We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious modern room but issues with room cleanliness and shower water pressure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I stayed in an Executive Suit on the 3rd floor for 6 nights during Jul 2009.

The good:
Spacious room, large bath, comfortable work area, big LCD TVs in both living room and bedroom, large comfortable bed, enough room to store clothes, equipped kitchen.
Convenient location.
Feels safe.

The bad:
Room was not thoroughly cleaned on two occasions.
Room had bad smell for most of the stay.
Shower water pressure very poor.
Slow internet.
Air conditioner noisy. Bedroom has no dedicated air conditioning and instead a vent interconnects the rooms.
No safe in the room.
Staff's followup on issues reported was poor.
Breakfast is very minimal. No hot items.

The overall impression is that the hotel has good facilities and a lot of potential but is not run professionally.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronenbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2009

I travel regularly to the Sunnyvale area for a few days at a time and I need a place that is clean, comfortable, allows me to get my work done and where I feel welcome. This was my first stay at Larkspur Landing and I think I've found a new home while I'm in the bay area.

The staff was excellent. From the reservation, to the registration, the morning staff, to checkout - everyone was pleasant and genuinely interested that my needs were taken care of. They seem to understand the working business traveler's needs and are happy to serve.

The room was well designed for someone who has work to do - internet access, good lighting, a real work surface and comfortable furniture. I didn't use the kitchen but it was nice to know I could and I'll make use of it in future trips. Even little things like a pitcher to hold cold water in the refrigerator were provided. Had I stayed longer I would have laid in some snack items. A small kitchen is so much better than a "microwave/coffee maker on the sink" arrangement.

Great staff, comfortable bed, good sized shower/bathroom and just what I needed for a working trip to the valley.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValueSeeker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

I have stayed at this hotel now for a couple of times and the stay has been just perfect.
The rooms are well equipped with a plush double bed, a computer desk and a very functional kitchen and free internet service (wired/wireless) as well.
For fitness freaks its got a well equipped gym. The breakfast provided has a good choice including fruits, energy drinks, choice of bakery products and lots of different kinds of cereals. Coffee/Tea at all times is a great thing to have. You don't have to run around to get a cup and it comes part of the package.
To improve the service for about 3 hours in the morning and evening they have also introduced shuttle service which can be booked in advance for a free ride anywhere with in 5 mile radius.
The staff is very friendly and they have been there for a long time. so whenever you return you find familiar faces which gives a good feeling.
If you are there for a couple of weeks stay, you don't have to look further.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chezian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Larkspur landing is good for people travelling on business to companies based out of Sunnyvale. Its location on Mathilda Ave make it convenient to get to the office or the downtown area.

Rooms are sufficient for the business traveller, with wired and wireless internet available throughout for free. Morning breakfast is also covered in the room charge.

A bus stop outside the hotel can get you to downtown Sunnyvale where you have access to Caltrain, buses and restaurants or to the Light Rail Station and various company offices. There are a few restaurants and a grocery store within walking distance.

All rooms have a kitchen and utensils to use for your own cooking.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluesmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

I stayed here for 2 weeks and was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, comfortable and relatively new. Compared to the other options in the area, you can pay a lot more for similar quality, or somewhat less for a scary cheap motel. When you are on a tight business travel budget, it can be hard to find something like the Larkspur. The kitchen was a great help in keeping my travel costs down. The room I had was exceptionally quiet and it seemed like there was almost no one there over the weekend. I had no problems with internet connectivity.

Do not use Orbitz to book a hotel - they have a record of charging people and not making the reservation and refusing a refund (this happened to me.)

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kkbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2007

I have stayed at this hotel for several weeks as a business traveler. Before 2 weeks ago, would have given it a lovely review. My opinion has now changed, after encountering what should have been a simple to resolve problem and seeing how the hotel staff has addressed the issues.

This hotel has recently moved its internet service "in house" and the IT staff is simply not up to the job. When the service was first switched from Lodgenet to the Larkspur Hotels in house ISP, we lost our ability to send outgoing email and also lost a secure wired LAN connection (they still have insecure wireless internet). It has now been over 10 days and the LAN connection is still out on the 4th floor and they can't even figure out the problem. (The 4th floor is the only floor with balconies and is where most of the long-term stay customers are located.)

After talking to my own firm's IT department, I was able to explain to the hotel that they were blocking the main outgoing email port and they finally managed to restore our ability to send email. However, the LAN is still down and there is no indication of when or IF it will be restored. The hotel has repeatedly stalled on pursuing a repair and tried to pass off problems as being the customer's problem, thus delaying any attempt at a resolution. And don't forget the irony that this is a hotel located in the center of Silicon Valley -- you'd think internet would be a priority for a hotel catering to high tech business travelers.

In addition, this is billed as an "upscale" extended stay hotel, but they only have 12 cable channels, compared to the 70+ at nearby competitor hotels owned by Marriot and IHC and Sheraton. They do not have a hot breakfast, nor a restaurant, nor a "mini-market" to purchase small items, like TV dinners, wine, aspirin, etc. (the competitors all have this). The closest thing they have is a vending machine and a grocery shopping service. Competitor suite hotels within 5 miles all have full stoves with ovens, but this one doesn't. They also have pathetically dim lighting in the rooms and bathroom, so if you need light to get ready in the morning, plan to bring a lighted hand mirror or something similar.

The nice thing here is the furnishings and bedding; they also occassionaly make cookies at night (assuming the staff decides to make them). Those things are great extras if the business hotel basics are there, but when the basics like secure internet are missing, they hardly make up for the lack of those items.

On the staff, 2 weeks ago I would have said they were great, but then again, I never actually had a significant problem that needed to be solved. Now that I see how they solve problems (they don't or they really drag their feet), I would give the staff a thumbs down. They are quite polite while dragging their feet and making excuses, but if you're a business traveler, you want solutions, not polite excuses.

At least for the time being (by that, I mean months from now), I'd recommend trying the nearby Staybridge Suites, Towneplace Suites, Sunnyvale Sheraton or Residence Inn. These are all equally nice places just minutes away and they don't suffer from the IT problems and seem capable of solving problems in a reasonably prompt manner. Most have hot breakfasts, happy hours, restaurants, shuttle services, and most importantly, decent cable and internet. The Larkspur Landing lacks all these items, although they keep promising it is changing.... I'm STILL waiting.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marihelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2007

We stayed at the this hotel over New Years weekend because we wanted to get out of town and relax. The service was excellent, and the room was clean and comfortable. The bed is advertised as being especially comfortable, it is, but certainly not the best I've ever slept on. There is free Internet connection and after working out a few glitches getting hooked up it ran smoothly for the remainder of our trip. The free breakfast was nothing to write home about, I would definitely bring something to prepare in my room. The only really dissapointing thing was that we thought that the kitchenette would have either an oven or one of those convection oven microwave combos. There was only a stovetop and that limits what you can cook.

Overall we had a nice stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lolane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
1,081 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Sunnyvale, CA
2.8 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale

Address: 748 N Mathilda Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94085-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sunnyvale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
#7 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: £92 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale hotel near San Jose is conveniently located in the heart of Silicon Valley off of Highway 101 on North Mathilda Avenue. The city, which is home to well known companies like Yahoo!, Lockheed Martin and Juniper Networks, also offers close proximity to attractions like the Shoreline Amphitheater, California's Great America, the Tech Museum of Innovation and much more. Larkspur's Sunnyvale CA hotel provides easy access to these famous attractions as well as dozens of eclectic boutiques, shops and fine dining options. This San Jose Hotel provides guests with unparalleled comfort and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing