We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Sunnyvale(Sunnyvale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crestview Hotel(Mountain View)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel(Mountain View)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maple Tree Inn(Sunnyvale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn(Sunnyvale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Francis Arms(Sunnyvale)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveller rating
693
263
99
36
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
693
263
99
36
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomelet barhappy houromelet stationdouble sinksgreat hotelsilicon valleyroom servicecomplimentary breakfastliving roomrooms are spaciousexcellent breakfastbusiness tripexcellent staymountain viewenjoyed my stayel caminofree parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,035 - 1,040 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Its probably the best hotel in Sunnyvale. Nice free parking, nicely maintained hotel, efficient staff at reception, spacious rooms, clean and good wifi, Only the name is miss leading as its not "The Grand" quality level as international travelers would expect. Dated interior and bar area, breakfast buffet limited to a 3 star average US hotel and nothing fancy in general. But for a business trip perfect stay.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank NeonLeonNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It is funny to have a boutique hotel that is named "The Grand", but it deserves the name. Rooms were huge, with a king bed, couch, desk, etc. Bathroom was as large as some hotel rooms I've stayed in, with both a bathtub, large shower, and two sinks. Wow.

And it really is a boutique hotel. Even though it is a four story building, rooms are only on the top two floors and there aren't all that many of them.

Breakfast was good. Lots of little amenities. Internet service was good.

My only nit was that my room was listed as a "suite", but was really one large room (not multiple rooms like a separate bedroom and living area, as per the definition in Wikipedia), However, that somewhat misleading practice seems to be becoming more common.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel really reserves its name. Main entrance is really cool and lobby area is place where you feel comfortable. Rooms are very big. Maybe even too big with those furnitures. Breakfast is really nice and most important this is daily happy hour where you can eat snacks and have some bears. I would visit it again if I visit Sunnyvale.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiiteejiikoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have just got back from 2 stays in Sunnyvale and the 'Grand Hotel' was an absolute pleasure to stay in. Rooms are huge, staff friendly, adequate breakfast, good location and solid business hotel. As mentioned in some other reviews the wifi is patchy but adequate for emails. House keeping are very enthusiastic to clean up my room but i guess thats a knock on from this being a business centric hotel. I have stayed here 3 times on my last 3 trips and will definitely be using again, probably the best hotel in the area for the price.

Room Tip: Bungalow around the back
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel in Sunnyvale, CA for a business trip for 6 days. I stayed in one of their Bungalow Rooms which are actually separate from the main building of the hotel. The room was very big and was more like a 1 bedroom apartment with a complete kitchen and large bath. The tile in the bathroom was cracked in several places, the TV in the main sitting area did not work and the TV in the bedroom's color was so bad everyone looked as if they had a sunburn. The heating system in the room was either feast or famine. It was either 75 or 55 and did not seem to hold a temperature. The WiFi in the room was free but, useless (and heard the same from others travelling with me staying at the same hotel). You'd think a hotel in the heart of Silicon Valley might have decent WiFi but, the connections were spotty and slow at best. In fairness to the hotel, I did not report these issues to the front desk as I spent so little time in the room.

The hotel did offer a very good breakfast buffet in the morning with many options. The staff was helpful and friendly.

I have stayed in the main part of the hotel before and had a much better experience with the room but, overall I would recommend this hotel but, would probably prefer to stay in the main part of the hotel rather than in a "bungalow" room. Hopefully they can fix the WiFi.

Room Tip: I would avoid the Bungalow Rooms and try to get into the main part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaltNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews