to charge all my gadgets (4 outlets by the desk). The hotel is conveniently located to major highways in the area as well as nearby San Jose airport. Next to the hotel is an excellent Middle Eastern take out restaurant called Dish n Dash so if you arrive late you can get some good food before they close at 10pm.

The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast of muffins, raisin bread, bagels, cereal and oatmeal. One or two days a week, they also provide a hot meal (one day, they provided an egg white with turkey bacon sandwich on a whole wheat bun which was quite good). WiFi speed is acceptable. However, their computers in the business center must be ancient because they took about 8 minutes to launch windows - best to power up the computer, get breakfast, then return after breakfast :-).

Finally , the staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback! It is always great to hear when our guests are able to enjoy the many amenities provided as well as our helpful and friendly front desk staff. Regarding the computers in our business center, I have personally checked them and agree that the log in is quite lengthy. I will look into updating some of our business center amenities in order to shorten the start up times.

Thank you again for your time and feedback.

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here in Aug-Sep for 10 days and it was worth it. I prefer staying here during my trip to SNV as it is close to office. Room have good enough for single person and has a small work area and kitchen also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DharmeshBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive feedback from your recent stay here at the Larkspur Landing Hotel in Sunnyvale. It is always helpful to hear first hand from our guests, how much they were able to enjoy their stay.

Thank you again for your time and for your business! We hope to see you again during your next visit to Sunnyvale.

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The staff at Larkspur Landing are some of the friendliest, helpful, and welcoming ever! We were greeted by Wendy, who made us feel so at home and gave us excellent suggestions for attending the Bridge School Concert and things to do around Sunnyvale. We stayed in the Executive Suite which had a very comfortable king size bed and a queen sofa bed that our adult daughter slept on. The continental breakfast was tasty, and both days the food coordinator was very accommodating to our needs. Having a computer/business center was great for printing our boarding passes for our flight home. We highly recommend this hotel and will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuenasOlas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed with my wife and young son for a week.
For an extended stay hotel the studio room size is pretty small. We barely had space to open our three suitcases. The room also had only a queen bed which was inadequate for us.
Other hotels in the same category and in the same area offer better and bigger.

The kitchen was ok with basic amenities. Internet speed was good.

As other reviewers have noted, breakfast was very minimal. Not even the breads were well stocked at all times.

The big let-down was service.
They claim to be a "green" hotel and hence offer only alternate day service. Even that is only a refresh service and not full service. We had to literally plead with the front desk to have our towels replaced on a daily basis.

Once they received a shipment on my behalf but failed to notify me. I asked them about it but they denied receiving anything. A couple of days later I had to track down the shipment with the vendor and got the name of the person who received it. When I asked them again this time name of the person who received it they somehow tracked it down. Still no apology.

They tom-tom their pick-up and drop service, but that again is only in the morning and evenings. They can accommodate only one person/family during a 1-hr slot which is again very limiting rendering the service pretty useless.

Overall a reasonable property but suffers from mediocre service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praks_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent stay here at the Larkspur Landing Hotel in Sunnyvale. I am sorry to hear that your room was not spacious enough for your family during your visit. We do have an upgraded one-bedroom suite that would be much more suitable for your family as it includes a separate bedroom with a king size bed and a separate living room with a queen size sofa sleeper. I would also like to apologize that your package was not delivered to you right away – as it should have been. I was surprised to hear that our front desk was less then accommodating and apologetic in resolving this issue. We are using this as a training opportunity to review, with our front desk staff – our policy’s and procedures when receiving guest deliveries in addition to always doing our best to ensure the happiness of each guest.

Thank you again for your time and feedback.

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in a king executive suite - Room 407. The bed was wonderful, full size kitchen with full-size refrigerator and freezer (very important for my husband's ice cream at night) and we had a balcony with chairs that we could relax on. Only thing I would change would be maybe a waffle maker, eggs/bacon offered on weekends. Other than that we loved staying here for our 4-night stay. Staff very friendly, hallways and room very clean and you can't beat the hot cookies offered at front desk when checking in! Came here for Stanford reunion and Palo Alto completely sold out so this was a very nice surprise. Will definitely stay here again next trip to this area.

Susan V
Los Angeles

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjholman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Sitting in room 414 as I write. Bed was comfortable, but oddly noisy. Some sort of crinkly cover was put between the mattress and the sheets- and made noise every time you turned over. Breakfast not impressive with just toast/muffins, bottled juice and coffee. Fridge in room is full sized, but hummed all night

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhutchison, General Manager at Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thanks so much for your feedback, it really does help us to understand where we need to focus our continuous improvement efforts. Regarding our breakfast, we are always looking for ways to improve and again, appreciate your feedback. We currently provide hot menu items three days each week but will certainly look into adding additional days to our menu.
On our beds, your comment was a bit concerning, so we’ll have to do some investigating and ensure the Feature Topper on our signature FeatherBorne bed was installed properly within the room you stayed. I do understand however, that bed comfort is different for each individual and was sorry to hear that you were not comfortable during your stay with us.

Thanks again for helping us to improve our product!

Best Regards,
Brian Hutchison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is one of my favorite places i've stayed in the 100s of hotels i've been in in the last few years. There is a kitchen which is a tremendous help, everything is super clean and comfy, and a business center for computer and printing needs. The breakfast is even pretty good although not impressive.
The only time to stay, however, is on the weekend. The rates are about 1/2 or 1/3 of the weekly rates. This is because it is in silicon valley and the people with expense accounts fill the place during the week.

Room Tip: Book on the weekends (Friday and Saturday) for a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
983 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
972 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
0.2 mi away
Best Western Silicon Valley Inn
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Sunnyvale
Sheraton Sunnyvale
#15 of 33 in Sunnyvale
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale

Address: 748 N Mathilda Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94085-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sunnyvale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
#5 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#7 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: £93 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale hotel near San Jose is conveniently located in the heart of Silicon Valley off of Highway 101 on North Mathilda Avenue. The city, which is home to well known companies like Yahoo!, Lockheed Martin and Juniper Networks, also offers close proximity to attractions like the Shoreline Amphitheater, California's Great America, the Tech Museum of Innovation and much more. Larkspur's Sunnyvale CA hotel provides easy access to these famous attractions as well as dozens of eclectic boutiques, shops and fine dining options. This San Jose Hotel provides guests with unparalleled comfort and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing