We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great staffs”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great staffs”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed for Business , The room is great, service is impeccable
I love love the bathroom with Bath rub and shower separately
Breakfast was great
it's kind of far to access the freeway 101

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joecooltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    218
    86
    24
    22
See reviews for
252
152
39
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The room we stayed in on the third floor was huge. You get a lot of room for the price. The bathrooms are very clean with a walk in shower, tub, and double sinks. Staff was friendly and helpful. They had free drinks during happy hour as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stayed here last weekend while in town for a friends weekend. Very nice hotel! The room was huge and our bathroom was almost as big! Coming from NYC, the bathroom could have been someone's apartment! The separate shower and bathtub were a nice touch. We didn't really get to utilize the pool or the free breakfast, but the free limo to and from the hotel to the wedding reception venue was great. Would definitely recommend to friends how might be visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoGirl1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilton head SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed here three nights for a family wedding in area. Large rooms and baths with bath tub and separate large shower. Comfy beds and a free breakfast buffet every morning. There is also free wine and cheese at 5PM . Pool and outside area is very attractive and you are walking distance to some stores and beauty,nail places.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenore g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The hotel is clean and room are spacious. Hotel offers Happy Hour ( free bar ) from 5pm to 7pm every day. There is a small but nice swimming pool and a hot tub. There is no good restaurant around but if you have car, the Sunnyvale city center is 2 miles away and offers plenty of good restaurant. The hotel itself doesn't have any restaurant. Although the service room is opened 24/7, the quality food is not at his best. Anyway, I would recommend this hotel for a business stay if you get a good company deal.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julienchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

It's 3:45AM and I'm standing in the lobby of the Grand Hotel in my pajamas. This detour from my planned night of sleep is due to what was quite literally the loudest fan I have ever heard in any room, of any hotel, in my life.

I was in room 402, which is on the top floor and near the end of the hallway, so I don't know if that had something to do with it (maybe the equipment was right above me), but even the night attendant that came up to my room acknowledged that he could hear the noise from outside in the hallway.

Want to hear it yourself? I recorded it with my phone and put it online here:
http://www.box.net/shared/6109q7acat

While the front desk attendant was sympathetic, he said that there was nothing they could do since the hotel was booked solid, a statement that surprised me since the parking lot was empty and the lobby had no traffic whatsoever the evening I checked in, the next morning, or even throughout the day. (I did not leave the hotel during the day.) I'm not necessarily saying the hotel wasn't full, I'm just stating what I observed.

They did move me the next day to a room on the first floor, and while not as noisy, the fan was still remarkably loud. The rooms themselves are very odd. They are oversized, but sparsely furnished. There are flat screen TVs, but no hi-def channels, so every channel looks like crap. The pillows are very uncomfortable. There's no wifi (really, in the middle of Silicon Valley, no wifi???) and the food was on the comes-up-short side of mediocre.

Yea, I pretty much hated this hotel and would advise anyone to stay away from it. Next time I come to town I'll be staying at the Hilton Garden Inn, one mile down the road.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank dwschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I've stayed at this hotel for business, came back to stay for a weekend night on my way to Fort Bragg, CA. Excellent value - afternoon cocktails/hot snacks, breakfast and on the weekend it's quiet. Head over to nearby Mountain view for dinner - great (relatively) inexpensive stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khmetalworkdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.1 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
937 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
915 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 865 W El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-1154
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sunnyvale
#9 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing