We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a great hotel for business.”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I'm in town for business. I like the size of the rooms, the free breakfast, the free parking lot, the swimming pool with heated water and the free happy hour. What need to be improved is the wifi internet (terrible) and the TV channels (quality and quantity of channels).

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Denyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Very nice place with great location near restaurants.shopping and mall. Clean quiet and fab breakfast included. This is the place to stay. Only thing missing is a computer or buisiness area otherwise perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My employer put me up here for four days recently for my first week on the job. Staff is friendly and efficient. Liked the free happy hour in the evening. Pool and jacuzzi looked nice, and I saw it get cleaned each morning, but alas no time to try those out. The free breakfast in the morning is what you'd expect from a continental breakfast bar setup, but they also had fresh sausages, eggs, hashbrowns and a waffle making machine. I usually took some food to go and a fresh coffee to start my day. Room: I stayed in one of the suites and found it clean, quite and felt safe. Wish the LCD TVs in the room had an actual HD signal being fed to them, but small knitpick. What was annoying was the wifi coverage, or lack thereof: the signal just wasn't that strong. Come on guys: this is Silicon Valley - install a repeater or two for the suites please.
Overally, thought this was a good place to stay near my employer's office -- I'd gladly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendonla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I have stayed several times, every time on business trip. I choose to stay primarily due to convenience to my place of business in Sunnyvale, but also as it is clean and spacious. There is a free Wi-Fi regardless of number of devices you want to connect.
If you are looking for true luxury this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a place where things work, it is clean and no hassle, you might consider it.
There is a happy hour in the evening, and the bartender is very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bini_FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Boutique this is not, despite their motto, but clean and fairly spacious. There is nothing too special about th place. My King Deluxe room was pretty large and it was clean. Though it's not exactly brunch at the Ritz, they did have a reasonable assortment of foods and juices in the morning. Free Wifi and reasonable proximity to office buildings and the highway make it a decent choice for a work trip hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidFarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

How can you go wrong with a clean room with tons of space, great beds, wonderful staff.. great Bartender (Dave) and a staff that is pleasant with a 'customer first' attitude. The breakfast is perfect for the business person.

And the free happy hour!!! top shelf booze and great wines. Dave (bartender) is extremely well versed in the wine selection and is a whiz at drinks.

You'll often see the GM in the lobby / bar area, so if you ever had an issue (which you won't, I've stayed there for over 10 years), you could speak to the person that can fix it without question.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel has spacious rooms, elevators and corridor. Despite being located on El Camino you will have a great night of sleep and there are 2-3 decent (not great) restaurants nearby, although I guarantee you will be the only person walking on the street.

Breakfast is honest. You won’t find 200 types of food but you will find the fruits taste fresh and the other products have quality.

The hotel has a partnership with a gym that is located 1 mile away. If you go to the Bay Area on a business trip, plan your trip to the gym before you leave the hotel in the morning or you may change your mind once you get back to the hotel find out about this.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.1 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
968 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 865 W El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-1154
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sunnyvale
#9 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: £88 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sunnyvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing