We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but it is a quality inn after all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice staff but it is a quality inn after all”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

The front desk staffs are all very nice, but the place need some updating.
Pros - breakfast is pretty close to what you would get at a residence inn or home wood suites minus a few condiments, friendly staff, good location, cheap rates. Lots of TV channels. Fridge and microwave in room

Cons - The room smells like smoke ( non smoking room), sometimes smells like the sewage back up in the bathroom. Probably not very clean pillows and pretty old electronics. And even when I put "do not disturb " sign on the door during the day. Someone came in and switched the furnitures in room, that's just scary!

After all, you get what you pay for...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shashac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    38
    39
    18
    14
See reviews for
22
22
20
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed at this property in early February and it is truly an eyesore. About the only perk is the hot breakfast in the morning. Otherwise, the facility is extremely run down and out of date. They did replace a broken faucet, so the customer service is decent, but I recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrey, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I would not recommend this place to anyone ever. We are staying here on business for 80 nights and this is probably one of the worst hotels i have ever been in. There is a musty smell in the room, hallways and elevator. The construction while we are trying to sleep. I could go on about all the things that are wrong with this place but I think moving to a different hotel might be a good option.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vw817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Yes: its run down, dirty, horrible - and no one there cares. I assume they get long term stays from Google etc so its no interest to improve it in any way.
If anyone think this is Excellent they really need to see more hotels as Its the worst I have stayed in. The internet is also patchy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This is my second time at this property. One year ago I arrived late and was too tired to leave so I stayed and the next morning I told front desk of the problems, dirty room and here I am again. This time I have put this property on my no go list and I will remember.
My room was dirty with hairs on the bathroom wall. The carpet was soiled in the room. The paint and plaster falling off the ceiling in the bath. The door knob was falling off the bathroom.
This is a potential great property but the management is not with the program. They should be inspecting the housekeeping staff and the OWNER should put some of the very expensive rate per night back into this property before it falls down.
I am Diamond with Choice and this property will never see me again!

Room Tip: Don't stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ojodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I arrived and the check in was fairly quick. No real issues. I should have known to stay second level or above. Had a room facing the courtyard area and frankly on the first floor I should have moved up higher. The room was as clean as it could be for a hotel that is 20 plus years old. It was clean and you should know the toilet area is on movement switch so it will turn out on you. The other room light switch is on a movement switch so it will go out on you if working. You get two batch towels and two hand towels and two wash cloths. All are ok but not nice and fluffy. LIke what you would get at your gym. You will hear the people above you walking so again you are warned. The internet worked fine and I had no issues connecting. Water pressure was ok again no issues. The AC is a old box type and is noisy. I did not sleep with it on and took ambien so I would be down for the count and up and out early in the AM.

The back parking lot has several lights out and is not safe if you are a lady coming in late. So park front if you can. The doors do not shut on their own. So you have to make sure you close them. The ice machine on ground floor was broken and was straight out of hotel impossible. There was model and dead bugs inside it. They should have covered it up or removed it from where guests could see it. I did hear one man interact with a guest on the phone and he was rude and if I were on the phone I would have to hung up called amex and fought the charge. You do not treat people that way. It is a service industry.

TV is older and small but works and gets the job done.

It is a 2 star hotel that is going to a one star sooner or later. I saw the other quality inns in town and I would tell you to stay at those first before here.

Room Tip: IF you stay here do the top floor so the window can be open. Get a room on the backside as you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmcc916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shafter, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We booked the Quality Inn on Weddell Drive because of the cheap weekday rate, and thinking that Quality Inn meant that it would be up to Choice Hotels standards. Not so. The place was a little rundown, but we could have lived with that, given that the motel was several decades old. The beds were uncomfortable, the number of towels limited, and the a/c ancient. The horrible part, though, was the large patch of exposed mold in the bathroom. A piece of lath board had been broken off sometime in the distant past, exposing the black mildew section. This was easily visible to everyone, including maids & managers, and was about 2" x 4" inches in size. When I told the manager about the mold at checkout, his response was seemingly cavalier and uninterested. There was no apology for the condition of the room. This motel should not be part of the Quality Inn chain!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shafter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
2.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Silicon Valley Inn
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#21 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
3.4 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley

Property: Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
Address: 940 West Weddell Drive, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-1537 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sunnyvale CA hotel near Levi's Stadium & Shoreline Amphitheatre The Comfort Inn (R) Sunnyvale is in Silicon Valley with easy access to U.S. Route 101 and State Route 237. We are minutes from : * Levi's Stadium * Shoreline Amphitheatre • California's Great America theme park • Santa Clara Convention Center * San Jose McEnery Convention Center * Stanford University • San Jose State University. We are a short drive from the Moffett Federal Airfield, NASA Ames Research Center and Lockheed Martin Corporation. Our amenities include: •Free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access •Free hot breakfast buffet •Free local calls and free parking •Free coffee and free weekday newspaper •Outdoor heated pool, exercise room, basketball and tennis courts. Business travelers will appreciate our public computer with Internet access and access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 60 guests. All guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and safes. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Laundry facilities are on-site for added guest convenience. Make the Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley your home away from home when traveling for business or pleasure. We are the perfect place to stay when visiting the Sunnyvale and Silicon Valley areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Quality Inn & Suites Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley Hotel Sunnyvale
Quality Inn Hotel Sunnyvale
Quality Inn Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing