We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for remodel?”
Review of Afghani House Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Afghani House Restaurant
Restaurant details
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Closed for remodel?”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I've reviewed this restaurant several times over the years. It is one of my favorites.
Therefore, I was sad to see that the restaurant is closed for remodeling. I don't know if the owners of the Afghani House have sold to new owners, but I would like to thank the pwners and staff for many years of gracious service, consistently delicious food, and always a friendly smile! Best wishes and many thanks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loradan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fortuna, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

love it! specially the rice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! waiter was very funny! it was a little different, but we love it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank maria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Solid Choice for Afghan Food”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This restaurant falls into the very good but not spectacular category. We had 10 people in our party and shared “family style”. Big portions. Kebobs – very good. Sambosa – average. Kadu – excellent. Quabili Pallaw – big portion, good flavor, you must like raisins to enjoy this dish. Challaw Badenjan – very good. The rice they serve with many of the dishes is quite tasty. Baghlava – better than most I’ve had. Service was attentive and friendly but not overly helpful. Prices are fair. Atmosphere is OK. All in all, I would recommend this restaurant if you are in the mood for Afghan food. I would certainly go back but it didn’t end up on my favorite restaurant list.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SetSail4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great kabobs!”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This was the first time I tried Afghani food and it was very good. The flavors were great and the food was prepared perfectly. Highly recommend this place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fly-Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradsasvar, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect service and great food”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We came in a hurry because had to get back to the conference in time. The staff were super helpful to accommodate our request. The food is great, fresh, and really authentic.
And for us Europeans, it was a big plus that the room was not chilled to freezing so we did not have to eat with our coats on.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kattila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afghani House Restaurant also viewed

 
Sunnyvale, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing