We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent indonesian/south asian food”
Review of Bay Leaf - CLOSED

Bay Leaf
Cuisines: Indonesian, Thai
Restaurant details
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent indonesian/south asian food”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

this place continues to consistently serve great tasting indonesian food. we typically go for the fish wrapped in banana leaf and the indonesian noodles. those were wonderful as usual. this time we also ordered the pepper fish, and it was great too.

this is a no-frills restaurant, so don't expect decor and stuff. but the food is very good and at a great value. it is located in sunnyvale downtown, one block off the main murphy avenue restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niloyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Indonesian food, ignore the Thai dishes”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My family comes to Bay Leaf regularly. First thing: Bay Leaf is run by Indonesians! Come here for Indonesian food, not the Thai food. Indonesia and Thailand are very different countries ethnically and food-wise.

Our regular go-to dishes are Lontong Chap Go Mei (rice cakes in savoury curry-like soup and beef rendang), Tahu Telur (fried egg and beancurd with satay sauce), Nasi Kuning (yellow tumeric rice with chicken), Nasi Bungkus ('wrapped' rice, with meat and veggie dishes), Sup Buntut (oxtail soup), Beef Rendang (spiced beef).

Try their dessert Es Teler too, a mixture of toppings with coconut milk and shaved ice. And if you are lucky, they may have some 'kueh' available for sale, which are dessert/snacks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khamen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Our Indonesean friends took us to Bay Leaf and we loved it! The food is great and the service is good too. Some dishes contain dried fish that might need some getting used to, for some. Try their coconut milk, palm sugar drink. We loved it so much that we went for more again!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marigold001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area, ca
1 review
“Good Indonesian restaurant in bay area”
Reviewed 9 February 2008

Bay Leaf is one of my favorite ethnic restaurants in the area.
The quality of the food is good and comparable to other Indonesian restaurants in San Francisco. The price is fairly decent, too. Some of the Indonesian dishes are slightly on the sweet side, nothing wrong with that. I expect some of Sumatran
dishes to be slightly on the salty side as they should be.

Helpful?
Thank alta_ca_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“pretty good indonesian dishes”
Reviewed 22 November 2007

pretty good indonesian dishes

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Bay Leaf also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing