We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very sketchy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very sketchy room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

For starters, I was in a wing in which all the rooms but mine were gutted. That made it seem creepy at the outset. The drains in the sink and bathtub were both very slow--yuck. The fan for heat was so loud I had to turn it off and froze all night.

The front desk personnel were nice and helpful, but I cannot imagine ever staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Janet H,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post review on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the less than satisfactory experience during your stay with us.

Maintenance issues that you mentioned in the review will definitely be look into and resolve immediately. Again, we apologize to failed to exceed your expectations.

Despite a few maintenance issues you had experienced during your stay, we were pleased to learn that our front desk staff were nice and helpful to make your stay something positive. As we continue to work on our property upgrade, we hope you give us another chance to be in your service to make your stay right.

Thank you for choosing Ramada Silicon Valley. We appreciate your business and comments.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    154
    141
    79
    52
See reviews for
136
55
38
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel is currently under renovation. Unfortunately, our room was not renovated. A little dirty, AC/Heat unit VERY loud, as a result we couldn't run it at night because it kept us awake and it got very cold. Broken hair dryer, unable to swivel TV for others to watch. Should be better once renovation is complete. Decent location, staff was friendly and it was quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Wendy L,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate both positive and negative feedback from our guests and we apologize for the areas that we fell short on your expectations during your stay.

According to our documentation, we found you called the Front Desk to report the hair dryer not working that our Front Desk staff immediately contacted Housekeeping supervisor to visit your room for inspection. Our housekeeping supervisor reported back to the Front Desk that hair dryer in the room was NOT broken, rather the guest requested to have a different dryer to dry hair quicker. We hope the alternative hair dryer that we offered you during your stay was acceptable.

In your review, you mentioned that TV in room doesn't swivel that I personally went to the room (Rm 154) to inspect. I am happy to report that TV does swivel; however I see why you may had trouble watching TV as this was set on the older furniture. Please know all guestrooms will be updated and we hope to resolve the issue that you had experienced during your recent stay.

Wendy L, we know you had many hotels to choose from and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to be in your service. We hope to welcome you back once we complete our current update. We appreciate your business and comments.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I booked the Remada online as I was attending a funeral in SanJose. I had never visited San Jose before so I wasn't sure what to expect. I booked at the Remada as my other family said they were staying in the same hotel. When we checked in I wasn't expecting much, the room was clean and presentable. I accepted that this was a Motel not a Hotel and that it did require a facelift.
There was no soul to this building and no welcoming feel.
My biggest disappointment was the cost - it was approx $96.00 a night for a twin share room.
Now soon I found out my family had checked out of the Remada as they were disappointed with the standard and were now staying at the Marriot Inn - which was located 10mins down the road. The Marriot Inn was luxury - for $10.00 more they got a king sized suite with a kitchen and lounge room and it was a newer building with a refreshing feel.
We ended up checking out of the Remada after seeing the Marriot Inn and had no Regrets.
Not a bad motel - just shop around as you can get more bang for your buck$$.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miho T, Manager at Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear LHath 1,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to learn that we didn't meet your accommodation needs.

As you may have noticed during your stay, we are currently in process of updating existing guestrooms. We are also planning to update common areas in the future. Your business and satisfaction are important to us that we appreciate both positive and negative feedback to improve our service.

We are glad to hear that you found the accommodation near by with little extra cost to meet your hotel needs. We hope you give us another chance to be in your service should you return to the area and welcome you back with updated property.

LHath 1, we thank you for choosing Ramada Silicon Valley. We appreciate your business and comments.

- Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunnyvale hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
0.6 mi away
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley
0.9 mi away
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
2.7 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley

Property: Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Address: 1217 Wildwood Ave, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Ramada Inn Sunnyvale
Ramada Sunnyvale
Ramada Silicon Valley
Sunnyvale Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing