We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Sunnyvale North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Sunnyvale North
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Apollo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this Motel 6 facility. The outside is well-kept and pleasant to look at. It had an inner courtyard with a pool which was really pretty. The room was a good sized and very clean. It had a retro-look with laminate floors which I liked. Two negatives was that there was no Wi-Fi and they could have upgraded to better towels (they were pretty rough). Lastly, the price was very affordable for this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westerntrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    38
    22
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
10
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This motel was very clean...motel staff, customer service, and especially the maids and management were great! The wood laminate floor renovation makes a big difference and the "suite" rooms add just enough space to be much more comfortable, and the refrigerator and microwave were very convenient.Everything in the room appeared to be brand new. I recommend this hotel for tech workers in the Silicon Valley for a project...we had a good experience at this location.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be renovated...we had only had one noise issue and Security handled the proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The water in the toilet leaked so it was noisy all night. The bed was just okay. I am not allergic to animals (which they allow) but something in the room made me sneeze and I was miserable as soon as I got in the room and it lasted all night. As soon as I checked out I was okay. I had two ladies standing outside the door to my room talking to someone on the second floor at night and someone had a small yappy dog two doors across from me.

The person was very nice and friendly. Maybe I just had some bad luck this time. The price was good for the area. I might give this place another try.

Room Tip: I had a room away from the road so it might have been pretty quiet if the other guest and their dogs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is an update of my 2006 review. Back then, a room was under $50 a night, making it an astonishing bargain for the heart of the Silicon Valley -- particularly since it is reasonably new, well-kept and away from freeway noise. Alas, the prices keep creeping up, so you'll likely be pushing $80 these days, which is still low for the neighborhood. The rooms have been updated to the new European look, which is nice eye candy but aside from the flat-screen TV no practical difference. Addition of micro-fridge is nice, though. Carpet has been replaced with wood laminate, which makes for a nice appearance but it (literally) hard for folks like me who do morning yoga.

Room Tip: Around back, away from the front parking lot is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brewsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

It interesting being greeted by three police cars as you check in. It does give you a sense of the area. I walk in without a reservation and got the last room. Better rate than three neighboring motels.
The carpet in many hotels are so dirty that you don't want to take your shoes off, well this motel (room 118) had hardwood floor throughout and if there is indeed one thing that I appreciate that was it! As far as TV I felt there were plenty of channels and everything seemed to work well.
As far as deficiencies: a plastic wrapper covered the smoke detector in the bathroom, the bathtub has a size able hole on the outside skirting, a vent grill is missing two screws and was hanging precariously, BUT these are all minor housekeeping / maintenance issues that didn't affect a good sleep. (Actually I think this room had just been remodeled and had not been completely inspected, thus .... the last room being sold to me)
Overall, good price, good room and meeting the expectations of a Motel 6 stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I feel good in living at motel 6 in north Sunnyvale CA, it has refrigerator and microwave in the room, very convenient to heat food for myself, and it is quiet and clean. The room space is not very big, but adequate for single person or a couple to live. Bed quality is also decent. View is so so, but the location is very convenient for me to get to my destination place. Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiaohua Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Motel 6 is very, very basic - it's a place to sleep and shower and this property definitely did the job. It's been recently updated with Ikea type furniture and wood laminate flooring. It was clean and comfortable - firm platform bed, clean and functional bathroom/shower.
The day manager was fantastic - very nice, polite and I got the room I had booked on the web - first floor was required and even though we checked in late in the day, when the hotel was full (due to a nearby concert), we got the room we booked online.

This was an excellent Motel 6 - basic, but better than average.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, stay away from the ground floor behind the Burger King drive through. The acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#21 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
#9 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sunnyvale North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sunnyvale North

Property: Motel 6 Sunnyvale North
Address: 775 North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94086
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sunnyvale North 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sunnyvale North is a non-smoking property. Restaurants are nearby. Paramount's Great America amusement park and the Shoreline Amphitheatre are minutes away. Enjoy our modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Sunnyvale North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Sunnyvale North Hotel Sunnyvale
Motel Six Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Motel 6
Sunnyvale Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing